We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frenchy's Saltwater Cafe

Frenchy's Saltwater Cafe
419 Poinsettia Ave, Clearwater, FL 33767-2025
727-461-6295
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 591 Restaurants in Clearwater
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My family and I came for the all you can eat crab legs. We were all quite pleased. We did go early (5pm) so we did not have to wait. Our waitress was did a good job of keeping the crab legs coming. Overall, we were pleased.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    182
    72
    29
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clearfield, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cool little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I liked the atmosphere the most here. The food was ok, but nothing I was that excited about. It was expensive for my husband and I to eat there. I loved the semi open bar/restaurant and the waitstaff was kind. It was a neat experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Oh yes!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great food! You must have the blackened grouper! Good priced food, good location. Good children's menu and really good service.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redington Shores, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sorry I brought out-of-towners”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Well Frenchy's you have been a favorite of mine for some time so we decided to come by boat to Saltwater with out of town guests promising good local seafood. Local perhaps, good, not so much. I've never had a bad meal at Rockaway but will not return to this location. Drinks-ordered some frozen drinks that I frequently get at Rockaway and they were weak and tasteless. Strike one. Service ranged from non existent to unhelpful. Strike two. Food came and my fried grouper sandwich was overcooked to where the batter was burned. Two grouper fajita specials sizzled in heat, but fizzled in size and flavor. Our companions politely did not complain about their sandwiches but they were not good. That's a big strike three. I'll go back to Rockaway and see if they are still worth it, otherwise my hometown hero scores a zero.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen C, Public Relations Manager at Frenchy's Saltwater Cafe, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi Karen - We regret to hear about your experience, especially because as a repeat patron you know the high quality of food and service we offer. Your comments will be given to the management staff to address. I know many people don't like to complain during their visit, just as you stated that those in your party didn't when something was unsatisfactory. However, we deeply encourage everyone to tell the server or a manager if something isn't to your liking before you leave so we can have the chance to make it right. Our goal is for you to have a truly enjoyable experience with a great meal and friendly service. Letting us know something isn't up to our usual standards at the time you are dining is extremely helpful so we can address the issue right away and make sure you're taken care of. We hope you will join us again soon! - Jen, Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, TX
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Average for the area (at best).”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Love other Frenchy's restaurants and have been to them often. First time trying this one. Here - grouper was fishy, didn't taste fresh. Waitress was less than friendly, borderline rude. "Family friendly"? song called "Sex" came on part was through lunch, on Sunday (raunchy 80's song). This one doesn't live up to the Frenchy's name or quality. Try next door...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frenchy's Saltwater Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Frenchy's Saltwater Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frenchy's Saltwater Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.