We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a few nights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Cove Resort to your Saves list
Coconut Cove Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   678 South Gulfview Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767 (Formerly Clearwater Beach Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great place for a few nights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights of our fly drive of Florida and I was very impressed with the accommodation. It had everything we could want to make our stay comfortable. The staff were very good and helpful. We had a deluxe queen room and it may be worth the extra for one of these as they seem to have more equipment. The pool area is nice with warm water and a landscaped area with waterfalls.
The beach is easily accessible just across the road through their sister hotel, not far at all, just 2 mins.
The situation of the hotel is just out from the hustle and bustle of Pier 60 but it is close enough for a nice stroll in to the centre. Being just outside makes it much quieter as Clearwater itself is now much more built up than our last visit several years ago.
We were invited to a complementary BBQ on one of our days around the pool, with plenty of good food, ribs etc and even 2 beers per person FOR FREE, there is also bottled water by the pool for you to help yourself, what more could you ask for?
We would definitely stay there again and I would recommend it to a friend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    60
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
88
46
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just returned from 7 night stay at the Coconut Cove. My husband and I loved it as did our two kids. It was probably a 5-10 minute walk to the bigger beach, which we preferred.

Only one compliant which did not keep me from giving this place an excellent rating, we paid for a poolview and I don't think our room. #313 was really in view of the pool. The palm trees were in the way, would have liked a room with direct poolview expecially since paying a different price.

Loved the complimentary BBQ with beverages on Wednesday, don't know the gentleman's name who did all the work getting it ready, kudos to him, it was a nice treat to hang by the pool for the day and not have to worry about lunch.

Without a doubt we would choose Coconut Cove for a return visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from 9 nights at Coconut Cove. Our suite was very comfortable with 2 queen beds. Nice and clean, good bathroom, spacious, quiet.
For those worried about stairs, there are 16 steps to the 1st floor rooms (2nd floor for Americans), and 32 steps to the top floor. Parking is on the ground level uner the rooms. All rooms are near the pool.
The swimming pool is not particularly large but is very warm and beautiful. When we were there it wasn't very crowded.
The Italian / Greek restaurant next door is good.
It's about a 10 min walk to the main beach, and a pleasant walk at that. Not "miles away" as one review stated! There is a small beach across the road but not great for swimming.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I took our 6 month old son here last year. We wanted someplace that would be a quick and direct flight from NYC that was on or near the beach, did not need to rent a car, and was not "sceney' with a separate room for our son to sleep. The railroad style room we had at Coconut Grove fit the bill. Recently renovated, it was clean and well appointed. The kitchenette was very useful and the balcony off the bedroom overlooking the pool was perfect for my husband and I to hang out after we put our son to bed for the night/naps. It was very economical. About $1000 for 6 nights and the pool was a great bonus for us and the baby. Very family friendly place and the staff especially Nick was fantastic. It was a walk to the beaches with the big clamshell umbrellas and teh rest of town but the strip could not have been more than a half hour walk from top to bottom. Was a wonderful not too pricey trip. Would stay there again and recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from nightclub and there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Very disappointed with this hotel, took 15 mins to find the room, although the woman on the front desk was helpful, it still didn't help much. Hotel is situated miles from the beach. Will not stop here again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a bit of a bumpy start after first being checked into a room which was already occupied and then being kept awake until 5am on our first night by the noise of people leaving the Shephards night club in the hotel across the road. The staff were really helpful in sorting out these problems and we were moved to a pool view room with no extra charge. The pool view rooms are much nicer as all the other rooms look out onto the car park or the road. The pool area was very relaxing & nicely decorated with a tropical feel and with plenty of sun loungers/umbrellas.

I would not recommend staying in the area during USA public holidays/celebrations if you have young children or want a peaceful and relaxing time, we happened to be there on the Cinco de Mayo and the area became full of drunk, rude and loud people all over the streets and parts of the beach. The rest of the time we were there however the area had a very friendly, relaxing and family friendly vibe.

Overall I was really pleased with my stay at Coconut Cove, the rooms were nice (especially if you have a pool view) and the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Nick who was very helpful at sorting out the room problem.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are the best, we were in block 4 on the first night and this was very noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I am not sure where to start...but here I will try. First and foremost, a big clap for "Nick".....he was wonderful the moment we walked in the door. Helpful and smiled the whole time. This place knows what is up when it comes to the proper etiquette of customer service! I was greeted wonderfully and the maids were sweet as can be...every time we walked by them, they just smiled and said hi. I believe this speaks for good management, because everyone seemed happy and was very warm to all customers, at least from what I experienced. Now let's move on to the room! This is not just any regular hotel room...oh no! This place is like a small apartment. Nice little kitchen, nice size bathroom, king size bedroom....with the patio (ours faced the pool) which was nice. The patio is a nice size too. There was also a couch that had a pull-out bed...two flat screen tvs and you get HBO as well. They have 24 hour operator service...you just call 0 on the resort phone and someone always answers. They have WI-Fi....among so many other things. Also you get 10% off the I-hop across the street and also at the Greek restaurant right next door. Its close to everything off the main strip. You can walk to the awesome restaurants too. The pool has such character and really makes you feel like you are in some exotic island get-away. When you see the place form the outside, you would not think it would be as great as I claim. I guess that is why they say do not judge a book by its cover. Not that it looks horrible...it just looks old. But you can tell the rooms are totally remodeled. I will be back to visit again. Great for families, friend get-away, couples....whoever! Enjoy! :)

Room Tip: Only thing they did not have...was an ice maker/ice tray in freezer..so if you want ice....you willl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Cove Resort

Address: 678 South Gulfview Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767 (Formerly Clearwater Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#18 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#21 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coconut Cove Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-new Coconut Cove All-Suite Resort is a charming Florida Gulf Coast getaway located just across the street from breathtaking Clearwater Beach. Created with both vacation and business travelers in mind, the resort combines a classic beach aesthetic with thoughtful traveler comforts.As an all-suite hotel, Coconut Cove All-Suite Resort offers the ultimate value when it comes to living space, privacy, and in-room amenities. In addition to separate bedrooms, all accommodations offer a living room with pull-out sofa, kitchen with granite counters and stainless steel appliances, plus a private balcony.A tropical, heated pool awaits outdoors, complete with poolside tiki huts for your relaxation. As an added bonus, our guests enjoy direct beach and bar privileges at the Quality Beach Hotel (located directly across the street). Committed to comfort and convenience for our guests, Coconut Cove All-Suite Resort offers complimentary Wi-Fi access, a 24-hour concierge, business center, and guest laundry.A wide variety of dining, shopping, and recreation choices are nearby, making Coconut Cove Suites a perfect home base for all kinds of Florida Gulf Coast adventures.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Coconut Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Cove Hotel Clearwater
Beach Clearwater
Beach Hotel Clearwater
Clearwater Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Cove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.