We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach to your Saves list
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 South Gulfview Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Pure Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

Just returned from three weeks in the Travelodge. We were hugely impressed with everything, the location, the service et al. The location is perfect with plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance. Housekeeping staff were excellent. Met some wonderful people who frequent the Travelodge year after year and we felt very much at home. Kathy Mittler and her staff were wonderful and extremely helpful. We would absolutely recommend the Travelodge and we are looking forward to returning in the near future!

Joan and Michael Nolan, Dublin, Ireland

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel401, General Manager at Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
Hi- It was great to have you visit with us for the 3 weeks. You are part of our Travelodge family and we are looking forward to next year. We get a lot of pleasure when our guests are happy and are having a good time. We look forward to this time of the year, because so many of our dear guests return and as soon as they walk thru our door it feels like family is visiting. Its so good to see everyone and we do have a lot of fun together.
Call me once you know your dates for next year. Take care.
Sincerely,
Kathy & Travelodge team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    133
    88
    29
    25
See reviews for
149
134
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton Township, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

We were extremely pleased with our stay here. The price is a great value, the rooms are kept very clean and the ease of walking across the street to the beach is the icing on the cake! The staff(Sean) was very friendly and helpful. The cont. breakfast is great for a quick start to your day. This was our first time staying here and I am reserving a room already for next February. Travelodge keep up the great work!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel401, General Manager at Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
Thank you for the kind words. I am glad Sean was able to assist you and you enjoyed your visit with us. Yes, we have a great location and a beautiful beach. Did you get to go to Pier 60 for the beautiful sunsets? Call us when you are ready to visit with us again. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We get to meet such great people. Take care
Sincerely,
Kathy & Travelodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Cards on the table from the start; we chose this hotel as it had good ratings here and we assumed it would have a minimum standard similar to the Travelodge brand in the UK - WRONG!

The basic problem is that this hotel has under-invested in any renovation (in fact have they spent anything, I wonder?) for the past twenty years by the look of it. It is all so tired and run down and NOTHING like a UK Travelodge in terms of decor etc.

On the plus side the staff were helpful and friendly and clearly an effort is made to provide a clean room for guests - nice little folded towel animal shapes and so forth.
But as the old expression goes, you cannot make a silk purse from a sow's ear.

The reception area is in good condition as is the pool area but there it ends. The moment you get to the lift 'area' the problems start to show. Faded paint, broken lift, an old vinyl floor in the lift, it looks like something from a 1960's tower block - only the smell of stale urine (thankfully absent) would have been needed to complete the picture!

The exterior walkways to the rooms show the same lack of care, with peeling paint and an uncared for appearance.

I apprecaiet that being from the UK Iprobably dont appreciate how humid and hot the Florida atmosphere gets in high summer, but even allowing for this, surely eventually the owners have to spend some money on repairing, replacing or repainting all the rusty ironwork.

Similalry inside the rooms, the wallpaper is bubbling off the wall, presumably from damp. Tiles are broken in the kitchenette, door jambs and skirtings need repainting and the carpet is long overdue replacement.

In the bathroom there is mould and dirt in the sliding window tracks - damp induced, once again. The 'white' paintwork everywhere is looking very tired..

Our room had a connecting 'hear through' door to the next room - very flimsily secured. The coffee maker had loose wiring - but we got it working without electrocution - just!

To summarise - the staff have clearly made an effort to provide a clean room and were friendly and helpful at check in, but the hotel infrastructure needs massive investment to come anywhere near the sort of standard that UK travellers associate with the Travelodge brand and pricing.

In fairness we were hunting for rooms in peak season, so hadn't much choice, however a glance across either side of the road to the neighbouring hotels at similar prices clearly showed a higher standard of care - externally, at least.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel401, General Manager at Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
Thank you for taking the time for your review. I do understand what you are saying. I do want you to know that we are constantly working on the exterior of our building. The salt air from our beautiful beach keeps us busy. Our building gets painted at least twice a year. I am at this time setting up a time to repaint our exterior doors. Just trying to decide on the color. We are also in the process of getting new beds and bedding. We can only do a little bit at a time but I believe we will be completed by end of the year. We are also trying to update other areas the best we can. I do hope you give us another try on your next visit to Beautiful Clearwater Beach. I have a lot of return guests from the UK that we see every year and always meeting new guests who come to Clearwater Beach who enjoyed their visit with us and will return. Thank you again, I always like to see what our guests see and we take their comments very seriously. Take care.
Regards,
Kathy & Travelodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, MI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

We verified our Hotel.com reservations with this hotel prior to our arrival. To our surprise, they were not what was promised by Hotels.com. We spoke with Kathy and she happily changed everything to what we origianally wanted. This was a lesson to us not to use Hotels.com or any third party agency for reservations. We will always deal with the hotel. We are looking forward to our stay, especially if this is the quality of service that we will receive. Thank you for your help, Kathy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel401, General Manager at Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
HI- thank you for taking the time for your review. I was glad to be able to fix yor travel plans. It is always better to go to hotels web page(no matter which hotel you are staying at) there you will see what the hotel offers and you can see exactly what you are reserving. Third party web sites do not know our properties and I have heard that they make promises that are not true. They sell rooms. If you do use a 3rd party web site, it is always a good idea to call the hotel directly or email them to have your reservation checked before your arrival date. This will give the hotel the time to see if they can correct any errors. The best place to go if you want to book on line is the hotels web site.
It was a pleasure meeting you and your family.
Sincerely,
Kathy & Travelodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, RI, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

Very friendly manager Kathy and a good location in Clearwater. Unfortunately, the weather was not as I hoped, but staying on forth floor makes me enjoying even the raining day. The rooms have a small kitchenette, clean, and in a good shape. Good breakfast was included in the reasonable walk in rate. Will come again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel401, General Manager at Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, February 26, 2011
Hi- Thank you for taking the time for your review, I agree with you with the view from the gulfview 4th floor rooms. Sometimes we forget how relaxing it can be just sitting and looking at the water. It always amazed me that at the same time I am looking at the water is the same time our dolphins swim by. Looking forward to your next visit. Just give us a call.
Take care.
Sincerely,
Kathy & Travelodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

I would assume that if you're looking to lodge in this area, the beach will be on your mind. So my review includes both. I had been to Clearwater Beach in the summer of 1995. The beach across the street from this motel (Jan. 2011) was completely NOT what I remembered. Maybe it was due to being cold, windy and in January. During the day, there were city dump trucks and tractors constantly removing seaweed or something off the beach. Couldn't see through the water as I could back in summer of '95. Not sure if the different beach locations in Clearwater make that much of a difference as to the color and clarity of the water. There was hardly anyone out. There were "no swimming" signs on the edge of the parking lot across the street at the beach by some rocks. You had to pay for public parking at that beach as well. The motel staff seemed hungry for visitors. They were nice & professional. They recommended a restaurant next door and gave me a 10% off coupon. The motel itself could probably use a little renovation. Couldn't hardly fit the luggage rack into the elevator due to the small size and angle of the layout of the hall & elevator. Cold January air came thru the window by the shower which, on the other side of the curtain, was the exterior walkway around all the rooms on our level. The bathroom did have a heat lamp that helped a little. No bathtub, just a stand-in shower. Most people won't have to deal with this because it's usually not that cold in FL. Parking was fine since it was not busy. Not sure where the rest of parking would be in the busy season. Large window balcony view of the gulf in the distance. Small older kitchenette. Sheets were clean. Table in the room to eat at. I didn't like the fact that if you were to use the in-room-safe, there would be a charge. There was a pool outside but it was the wrong time of the year to swim. Door to the room could use maintenance in shutting better. Whether or not to stay would depend on your preferences. Definitely nothing fancy.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel401, General Manager at Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, February 26, 2011
WOW. Where do I start? Yes the beach has changed over the years, Gulfview Blvd was moved closer to Beach for Beachwalk. We were all very pleased with how Beachwalk turned out. It is so much easier to walk the beach now and Beachwalk ends at Pier 60. You were here during a short cold spell. This happens at times but usally only last a few days. If the winds are strong the beach will be closed to swimmers. There is plenty of public parking and yes you do have to pay to park. My staff was not hungry as you put it, we are just friendly caring people and our goal is to help our guests the best we can. Our hotel is old but we do try to keep it updated as best as we can. I am also trying to find a smaller luggage cart for our elevator. I have 2 companys looking for me. We do have rooms with tubs if a guests needs one and we do offer a safe in each room for our guests to use. If this charge concerned you we would have been pleased to remove. I do appreciate your comments, its important to know what our guests are feeling and seeing. I do hope you come see us agin on your next visit to Clearwater Beach. Take care.........
Sincerely,
Kathy & Traveldoge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Service was great. We arrived late in the night and were greeted by an extremely friendly staff member. We were given our room and were pleasantly surprised by the condition of the room. Some reviews we had read made us nervous and we didn't know what to expect, but our room was clean and comfortable. It was a relief.

Due to a missed flight, we arrived late, so we were tired and very hungry. We walked 2 minutes over, right next door to a restaurant and had an awesome late night snack. Immediately we realized the location of the hotel was perfect and close to everything. Right across from the beach and within walking distance of dozens of restaurants! We decided not to get a rental car during our stay, which was totally fine! If you did not feel like walking, there were trolleys to take you wherever!

We stayed for one whole week and had little to complain about. Our ocean-view from the room on the 3rd floor was Breathtaking. Complimentary breakfast was nice, saved us some cash. Pool area was nice, but we did not get a chance to enjoy it since the beautiful beach was right across the street. Clearwater Beach was wonderful!

We will be back 2011!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel401, General Manager at Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us. Your review will help others know about how beautiful our beach is and how everything is within walking distance or taking one of the Trolleys. The jolly trolley now goes to downtown Dunedin, Palm Harbor and Tarpon Springs on Fridays, Sat and Sundays. Did you get to go?
Once again it was our pleasure having you visit with us. Just let us know when you are ready to return Take care............
Sincerely,
Kathy & Travelodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach

Address: 401 South Gulfview Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Beach View Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Travelodge Clearwater
Travel Lodge Clearwater
Clearwater Travel Lodge
Clearwater Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.