We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Winter Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1941 Edgewater Drive, Clearwater, FL 33755   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #31 of 95 hotels in Clearwater
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Winter Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We have stayed at this facility for the past three years. We stay for 6 weeks during spring baseball season. Love the area and the sunsets are terrific. We walk to Dunedin (Pinellias Trail) for Blue Jay games and the shops in Dunedin. Anna K is a special employee. She goes out of her way to make your stay enjoyable. The breakfasts are outstanding; however, the room is small, so we take our food to the room and eat there. The place is undergoing total renovations, so next year should be an even better experience. There is covered parking, which is an added plus. The rooms are large and comfortable. Just a great place to spend the winter.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    23
    17
    9
    2
See reviews for
36
31
10
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Never met a person who did everything possible to make my stay so comfortable. She always had a smile and goes above and beyond to help. I had hurt my foot during my stay. She took me to the hospital after she did her shift and stayed with me and brought me back to hotel. I appreciated her help and her kindness. Comfort Suites is lucky to have a employee so dedicated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Melbourne, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed at this property for three nights. Our primary purpose for coming to Clearwater was to see "Winter" and spend a day on the beach. On check-in, Ashley and Anna were wonderful. Customer service was exceptional all during our visit. They felt like old friends after only three days. The breakfast was wonderful. A full variety of most anything anyone could want. It was delicious. I agree with a previous comment - - the room IS small and on Saturday a.m. very crowded. We found that only a few of the jets in the hot tub were working and the only ice machine was on the ground floor in the undercover parking area. We were given a handicap room as we had requested a king bed. The roll-in shower flooded the bathroom floor every time we used it. Our room was large but the carpet definitely showed wear - needs to be replaced. The sink drain did not work properly and the closet was not adequate. The location was ideal, as it was very quiet and a very pleasant view at sunset. Not sure if we would come back or not but can not say enough good about the staff. They were amazing!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Located in a quiet area across from the bay and in close proximity to downtown Dunedin (1-1/2 miles), a lovely place to visit with its many restaurants and small shops. We had a spacious suite with two queen beds (comfy & cozy with nice bedding/pillows). The shower had a wonderful water flow! The safe in our room did not work so we were not charged the daily fee for its use. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful (especially Anna K.). She made great recommendations to restaurants/attractions, and even loaned us beach chairs/umbrella to use at Honeymoon Island State Park and Caladesi Island. There was a very nice complimentary breakfast which offered a variety of hot and cold foods which the staff was great about replenishing. The only complaint our teenage sons had is that the pool closes at 9 pm instead of 10, because they were looking forward to relaxing in it and the hot tub after we came back to the hotel. Another nice feature of this hotel is free parking. When the renovations are complete, the hotel will be an awesome place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and 5 teenagers spent 4 nights recently at this hotel and we had a great time! We reserved a 2 bedroom queen suite that believe it or not we had plenty of room and was a great price. We had the all important bedroom door we could close to get away from the madness. The pool was fine and the hot tub was just right. The free breakfast got the job done and saved us a bunch feeding this crew. The location was perfect for us, we walked every morning to Dunedin along the bay after breakfast and enjoyed the best cappuccino in one of the many unique restaurants. The staff was very helpful ,Anna, Janice and Jonathon went out of their way to help us in any way.

We will definitely go again! soon I hope....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked this hotel for its proximity to a race I was running nearby. Check-in was a breeze, the girl at the desk was very friendly and helpful. Our room, on the surface, looked pretty good. Then we discovered several lights that didn't work, a badly stained shower and sink, and stains on the bedding. I know that they are in the process of remodeling the rooms, but I think the issues are with general housekeeping, and could be easily maintained even through the renovations. Also, our room phone kept ringing, with nobody on the other end. It did this several times, the last time at midnight, when my husband unplugged the phone from the wall. We were simply told they were having issues with the phones.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked this hotel on spring break for a visit to Clearwater to see Winter the Dolphin. We chose this hotel for the pool and the breakfast. Upon check in we were told the pool was closed due to painting. This was a huge disappointment but due to no vacancy elsewhere we had no choice but to stay. I believe they should have offered compensation to families who booked the hotel for this reason. The breakfast was good but only has about 6 tables so was very crowded in the morning. We had a table so had a good experience and they had good choices so it was enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 1941 Edgewater Drive, Clearwater, FL 33755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#36 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites(R) hotel has just been fully renovated and is perfectly located three miles from Clearwater Beach and Downtown Dunedin. Popular attractions, including Honeymoon Island State Park, Countryside Mall and St. Petersburg College, are about five miles from this Clearwater, FL hotel. The St. Petersburg-Clearwater International Airport is eight miles away.Historic downtown Dunedin and Pinellas Trail are both just minutes from the hotel. A variety of business parks, specialty shops and historic areas are also close by.Numerous restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the area, including Island Way Grille, McDonald's, Sea Sea Riders, Shells Seafood, Bob Heilman's and Frenchy's.Guests are invited to enjoy many superior amenities, including free coffee in the lobby, free local calls, free weekday newspaper, fitness center, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at Comfort Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt and fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast.For business travelers, this Clearwater, FL hotel provides conveniences like free high-speed Internet access, voice mail and access to copy and fax services.All spacious suites feature microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and expanded cable. The hotel also provides coin-operated laundry facilities for guest convenience.The lush Florida landscape, breathtaking views and ideal location make the Comfort Suites hotel a great place for anyone visiting the Clearwater area. We will exceed your expectations with our exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Clearwater
Comfort Suites Clearwater
Clearwater Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.