We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO many issues and problems.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Island Way Grill

Island Way Grill
20 Island Way, Clearwater, FL 33767-2203
(727) 461-6617
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 615 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Sushi, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Troy, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“SO many issues and problems.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I have to say that I have eaten in this restaurant more than a dozen times in the last 7 years. I was not disappointed until this trip and they did everything wrong all in one trip. I was with business clients and one of the people had an eating restriction. We asked the waiter for help we were met with an attitude of not caring. When the manager he came over it was even worse. He could care less about the restrictions my associate had.

The table was uneven and the waiter got on the floor to level the screw-out disk to stabilize the table. The issue is he came off his hands and knees and grabbed the wine bottle and filled our glasses without washing his hands. As I sat in this new décor I noticed several things had changed. The sushi workers did not wear gloves. When it came time for our sushi to arrive it went to the next table and sat there for three minutes or more until the waiter was called over and he picked up the plate from the other table and brought it directly to our table. It is clear that more than the décor has changed. I traveled from Detroit to find below average service and food quality that was not worth the money. Then the heath issues ….. All I can say is stay clear there are so many other great choices.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    213
    66
    37
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Gorgeous place, like being in a museum without being intimidating. Service in all ways was impeccable. Food was also perfect - shrimp, grouper, decadent dessert. Even the coffee was particularly tasty. Great selection of wine. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about their menu and the flavors in the dishes. Get the smashed potatoes! To die for. Overall terrific experience and we will go back again.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Flawless, every aspect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We were seated outside on the patio with a view of the bay. Our server was very attentive to our food allergies to ensure our dining experience was perfect. It was a little chilly so we moved closer to one of the heaters including changing tables. No problem. We had the stone crab which was delightful. Very non intrusive staff. We could have stayed all evening. Upon departure, the valet thought our cab was taking too long to arrive and drove us back to our hotel himself. Outstanding...the entire experience. Thank you for a wonderful evening. We will be back!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A very nice Xmas Eve meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We had a very nice meal on Xmas Eve. The service was great except for one glitch. They forgot to put in the order for my meal. By the time I got my food every one was done eating. They apologized, brought me a nice glass of wine and dessert for the people in our party that didn't have dessert included in their meal. Everyone's food was excellent but mine was just OK. I think that by rushing it they missed something. I had that dish twice before and this past time it wasn't quite up to par. We will still go back because it's really good food and a great patio.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Small but great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

The Grill was busy when we visited and generally has had an increase in customers since the release of the "Dolphin Tale" movie. There is a limited amount of table space, we were lucky and sat outdoors in the warm sunshine. The food was fresh and delicious!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Way Grill also viewed

 

Been to Island Way Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Way Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.