We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sushi around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaiko Japanese RES & Sushi Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kaiko Japanese RES & Sushi Bar
2475 North Mcmullen Booth Road Suite F, Clearwater, FL 33759-1347
727 791 6640
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 556 Restaurants in Clearwater
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
Restaurant details
Palm Harbor, Florida, United States
2 reviews
“Best Sushi around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I moved down in 97 and for 2yrs tried to find a good sushi bar. Once I found Charlies Place, Kaiko's, I have not been any where else when I'm home. The fish is ALWAYS FRESH & when you walk in your greeted with a big hello from Charlie. He remembers everyones name, & you get treated like you r the only one in the plance even whenthere r 30-40 others there. If you go there often you get your own pair of real chop sticks they r keep in a small cubby hole till the next time you come in.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Comfort Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

When I am returning home from out of town travel and in need of a relaxing meal I generally think of Kaiko. I try to get here at least once a month and it never ceases to amaze me that Charlie nor only remembers my name but the specific Sushi items I usually order!! I have been hooked on his Scott Roll and occassionally have him make up a special roll for me. No request is turned down. Once I wanted something with Octopus so he created a roll for me.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Sushi Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

As a rule I DO NOT LIKE SUSHI! While visiting our new grandduaghter in Clearwater,Fl we were convinced to eat sushi by family members. This was the first time EVER I enjoyed sushi and tried everything that came to the table.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safety Harbot
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“My sushi hangout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Charlie has delivered great sushi for years in this Clearwater/Safety Harbor location. Their new expanded restaurant in the same strip mall offers more room and a bar that is very attentive. They have a great selection and extensive specials. Tis is "go-to" place whenever we have guests who want sushi.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sadly, appears in decline”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This has been a regular visit for business lunches for some time. The past two visits have been disappointing. Fish has not been fresh, and there is simply no excuse for this to happen in this part of the world. On this Monday's visit, no soap in men's bathroom, no hand towels, and urinals had not been cleaned it appeared in some time. How are chefs washing their hands? I made it known to the chef and waitstaff, but was shrugged off. Bad fish + poor cleanliness = no return visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaiko Japanese RES & Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Kaiko Japanese RES & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaiko Japanese RES & Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.