We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic restaurant from beginning to end.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Ponte

Cafe Ponte
13505 Icot Blvd, Ste 214, Clearwater, FL 33760-3730
727-538-5768
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Ponte is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 591 Restaurants in Clearwater
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 58th St.
Clearwater, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic restaurant from beginning to end.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We have lived in this area since 1978 and frequented many restaurants from Tampa to St. Petersburg. This has to be the finest restaurant, for everything is wonderful from appetizers, bread, cocktails entrees to desserts. Tonight was probably our fifth time dining and each and every meal always seems better than the last. Presentation and plating of each entree is superb. Chris Ponte and his staff definitely go the distance with everything. Very enjoyable evening. Thanks once again for a fantastic dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    31
    9
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Attentive Service with Poor Pacing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We had the six course tasting menu with wine pairings. The soup and salad courses were outstanding, although the soup portion had us worried this might not be tasting menu sized (but the remaining portions were reasonable). The gnocchi in the next course seemed under done and this was the weakest course. The fish, cheese and desert courses were quite good. The wines (3 oz for each course) were sometimes very good (the first white and second red were the best), but the choice for the fish course was too strong for the dish. The service was very attentive and the waiter was very knowledgeable about the food and wine, but we felt very rushed by the pacing of the meal. Before we were done with the current course, the wine for the next course was presented. In several instances, the plates for one of us was cleared before the other was done.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

A bit of a challenge to locate but with the help of a good GPS this is a must try. Wait staff were attentive and knowledgeable and the food was wonderful.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Still number one for fine French dining and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We visited Cafe Ponte again on Monday for a birthday dinner. There was a card waiting on our pre-reserved booth and everything was done to perfection. Jeffrey, our waiter, was attentive and prompt. We dined on lobster bisque, Gnochi, short ribs, tuna tartare, filet mignon and of course the homemade bread. Wine was excellently paired and all in all perfect!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent food/Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Friends told us the story of the chef, how dream came true. We had the Prix Fixe dinner, choice of appetizer and entree and a dessert sampler. The server was very well versed in the descriptions of the various items, provided additional insights into the preparation of the items. The attention was consistently superb. When the need for the server arose, he appeared as if by magic.

The appetizers consisted of a white asparagus, calimari, a lobster crabcake and an ahi tuna. Each was unique and superb. The main courses were pork chops, scallops and salmon. Again, the presentation was elegant and the tastes exquisite. Topping off the dinner was a sampler including a blueberry creme brule, a tart and a flourless brownie.

We were never rushed and were able to enjoy every bite, sample each other's choices and staggered out totally surfeited.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Ponte also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Ponte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Ponte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.