We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Cove Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Coconut Cove Resort to your Saves list
Coconut Cove Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   678 South Gulfview Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767 (Formerly Clearwater Beach Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I recommend this motel. It has a nice pool with waterfall. The rooms are very nice with a well equipped kitchen. The beds are very comfortable. They have free coffee available for guests and if you stay on a Wednesday they have a very nice lunch buffet.

We had a very good experience there. The location is within walking distance to the pier, but it is a 10 or 15 minute walk. Keep in mind there are no elevators and there is not a restaurant in the
motel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoreleiGM, General Manager at Coconut Cove Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for recommending our property and I hope that you will be able to stay with us in the future.

We do not have a restaurant on property, however do have several restaurants within walking distance and our guest enjoy a discount at the IHOP Restaurant as well as the Gondolier Restaurant which is right next door.

I am glad that you were able to attend our weekly guest BBQ. We enjoy being able to this for our guest.

We appreciate you staying with us during your recent visit to the Clearwater Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    54
    20
    3
    4
See reviews for
84
39
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I and our 21 year old daughter from South Africa have just spent 4 days at Coconut Cove Resort and absolutely loved it!! Upon arrival we requested a different room and Nick arranged everything efficiently within minutes.the pool area is gorgeous with waterfall feature and comfy sunbeds and umbrellas and continuous music to keep the holiday "vibe" going.The reception is well equipped with brochures and travel advice as well as many coupons for discount at restaurants and discount on cocktails at "happy hour" They also serve free tea and coffee all day which is really nice. We met the manager of housekeeping Theresa who was more than willing to assist with our request. The apartment was brand new,spotless,modern with full kitchen area,lovely granite tops with all utensils supplied including a dishwasher. The resort has a coin operated laundry situated downstairs which is really convenient. The beds were so comfy and our room was serviced every day and replenished with really upmarket bathroom toiletries. We travel a lot and have stayed at many hotels and have seldom found one that met all our needs and lovely staff too. Upon returning home from a restaurant late last night, there was an invitation in our room, inviting us to a complimentary barbeque down at the pool today which was fabulous. The food was excellent and plentiful, drinks were free and the staff were as always very accommodating.The location of this hotel is excellent, walking distance to some superb restaurants, long beach across the road, suntrolleys and shuttles to take you to Northbeach area if you wish. There are also shops and a convenience store next door to this hotel which is great if you need anything. We hardly used our car while staying here. Tonight we are walking one block to Shepphards which apparently is a fabulous restaurant. This resort has it all....and excellent value for money as well. We would like to thank Nick and his most competent staff for the effort they went to to make our stay as enjoyable as it has been. We are checking out tomorrow but will definately be back and will always recommend this hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: There is no road noise from this hotel but a pool facing room with large balcony is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra W, General Manager at Coconut Cove Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Debbie,

I couldn't have said it better myself. We are truly a property this is "Often sought, seldom found." Our location is a hidden treasure on Clearwater Beach and I am glad that you found us and were able to enjoy everything our property has to offer.

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with everyone. I couldn't ask for a better staff. They truly are willing to go above and beyond to make sure each guest has a memorable visit.

We look forward to seeing you and your family during your next visit to the Clearwater Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zagreb croatia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

As a first time traveller to the Clearwater Area, choosing a hotel was really taking a gamble. This time it worked!

I believe in the States, you would call Coconut Cove Resort: a motel and not a hotel, and as long as that is clear, I do not believe anyone can complain about the place.

The rooms are situated both around the swimming pool area and the perimeter of the complex, with the car park on the ground floor below.

Our room consisted of a bedroom with 2 x double beds (so OK for us and 2 small children), bathroom, lounge-kitchen with the majority of day to day appliances that make a stay easier. The rooms were kept clean, towels replenished daily, so on this score, we had no complaints at all.

The swimming pool area was just a short walk in the complex, to an area which had adequate pool chairs to comfortably sit 25 guests, so that and the pool was good. Also the BBQ organised Friday lunchtime by the staff there was a nice classy touch on their behalf.

Apart from that, they had communal washing machines, coffee available, and the office team was always helpful.

Outside of the complex, you basically have 2 beach choices. One at their sister hotel which is located about 200 yards away, which has a small but nice sandy beach, never too crowded and the 2nd choice being the main public beach at Clearwater, which is approximately 400-yards from the hotel. This beach is very big, but at least on weekends, very busy as well.

Dining around the hotel is reasonable, including a local supermarket (50-yards away) as well as a Subway, Dunkin Donuts, and pizza restaurant also no more than 100-yards away.

Whilst I would suggest renting a car during your stay here, you could though, still survive comfortably without one. At approx. $250 a day (for the family) I believe we got good value for money here and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights to escape the madness of Orlando, rooms were spotless and very well maintained, pool area was great but pool was a little warm!
Overall very good and would diffidently stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We just left Coconut Cove. We were there with another family of 4. The suites were perfect for families of 4. They were super clean and beds were more than cozy. Since we cooked most meals at the room, it was great to have everything we need in the kitchen. We spent most of our time at the wonderful pool. We even started our days there by bringing breakfast down for everyone. Kids never tired of swimming, and if they wanted rest .. The room was just a few steps away. The staff was very in tune to our needs.. Even offering us towels when we were swimming at night. Nick in the office was especially helpful with helping us with information about the beaches and cab services. We did visit the crowded beach one day but we were happy just staying at the pool all day. Great resturants are within walking distance and there is a Walgreens, liquor store and a nail salon just steps away from the "resort" . Both families LOVED this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoreleiGM, General Manager at Coconut Cove Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
It is great to hear that both families enjoyed their stay with us. Our suites are perfect for families, especially when they are staying several days because of the additional space and fully equipped kitchens.

I am glad to hear that the staff was attentive to your needs and that Nick was especially helpful. We honestly have an outstanding team at the Coconut Cove.

Thank you for choosing the Coconut Cove!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We just left Coconut Cove Resort.... We loved it!! Loved having a kitchen, loved the pool, loved the easy access to the beach across the street, loved the easy walk to restaurants and shops, love that Nick was helpful. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoreleiGM, General Manager at Coconut Cove Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you loved your stay and that you will definitely return. It is always a pleasure to hear that and I appreciate you taking the time to acknowledging our staff. Nick is truly a great employee to have as a part of our team at the Coconut Cove.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Lovely little hotel with a great location right on the beach don't listen to reviews saying its miles away?! It's close and around a 20min walk to pier 60 excellent at night my partner got two rings made from silver spoons gorgeous and completely unique, back to coconut suites check in was a warm welcome and we was given info on the trolly that goes round clear water and info on restaurants getting 10%off at gondolier next door a lovely restaurant we ate here twice and there's plenty of others to choose from also recommend crabby bills near the pier, the lady on reception was lovely and after we checked in we received a invite with drinks tokens to a complimentary BBQ it was gorgeous mouth watering ribs and chicken teriyaki kebabs or beef with pasta salads and roasted veg all home made also including cookies and snacks with beer and soft drinks :) it was a really nice touch our room was gorgeous and actually bigger than my apartment back home ha with a kitchen and living room large bedroom and bathroom I could of comfortably moved in! Would recommend coconut suits to everyone and would stay here again when in the area

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoreleiGM, General Manager at Coconut Cove Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Coconut Cove. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guest were satisfied with their stay. It sounds like you were able to take full advantage of what our property has to offer for travelers staying in the Clearwater Beach area and we are thrilled that you were able to come down and enjoy our weekly guest BBQ.

We appreciate you recommending our facility and look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Cove Resort

Address: 678 South Gulfview Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767 (Formerly Clearwater Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#19 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#29 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coconut Cove Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-new Coconut Cove All-Suite Resort is a charming Florida Gulf Coast getaway located just across the street from breathtaking Clearwater Beach. Created with both vacation and business travelers in mind, the resort combines a classic beach aesthetic with thoughtful traveler comforts.As an all-suite hotel, Coconut Cove All-Suite Resort offers the ultimate value when it comes to living space, privacy, and in-room amenities. In addition to separate bedrooms, all accommodations offer a living room with pull-out sofa, kitchen with granite counters and stainless steel appliances, plus a private balcony.A tropical, heated pool awaits outdoors, complete with poolside tiki huts for your relaxation. As an added bonus, our guests enjoy direct beach and bar privileges at the Quality Beach Hotel (located directly across the street). Committed to comfort and convenience for our guests, Coconut Cove All-Suite Resort offers complimentary Wi-Fi access, a 24-hour concierge, business center, and guest laundry.A wide variety of dining, shopping, and recreation choices are nearby, making Coconut Cove Suites a perfect home base for all kinds of Florida Gulf Coast adventures.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coconut Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Cove Hotel Clearwater
Beach Clearwater
Beach Hotel Clearwater
Clearwater Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Cove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.