We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully yummy - but be patient...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Queen Clearwater

Pho Queen Clearwater
29000 US Highway 19 N, Clearwater, FL
1-727-789-2828
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 591 Restaurants in Clearwater
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Southwest Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wonderfully yummy - but be patient...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

If you are in a rush, this isn't the place. But if you are tired of pitiful "american chinese" or 'run of the mill thai" and want something fresh, tasty, wonderful - stop here. It's terrific. Pho queen looks like every other US19 strip restaurant that changes names every year from the outside but that's where it ends. The menu is really varied with soups, noodles, rice dishes, traditional Vietnamese dishes and some others thrown in. You can tell the family that runs it really cares. The spring rolls came crunchy with a great, lighter than expected, peanut sauce. Curry chicken and seafood vegetables were next - fresh, crisp, and delicious. We liked it so much, we went back 2 days later for soup and a noodle dish (yes, and more spring rolls). The soup was a dinner size portion spiced just right with pork and chicken and fresh veggies. The Seafood noodle dish was loaded with seafood. The price is surprisingly good - about $10-12 for an entree, $8-10 for a huge soup (think more like a stew).

My one pause - as a family run place, they can get overrun. This is increasingly popular place especially with Asian "Expats". The place can get busy quickly. When we ate there there was about 6 tables, then a crowd of like 25 came in - all apparently related. Be patient, keep your sense of humor and it will all work out.

I've always loved Vietnamese food since living in Houston, I'm glad that this place in Clearwater/Dunedin showed up. While I don't get in that area often, I'm sure going to make a stop when I do. Don't miss it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    20
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent food, very good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have eaten here about 8-10 times and have been very satisfied. The food has always been excellent. The sole exception might be that the white rice is very ordinary, but on the other hand, the fried rice dishes are absolutely excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Seriously”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

It's been waiting here long long time... Service sucks and the food can't even make up for it because the shear neglet to attend to the customers.. you guys are not gonna make it

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Quick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stop for lunch after hiking all morning on Honeymoon island. Food came very quickly. Fresh spring rolls very good. Pho soup very good.
If in area you must stop you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“At last good Vietmease Food North of Tampa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Technically the new Pho Queen is in Dunedin on Hwy 19. This is their new location and it should be a hit. We were in at mid-afternoon and they were busy. Many patrons appeared to be Vietnamese(a good sign in an ethnic eatery). The owner, Miss Hunog (spell) was there and supervised. She reviewed the menus with my wife and myself and made a couple of great recommendations. Good food, fair pricing, and decent service. I am not a fan of a numbered Menu, but guess it is traditional for Asian places here in the US. Go and enjoy a great meal. Not much on atmosphere, but you concentrate on the tastes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Queen Clearwater also viewed

 
Clearwater, FL
Clearwater, FL
 

Been to Pho Queen Clearwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho Queen Clearwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.