We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Careful of the Restroom” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
2730 Gulf To Bay Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33759
(727) 799-8530
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #192 of 615 Restaurants in Clearwater
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Evensville, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food, Careful of the Restroom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Co-worker and I both had the Southern Stuffed Shrimp which was delicious. Peach Cobbler was tasty, also but the bathrooms need some serious love. Agree with other reviewers that it is loud at times but never unbearable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    57
    42
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holtsville, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tasty seafood but a lot of work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Went here after the beach with a large party, including college friends of my friend's son. Food is good but pricey. Not a lot of meat in crabs. Waitress spilled a glass of water and a glass of sweet tea on me, so we got a free appetizer.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great crab but don't expect either fine dining or good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I love crab so I have to give the food a thumbs up. My wife had salmon which was dry. She should have ordered the crab. Lot's of crab selection so I would go back for the crab. However, the teenage staff needs better training on how to greet and serve guests. When we walked in the music was blasting so loud I couldn't converse with the hostess. When I asked if we could sit somewhere quieter, we were told "This is Joe's, it's supposed to be loud". When I complained some more, they did turn it down a bit more. When seated, we noticed there was trash under our table from previous diners (crab shells and other garbage). When we pointed this out to the hostess and the server, we were asked "Would you like me to clean that up?" I just looked at her and replied "No, I enjoy eating with my feet on top of trash!" You must be kidding me. Who is training these 17 year olds??? I don't mean to sound like an old geezer but they could also skip the staff line dancing and just serve your customers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“delicious seafood in the relaxed atmosphere of the bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

in a relaxed atmosphere of the coast find a variety of delicious crab pots with combinations including clams, mussels, lobster, scallops and corn. very good price and also have variety in the children's menu, excellent!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Change the "b" to a "p" in "Crab" for More Accuracy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Professor is usually a generous reviewer and laid-back kind of guy who lets a few things slide by without repercussion. But Joe's Crab Shack in Clearwater cannot escape unscathed since the only thing it got right is a metal bucket in the center of one's table to throw in seafood detritus. Or in this case, pretty much everything that was served--very convenient. If you like greasy and lackluster food--at oddly high prices to boot--please visit this establishment. A big yuck! I suspect you would eat like a king in comparison--for half-price--at the Perkins restaurant a few doors down. A half-point goes to the oddly low-priced--and decent--house wine and a half-point goes to the hard-working waitstaff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.