We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food - great. Service - meh.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia

Columbia
1241 Gulf Blvd., Clearwater, FL 33767
727-596-8400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Columbia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 591 Restaurants in Clearwater
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Cuban, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Waterfront dining at its finest! Family-owned & operated for over 100 years, Columbia has earned acclaim for its old-world charm & award-winning Spanish/Cuban cuisine & wine list. Join us for century-old family recipes like Paella "a la Valenciana," Filet Mignon "Columbia," & fresh seafood specialties. Sample a fine Spanish wine like Torres, Montecillo or Campillo. Don't miss our world-famous "1905" SaladTM, named “One of America’s Top 10 Best Salads” by the Salad Guy – Wiley Mullins in USA Today -- The only restaurant in Florida to be named. Whether you choose a table looking out onto the radiant blue waters of the Intracoastal Waterway from the Mediterranean dining room, or experience the casual atmosphere from our outdoor deck on the water, you can enjoy the cuisine that has consistently been voted Tampa Bay's Favorite. We are a sister to the Columbia in Tampa's Ybor City, founded in 1905. Children's menu available. Open 365-days a year, including all holidays.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Food - great. Service - meh.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I tried this restaurant several years ago and wasn't impressed. Decided to give it another try with the high ranking on tripadvisor. So glad I did. The food was great. Queso fundido, ropa something, and the combination meal was really good.
Our waiter had several tables, and was very friendly when he was at our table.....he just wasn't at our table very often. We had empty glasses the entire meal. I made a bet with my table that I could finish this review before my water was refilled. He just returned with our receipt, and a pitcher of water.
It wasn't bad enough service to keep me from coming back, but definitely could have been better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservices1905, Public Relations Manager at Columbia, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We are pleased to read that enjoyed your meal with us, and have dined with us before. I am sorry that your server was not as attentive as we require. We read all comments here to help us improve where needed, and it sounds like our servers need a refresher course in the importance of taking care of guests throughout the meal in a timely manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    200
    71
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious salad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Get the 1905 salad, you will not be disappointed at all. Added shrimp to it and it was excellent. Little pricey but worth it overall.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathrow, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good food and ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a chain but the Clearwater beach location is great. Great Tapas and Spanish food. They mix drinks right in front of you. and even some of the food. The 1905 salad is just superb.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservices1905, Public Relations Manager at Columbia, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your meals with us, and got to experience our tableside service.
Columbia Sand Key is a sister to Columbia in Tampa’s historic Ybor City, Florida’s oldest restaurant. We are owned and operated by 4th and 5th generation members of the founding family, proudly celebrating our 108th Anniversary this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed two delicious meals at columbia during our stay. The menu is vast, so the first time we had tapas which was lovely, the next time we ordered from the main menu,two great beef dishes, exquisite fish, and a tasty paella
The atmosphere is great, and I now want to visit cuba!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our favorite Columbia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Living in Clearwater, this is the closest Columbia to our house. We usually go at about 11:30 or 11:45 and get a table outside and we try to get Terry to be our server. Terry is the best! Some of the other servers seem very unprofessional. My only other complaint about this place is that they allow smoking on the outside dining deck. Love my salad and my hubby loves his boliche and throw in a pitcher of the imported sangria and you've got a perfect meal!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia also viewed

 

Been to Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.