We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay-Quaint hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay to your Saves list
Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   850 Bayway Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice stay-Quaint hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

About 2-3 blocks from the action ( Beach Walk, restaurants,souvenir shopping). Small and quaint (14-16 rooms). We had a nice view of the backwaters harbor on the 2nd floor.We arrived late and the office closed at 6:30 so we per-arranged to have our key in a lock box. Everyone was very nice and polite.The rooms are kept up nice and clean but showing it's age.Very nice beds. Reasonably priced for the middle of tourist season.Cons: Are main concern was the very low wall between rooms on the balcony, it is maybe only 4 feet high and when you sit outside you see the people next door. They smoked and we could smell it. We liked to have the sliding door open a little at night but were leery that someone could look in from the balcony next door or could even hop over the privacy wall. They need a higher privacy wall between balcony's.

Room Tip: Ask for harbor view if available. Very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    45
    10
    5
    8
See reviews for
64
50
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The rooms are very clean and spacious.The location is quiet and only a short walk to the fabulous Clearwater beach,shopping and restaurants. After the things I read I was a little worried but was put at easy the minute we got to the place. We will visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, Usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Very nice stay at this hotel. Clean room, friendly and accommodating staff, very good location close to downtown Clearwater Beach. On the water with boat slips immediately behind the hotel gives a very pleasant ambience.

Room Tip: Internet strength not so good the further from the lobby the room is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This is our 4th five week stay at the Chart House and we're booking again for next year.As usual Diane and her staff are the most accommodating you will find anywhere.The rooms are very clean and spacious.The location is quiet and only a short walk to the fabulous Clearwater beach,shopping and restaurants.The view from the rooms overlooking the harbor can't be beat.Finally Spending the day at the pool and playing shuffle board makes for a fun and relaxing day. JohnnySue

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charthouse-Mgr, Director of Sales at Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your response. We are all so happy that you have enjoyed all of your stays at the Chart House. Diane goes out of her way to make guests feel as though they are staying in her own home! Carve out some time in your schedule next year to come on down to the Holiday Inn Harbourside (sister hotel) as our Waterpark with the lazy river, dueling slides and kids adventure section is slated to open early summer 2014! Thank you again for letting us know about your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had an issue with BOOKING.COM, who overbooked my confirmed booking to another hotel. Frantic, looking for somewhere close to the beach allowing pets, I discovered and phoned Chart House. I spoke with Diane, who got me set up. Since this wasn't a flag hotel, I was hoping it would be nice. It was Better than I had hoped for. It was CLEAN, had a wonderful desk person, and had a lovely eclectic vibe going,, like a south beach deco this is a well managed, well maintained hotel. Loved the tile floors without any residual odor for my small Morkie, and the view of the marina. Quite a wonderful surprise. Spoke with Diane the next day, and we were even more impressed. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charthouse-Mgr, Director of Sales at Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We love to hear from our guests. So happy we were able to accommodate you in lieu of Booking.com's error! All of us here at the Chart House LOVE our guests and their furry companions. All of our pet rooms are tiled thus no smell from the prior companions. Diane, the hotel manager, goes out of her way to make all her guests and furry friends feel like they are at a home away from home! We look forward to you staying with us in the near future:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Mom planned a birthday trip to beach for a food & wine festival. Manager was super sweet and accomodating, quick free taxi service advised, room was nice, guests were nice, view was nice, rate was nice...will go back!

Room Tip: water view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charthouse-Mgr, Director of Sales at Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We pride ourselves on being Clearwater Beach's best kept secret. A quaint boutique, a home away from home. Diane treats everyone as if they are guests in her home. Don't forget if you come back to bring your furry family as we offer several pet friendly rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Me, my wife and two kids stayed here for the weekend it was excellent and the staff was great. My kids had never seen the ocean and our room did not have a clear view of the harbor. I wanted this to be something my kids remembered, so I asked if we could switch to an available room facing the harbor (I was ready to pay any difference if necessary) the concierge made a call and surprisingly offered us a room in full view of the harbor/ocean my kids loved it (3yr old and 10 yr old) we all still talk about how awesome the Chart House was...during our final day my wife found out she was pregnant. I couldnt have asked for a better environment to receive such news. Thank You Chart House Suites and your awesome staff. Keep doing things right!!!

V-

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charthouse-Mgr, Director of Sales at Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Congratulations are in order; your family just grew! Our best wishes for an easy pregnancy! We are happy to hear that you so enjoyed your time with us. All of the staff love to help our guests and aim to please! When you are ready to return, be sure to visit our new water park on Indian Rocks Beach; located at the Holiday Inn Harbourside. The kids will love the dueling slides while the parents sip margaritas in the lazy river. We'll look for your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay

Address: 850 Bayway Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#9 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel located on the Intracoastal Waterway next to the Yacht Club. Known as the best kept secret on Clearwater Beach; this gem has beautiful rooms and suites and a great home away from home feel about it. We also welcome your four legged companions too! Enjoy all the fun of Clearwater Beach while getting a good night sleep in our quiet off the beaten path hotel. You'll only be a stranger to us once at the Chart House Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chart House Suites On Clearwater Bay Hotel Clearwater
Chart Hotel On Clearwater Bay
The Chart House Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.