We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frenchy's Rockaway Grill

Frenchy's Rockaway Grill
7 Rockaway St, Clearwater, FL 33767
727-446-4844
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 556 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Awesome Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I would have given this an excellent review but they still allow smoking in the "waiting section" of the outside bar. We visit this place every time we are in the area. We LOVE the 4 Kings and get it grilled! Their she-crab soup is awesome! It gets very crowded so go early. Once you order food comes pretty fast. The portions are large...and if you like crab cakes you won't be disappointed...lots of crab little bread!!!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    688
    646
    228
    50
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great place to dine on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Bar/Grill Day/Night

Ate here many times always good, we always use this place when we're in Clearwater, as we love the atmosphere & great food. Excellent location. You can dine in or outdoors.

We always opt for a burger of some sort as the do a wide range on their menu. Cocktails are awesome and reasonably priced too. We always dine as a family which is never a problem as children's meals are available too.

Same next trip :-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Family holiday. We loved it here, watching the sun go down, sand in your toes. What more do you want...!!! xx

Food good to.

Visited many years ago.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Place to Watch the Sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

While at Clearwater Beach you must try a grouper sandwich. A good place is Frenchy's Rockaway. There are several Frenchy's restaurants on Clearwater Beach island, but Rockaway Grill is the only one located directly on the sandy beach with a view of the the water.
If there's a line and you have children, they can play in the sand while you wait. No problem as it dusts right off and the dress code at Frenchy's is very casual. (Like shorts and flip flops)
We usually request outside seating for dinner to watch the sun set over the Gulf.
The She Crab soup is very good too, For non-seafood lovers, they do offer alternatives.
Tables are set very close to each other and it isn't a quiet place to dine. If you're out to have a good time or have kids, you won't have to worry about keeping quiet. If the kids finish and don't want to sit still, you can lift them over the railing into the sand and watch them play while you finish your dinner conversation.
Everyone can have fun and enjoy themselves at Rockaway.
Frenchy's Rockaway is located on the north end of Clearwater Beach off of Mandalay Blvd which is the main street on Clearwater Beach. There is a parking lot with metered spaces. If you pass the fire station, you've gone too far.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not really family friendly ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Our dinner was good but unfortunately that was about it. The evening was rainy and windy, so the place was super crowded and there was no fresh air to take in. They seated us, a party of 7, in the smallest table imaginable and rudely refused to even listen to our reasoning. They had no coloring pages, crayons or even a kids' menu. The game room might be fun for older kids, but ours are small and disliked it. Don't think we would be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frenchy's Rockaway Grill also viewed

 

Been to Frenchy's Rockaway Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frenchy's Rockaway Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.