We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clearwater Beach Sunset” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westmont Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Westmont Inn to your Saves list
Westmont Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   355 South Gulfview Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767 (Formerly Ritz Resort Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clearwater Beach Sunset”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I had a couple want to meet my wife and I for dinner on Clearwater Beach. I had a couple of days off so we decided why not spend the night on the beach. I picked this hotel for several reasons. The first is easy...it is not expensive....about $70 per night to stay, literally, right across the street from the beach. The other was the check in time. Most places won't let you check in till 3 or 4...sometimes earlier if the rooms is ready but that is always pot luck. This motel lets you check in at 1pm....we checked in at 12:20. This let us have a place to stay and comeback too while we walked around the beach bar hopping, so to speak. The motel is located right next door to Frenchy's South Side Cafe and another 20 yards away from Crabby Bills Beach Walk. The Hyatt is with in 1/4 mile down the road which we also went to have a couple of drinks. Again, great location. The hotel itself is probably what you would think for a $70 per night place across the street from the beach. It is an older property. It is clean. If you are expecting the amenities of a $200 per night hotel room you are looking at the wrong place. We wanted a nice place to be able to sleep in proximity to all of Clearwater Beach. Worked perfect for what we wanted. The hotel is also a great place to watch the sunset if you don't go the 50 yards to get on the beach. Since we live here and see it all the time we liked the view from the thrid story deck the hotel has. I included a few pictures to see. Never had a rason, other than check in to talk to the staff so I have no review of them other than they seemed to be there if I needed something. Check it out if this is what you are looking for. Great location, great price and great check in time.

Room Tip: Depending on the time of year you can probably get any room you want just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitzResortMgr, General Manager at Westmont Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Largo man - Thank you for nice review - happy you happy. You and wife welcome to come to beautiful beach here anytime. Please tell me you are Largo Man who write this review next time you and wife return. I upgrade you to nicest room and give you bottle wine to share on balcony while watching sunset. We build our business by many many repeat customers like you. You most correct we have A1 location and are the last motel on Clearwater Beach under 100.00 per night. Only reason we can offer prices others can't is because same owner here 20 + years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    50
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
34
63
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Carrollton, Ohio, Usa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed at the RITZ for many years and just love it. The owners and staff are super to me every year. I am a 65 year old female beachcomber and I feel perfectly safe day and night. I love the south beach area for the food and activities. The Ritz is the cheapest beach front in Clearwater. I quit renting a car several years ago; everything is within a quarter of a mile.

Room Tip: The best view is on the 3rd floor close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitzResortMgr, General Manager at Westmont Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Josie - Thank you for time to give us nice review. We enjoy you come down every year. Next year remind me to give special present. Also KC will tell you where secret beach is. Can't say here - is a secret - but here you find all best shells. Hidden - not easy to get to - but KC will take you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed the first week of June in room 50. The location can't be beat! Frenchy's South Beach was so close it could be considered the motel bar/restaurant! Also Crabby Bill's is just steps away as well as the store Surf Style which has anything you need! (Food, alcohol, swimsuits, sunscreen etc). Ritz Resort was just across from the beach, our room was clean and the kitchenette was appreciated since we stayed for a full week. Just keep in mind this is not a five star resort, more of a mom and pop place. It was absolutely perfect for my husband and I since we wanted a relaxing, laid back beach vacation. We will for sure be back, love Clearwater and Ritz Resort is a great value with a perfect location! We've already recommended Ritz Resort to my parents who are looking to go to Clearwater next February.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitzResortMgr, General Manager at Westmont Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Happy you enjoy your week stay with us and all met your satisfaction. Hope you and husband return again we love to have nice guests like you. Room 50 is also known as Lovers Suite has awesome view of beach & Gulf from highest point - little kitchenette new flat screen TV and 1 bed for couple. Maybe your parents like 149 as is ground floor and has extra nice kitchenette - grab bars in shower, we usually suggest this for older guests.No stairs and can park right in front of room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

It is a small mom an pop motel, its no Hilton but if u plan on spending time on the beach an not in your room, its perfect.The decore is a little out dated but looks like there starting some remodeling. Room was clean an smelled good and perfect location, right across the street from the beach. Only real down side was full size beds, just wish they were queen or king. The kitchenette had a small fridge/freezer 2 burner stove and pots plates glasses an utensils

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitzResortMgr, General Manager at Westmont Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Gary from Georgia - Thank you for nice review. Alex our maintainece man is always busy on projects here at motel - never ends - so you correct, we always doing some update and remodel. Thank you for feedback and nice review. Next time you wish to visit please call me during day directly and I give you special price on room 30 which is 3rd floor Gulf end with best view perhaps any room on entire beach! Plus has big big balcony for family - and KING SIZE bed for you. Hope to see you and family next summer! Veronika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Depends on what your looking for in a vacation. If your just looking for somewhere to sleep at night and not much more, this is your place. If your looking for a place to relax and a pool to swim in this is not your place. It is in a great location, close to the beach, restaurants & attractions. Pool is small and sort of dirty. Not much parking for all the rooms. But overall a decent place to stay close to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitzResortMgr, General Manager at Westmont Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Jewels from North Carolina, thank you for review - honest and direct. You correct we are not Hyatt or Hilton - we are MOTEL - not HOTEL. If guests want luxury, big beautiful pool, on site restaurant, valet parking etc... I suggest Sand Pearl Resort. Cost is more the double what we charge. As is Hilton - Hyatt 3X the price. Here we do not have big pool - but big enough for family and kids to enjoy, beach just across street. You park own car here - and while we not have on site restaurant or include breakfast like some hotels do - Beach Shanty is 1 block away and another 6-7 with in few blocks. Frenchys right next door. Here we family owned, every room is different decorate like home. Not fancy - but always very clean. Service with smile. Me and my staff live here long long time so we know best places to go. Ask, we happy to tell you. Often we have coupon for restaurants etc...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in July, 2013. I believe it was queen bed room (4th floor) with kitchenette which was really great considering early breakfast you could make right there. Nothing fancy, again nothing fancy, very basic. However depending on what you are after that is great place to stay. Enjoy great outdoors, forget about hotel. It is right on the beach, Frenchy's café is right beside it. If you want to spend more time in your room you should check Hyatt really.

Room Tip: Just do not get fussy, accept it the way it is, and relax it is your vacation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitzResortMgr, General Manager at Westmont Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for nice review - especially like your tip. "Just do not get fussy, accept it the way it is, and relax it is your vacation. " Sometime we get silly complaints - like flowers were silk and not real. This just decoration, we not spend 30.00 every 3 days for fresh floral arrangement. It is what it is. We try hard to be sure all is spotlessly clean - fresh bed sheets, towels etc... Here we try to also offer GREAT VALUE - affordable cost. Not all families can afford 350.00 a night for Hyatt - and even then they not perfect either. You come visit us again I give you nice bottle of wine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron ,NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed in August 2012 for 5 nights after extending our original 2 night plan. Rooms are basic and clean. The staff kind, helpful and the location is across from beach and next to many places to eat. We loved it and will be back this August.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitzResortMgr, General Manager at Westmont Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for perfect review! Please call me directly so I can give you and family nice room and upgrade next visit. It is families like yours that come back year after year that make us succuss here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westmont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmont Inn

Address: 355 South Gulfview Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767 (Formerly Ritz Resort Motel)
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#35 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Westmont Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super clean rooms at affordble rates! Come Discover our #1 in USA Beach Town. Located directly on the all new 42 million dollar Beach Walk Promenade with shops & restaurants etc... Overlooking the beach & Gulf of Mexico. The Westmont Inn offers different room options to accomodate your needs. We include 1 parking space with your room - plus complimentry wifi. Others may not include these items in their published rate. We also do not charge an extra "Resort Fee". Please consider extra charges when "comparing" rates. We offer an A-1 location at the BEST price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westmont Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Hotel Clearwater
Ritz Motel Clearwater
Ritz Clearwater
Clearwater Ritz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westmont Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.