We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, this is the same as good as the Brooklyn branch - go get some!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grimaldi's Coal Brick Oven Pizzeria

Grimaldi's Coal Brick Oven Pizzeria
27001 US Highway 19 N, Clearwater, FL 33761
(727) 725-1200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #129 of 591 Restaurants in Clearwater
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Yes, this is the same as good as the Brooklyn branch - go get some!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

For anyone who has been to Grimaldi's in Brooklyn, the answer is yes, the pizza here is exactly the same and just as fantastic. The guy behind the bar, who I think was running it, was from New York, and just added to the experience. We had the takeaway option, and now Grimaldi's has arrived in FL, it's the best pizza in the state.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

been here a lot since January - I love all the toppings [especially meatballs and tomatoes]. Definitely the best pizza in Florida!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent NY Style Brick Oven Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Visited here after discovering that Grimaldi's existed outside of Brooklyn. The pizza was excellent. I did not feel overly consumed with too much food, yet it was the perfect size pizza. It definitely all starts with the dough and you can clearly distinguish the taste as if it was coming from the NY City Tap. Cheese and sauce also had a great taste. Definitely will be coming back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Awesome Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is some of the best pizza I have had! The crust is excellent and the toppings very tasty. we had the artichokes, kalamata olives, pepperoni, and the basil sprinkled on top. We have been there 4 times now and have never been disappointed. The prices can be a shock but the ppizza is so good I don't mind paying the extra for quality. For people who complain about the "burnt" crust....it is meant to be that way. Top notch!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“I Liked It!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Dined in 5/15/2012 about 5:15PM. The place was empty with only 2 tables seated. It was just myself and I ordered a personal sausage pizza (12"). I am not a fan of Pepsi products so I ordered Pelligrino. The pizza arrive quickly and I must say it was the best pizza I had in a long time. I ordered take out from Cristinos last week and this definitely tasted better. This pie was crispy and chewy (love). I could have ate another one. My waitress did not ask me about dessert so I did not even know they served it. The negatives were not enough sausage and not asking me about desserts...I ended up going to the Lucky Dill and getting a large slice of cake..But I'm not here to count calories. I will go back and next time I will order a larger pizza.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grimaldi's Coal Brick Oven Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Grimaldi's Coal Brick Oven Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grimaldi's Coal Brick Oven Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.