We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay to your Saves list
Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   850 Bayway Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was such a lovely place. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. My friend and I loved that it had wifi. The staff was all so helpful and friendly. The location was right next to the yacht club so you had a nice view of the marina and bay everytime you left and came back to the hotel. It was within 5-10 minutes walking distance from the beach, so quite convenient. We definitely would come back again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charthouse-Mgr, Manager at Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We are thrilled that we were such a pleasant surprise for you...we are definitely the best kept secret on Clearwater Beach! We pride ourselves on being a quaint and quiet hotel located on the Bay. Please keep us in mind for you or your friends' future travels. And remember that we are pet friendly too! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    42
    7
    5
    8
See reviews for
55
47
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I had a 3 day business meeting in downtown Clearwater but the recommended hotels were all booked (fortunately!). The Chart House Suites looked like a nice quiet place off the main road, and it turned out to be true. My wife traveled with me and we stayed in a standard king room (no efficiency) which had a balcony with great views overlooking the marina and bay. The room was very spacious, and looked to have been remodeled within the last few years. Although it could have used a little refreshening and minor maintenance, everything was working and satisfactory for our stay - nothing to call the front desk about. Notable was the king bed, which was well-appointed with pillows and especially comfortable for a hotel bed.
We stayed during the week and all was very quiet. This was even during college spring break, which I hadn't even thought about until we saw all the students over by the beach. We will definitely stay again when in the area.
Other:
There is a small heated pool street-side, and one shuffleboard court on the side. Although we didn't use them, both looked inviting and well maintained. Bring your bicycle - access is great to downtown and to the other beachside communities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton Shores, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great location and staff. Rooms could be cleaner. Walls need to be washed and counters should be clean at check in. Too many hotels today try to keep cleaning to a minimum to reduce expenses. Too bad.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the marina are nice with patios. I had a ground floor room with full kitchen which wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our travels took us to Clearwater Beach for our son's destination wedding. Never having traveled to Fl.we didn't know where to start or where to stay. I just happened upon this property as I searched for areas close to the wedding site. I started my search in November and in December I had the pleasure of speaking to Diane the manager who set up all the details of the stay. I called the Chart House on several occassions and Diane always answered the phone and was very patient with our requests or questions at hand. She provided excellent one on one customer service, which is a lost art these days. It was a pleasure putting a face to the voice once we arrived. The Inn is attractive and quiet and the suite we stayed in was very comfortable and spacious. The rest of the staff was excellent as well. It definitely exceeded our expectations. We look forward to another visit. the

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Maine, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was a great place to stay. It had a nice view of the harbor, big rooms, a kitchenette, two full beds and pull out couch. It was in close proximity to the beach, shops and not far to the night life. The hotel manager Diane was very nice as were so many people in Clearwater.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balconey on the harbor side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

2/11/13 My husband and I have just returned from our first stay at the Chart House. It was just a 2 night "escape" and the location, room and furnished patio overlooking the Harbor met and exceeded our expectations. The price was VERY reasonable with free parking! All of the staff went out of their way to introduce us to the area. They seemed genuinely interested and concerned that we had a pleasant experience. Rooms were clean, roomy and included what I would call a "kitchen wall" - cupboards, toaster, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker and counter. The only thing we missed from home was a hand held shower attachment!! Thanks Diane and staff. We are anxious to see you again! John and Shelley Mulholland

Room Tip: Harbor view if you can get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I had never been to Clearwater Beach. I loved it. AND I KNOW the main reason was my stay at the Chart House Suites. This is a wonderful little Inn on the Bay. It is attractive, quiet, comfortable and pet friendly. The patio overlooking the bay is so enjoyable. The manager, Diane, is a warm,welcoming professional. It doesn't get much better than that. Thank you, Dianne.

Room Tip: Get a Bay side room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay

Address: 850 Bayway Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#10 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel located on the Intracoastal Waterway next to the Yacht Club. Known as the best kept secret on Clearwater Beach; this gem has beautiful rooms and suites and a great home away from home feel about it. We also welcome your four legged companions too! Enjoy all the fun of Clearwater Beach while getting a good night sleep in our quiet off the beaten path hotel. You'll only be a stranger to us once at the Chart House Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chart House Suites On Clearwater Bay Hotel Clearwater
Chart Hotel On Clearwater Bay
The Chart House Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.