We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive Disappointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Pointe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pelican Pointe Hotel to your Saves list
Pelican Pointe Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   445 Gulfview Blvd S., Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lafayette, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Expensive Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you're looking for easy access to the beach just across the street, this is not the place to go. There is a small public beach area next to a large parking lot catty-corner to the hotel, but no access directly across the street. You can find some room to walk or set up your towels farther down, but you might as well stay at a cheaper place without paying the premium price to supposedly be right across the street. There is a nice kitchen and the main bed is large, but the second "double or pull-out" is a hard futon. The breakfast is instant oatmeal, Pop-tarts, and packaged pastries, but definitely not crowded since the college crowd was still sleeping. The office closed at midnight, when the noise curfew begins, but seemed to be followed the one night we were there. Probably best for college students wanting to party with a lot of other people.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    265
    88
    35
    30
See reviews for
249
220
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

If you want to party and not have any onsite management to answer to then this is the place for you. If that isn't you then stay away from this place.

While this property is at a good location and is a reasonable price there are several problems that you need to be aware of. First the hotel is extremely noisy. If you want to get any sleep this is not the place to stay. There is no onsite management beyond midnight so if you have a problem with noise you have to take care of it yourself.

The hotel advertises that there are rooms with a "Gulf View". The gulf view is overlooking the pool.

The hotel advertises that you get a breakfast. Warning: This is not a breakfast. They have coffee, juice and some snacks. Don't rent this property because it has a breakfast

Room Tip: Room at another Hotel would be would I would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great value for money, very clean, rooms are equipped with everything you need, but could do with safes fitted, staff are very friendly and helpful. Pool is small but clean and well maintained, only thing missing is pool towels. Hotel is in a great location and highly recommended

Room Tip: Go for a pool side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed in 316 and got it from Jim Morocco. Great apartment that has everything. What a place to visit. Would be heaven to live there. Few nice places for cocktails along the beach at night. Would definitely recommend a visit to Clearwater. The pool here was small and got busy but I prefer the beach anyway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Clean, simple, functional and friendly. My children and I stayed at Pelican Pointe while exploring Clearwater Beach and will DEFINITELY be back...again and again. Rooms were cleaner than in many "four star" hotels and the location, proximity to the beach, the sunset and the "fun" of the area was outstanding. We used the "continental breakfast" to stock our afternoon snacks, preferring to cook up hot and hearty meals in the kitchenette which, while lacking a stove top, was otherwise perfect. The Pelican Pointe was a great place to land, rest and make new friends while enjoying the white sands and blue surf of the area. Had very little interaction with staff, who were friendly when called on and mostly just enjoyed feeling "at home." Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a DVD player if you are traveling with kids....Gulf view is spectacular. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

my wife had stayed here 2 years ago but it was my first time we had planned to stay for10 days but when our flight home was cancelled they extended our stay with no problem even though it was busy, the staff are first class nothing was too much for them we were on the top floor looking out to sea the room was clean but did have some slight scuff marks on the wall the beds were really comfortable and made every day our room had two queensize beds +a double sofabed
it is well located for the beach and there was plenty going on by the pier even in january which is only a five minute walk there are plenty of eating places all within 15 mins walk the nearest is the post house about 4 mins from room to table beware the portions are large and very tasty we will return soon they made us feal like family

Room Tip: gulf view rooms had the sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel was noisy the walls and floors are paper thin and when anyone moves a chair above you can hear it clearly, it was very annoying. On Saturday and Sunday the noise from the traffic on the street is unbearable due to the fact the motorcycles drive up and down the street constantly. I don't recommend this hotel on March break if you want to sleep at all. Bring your ear plugs if you have already booked your room. We were on the third floor the view was nice. Do not stay in the corner apartments you will see nothing.

The place was clean and we had no problem with the staff they were very accommodating. Although we were told on one occasion that we must eat our doughnut breakfast in the dinning area/lobby. I paid for the breakfast so I felt I could eat it where ever I chose and I did. We will not stay there again because of the noise problems from the room and the street.

Beverly Moreau

Room Tip: do not take corner apartments and if you have already booked your stay bring ear plugs your going to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Pointe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Pointe Hotel

Address: 445 Gulfview Blvd S., Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#18 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#21 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pelican Pointe Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pelican Pointe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Pointe Clearwater
Hotel Pelican Pointe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Pointe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.