We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old florida” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina to your Saves list
Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 East Shore Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“old florida”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I love to find places like Barefoot Bay. It's classic old Florida done very nicely and well maintained. We don't care to travel from one high rise hotel to the next where it's difficult to get the flavor of an area. We like to travel a lot and try to stay and eat at non chain places. We find the family run places are much more interesting. Also not interested in taking an elevator from the room down to the beach. Barefoot is easy walking distance to everything the beach great restaurants and shops. We're headed back for a week later this month and looking forward to it.

Room Tip: If you have children or just need an extra bedroom they have one 2 bedroom apartment that we rented...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    67
    13
    8
    13
See reviews for
51
79
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
nuttymcnutters
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We traveled in March 2012, and for the money, this place was a good value. It's just a block from the beach and within walking distance to many of the restaurants and attractions.

However, when we arrived, we noticed a musty smell, but because our flight was delayed by 5+ hours, it was super later and we just went to bed. The next day, we noticed the smell more and noticed that the carpet was wet. When we mentioned it to the hotel staff, they told us that we must have caused the carpet to become wet and were generally unhelpful. It wasn't a super huge issue and eventually we either became more used to the smell or the carpet dried because it wasn't as bad.

Our final day in Clearwater, our flight didn't leave until later in the day, but checked out at the normal time. We asked if we could use the hotel facilities and store our luggage until it was time to depart, and were granted permission. But, the lady at the front desk made it very clear that it was a huge inconvenience for her to store our bags in a closet and after about 30 minutes asked us to get out of the pool, since we were no longer guests (there was no one else in the pool). After our transportation arrived to take us to the airport, the driver made us wait for over an hour. Starting to get worried about making our flight, we finally tracked him down in a back room of the office - turns out he was married to the desk clerk and they used the excuse to get an early lunch while making us wait.

The place wasn't bad, and the location was nice for getting around. However, I probably wouldn't book there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This resort motel is "next door" to the Clearwater Marine Aquarium, however, is separated by water - a marina. The time of year that we were here, we were the only guests. It was quiet. The room did not have a hair dryer but the front desk provided one for use during our stay. The room contained a microwave and refrigerator. Hospitality is excellent. Walking distance to the beach and local restaurants. Look forward to staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

best location stayed may 2012 my husband and i with my son and his girlfriend we had a great time veryy close to beach ,bars and resturants we also went to the aquarium were the film DOLPHIN TALE was filmed the dolphin that was in the movie (winter) is theregreat if you have small children we really enjoyed it and the hotel give us free tickets to go
we took our bicycles down with us because there is a great trail which starts in clearwater and goes all the way to st petersburg its all off the road and you go thorough some great little towns
we also went to a little place called st johns pass really nice little shops and amazing ice-cream at the front by the water
we went to the beach very day and we sat by the hotel pool most atfernoons the pool is not very big but its really nice they had a bbq by the pool so you could go buy meat or burgers and cook them
room was very clean it had microwave fridge, kettle ,plates ,mugs,knifes ,forks and spoons everything you need
there was free entertainment on the pier everynight and stalls where you could buy different things
next time we go to florida we be staying here owners and nice and all the people who work there
stayed on the ground floor last 2 rooms

Room Tip: a/c great rooms very clean all have pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here from 10/19-10/22/12 and it was such a nice little place to stay. We have to teens, and it was very easy to walk every where we wanted to go, and not have to worry. Anytime we had questions on where things were or what were some fun things to do they always had an answer for us. We will definitely be coming back as they made our first trip t Clearwater an enjoyable one!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We booked two rooms in here after we left treasure island early. As the convention was on we struggled to find somwhere to stay,were surprised when we found this had two rooms for two nights. It is only small but really nice. All the rooms are around the pool and are adequate for what you need. the location is ideal just over the road from pier60. The pool was nice and towels were provided. It had a nice atmosphere and if I went to clearwater again would stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
up north
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

this quirky little family run hotel is just off Pier 60, yes its dated in places but a friendly welcome, nice pool, and decking looking over the bay.............a nice relaxing place to stay. the staff were very helpful with information of local bars, shops and restaurants. this place is also the nearest hotel to go and visit "winter the dolphin from the movie a dolphin tale"

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina

Address: 401 East Shore Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#31 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot Bay Resort and marina is a small family owned and operated motel conveniently located in the center of Clearwater beach making everything just a short walk away. Pier 60 and the beach are 3 minutes away, municipal marina a 2 minute walk. shops and restaurants to cater to every need are 3 minutes away.We are situated on the intra coastal side of the island with great open views, dolphins can be seen from our marina deck.We pride ourselves on providing clean comfortable accommodation in a quiet relaxing environment. If you want some excitement hire a Jet Ski from our marina and explore the Island. We provide daily maid service, free WiFi and have a guest laundry room open each day.Our larger than average pool is great to cool down in on hot summer days and heated for your comfort during the cooler winter months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barefoot Bay Resort And Marina Hotel Clearwater
Barefoot Bay Clearwater
Barefoot Bay Hotel And Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.