We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place, about what you'd expect” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Frenchy's Saltwater Cafe

Frenchy's Saltwater Cafe
419 Poinsettia Ave, Clearwater, FL 33767-2025
727-461-6295
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 591 Restaurants in Clearwater
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Cary, NC
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Ok place, about what you'd expect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

It was too crowded to sit outside so we had an interior table.
Seats were wooden stools with no back. Very uncomfortable after an hour.
Food was good and our server was very attentive. About what you'd expect for a beach restaurant/bar. I wouldn't go our of my way to go back but it was decent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    184
    72
    30
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Grouper Sandwich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Always include lunch or dinner at Frenchy's for the fantastic grouper sandwiches, chips and great atmosphere - a MUST when in Clearwater!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Grouper!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Had the original grouper sandwich. It was a large piece of fish. Could have been just a little crispier. Diffenet 9 out of 10. Best in town. The onion straws were a nice treat. Gotta try it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

With so many great reviews, we had to try Frenchy's on our vacation. It did not even come close to living up to the hype.
We were greeted promptly, and the service was friendly. Our waitress was a bit slow, but they were busy and she seemed to be running around and trying hard to keep up, so I won't hold that against them. The atmosphere was good (except for the smoking right near the door that made our non-smoking seat rather smoky).
The problem was the food. My husband had the original grouper sandwich, my son had the grouper nuggets (appetizer) for his meal, and I had the grouper platter - cajun seaasoned. None of it was good. It wasn't horrible either, but certainly not a place to write home about. Honestly, the best thing on the table were the 'Frenchy Fries' (appetizer, not the ones you can get as a side), and they were just barely a step above the curly fried from Arby's. For a $30 meal I wouldn't have gone back. But for a $50 meal I found it incredibly disappointing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Menu had many choices and not all seafood. I ordered the grilled sea scallops, and they were cooked to perfection! Great service, option of eating indoors or out, no waiting. Definitely will dine there again next year!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frenchy's Saltwater Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Frenchy's Saltwater Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frenchy's Saltwater Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.