We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ho hum” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cody's Original Roadhouse

Cody's Original Roadhouse
26210 us HIWAY 19, Clearwater, FL 33763
727-726-6800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #153 of 591 Restaurants in Clearwater
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Ho hum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Typical chain restaurant. Typical chain quality food. Gets really busy at dinner time. 2-4-1 drinks at happy hour are welcome, and the wait staff is nice enough. If the line is long find somewhere else, you're not going to be missing anything.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    19
    12
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We were lucky and didn't have to wait too long to be seated. Service was good, food was great. Love the peanut shells on the floor, butcher paper table cloths! Fun place!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cody's Rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Great spot but very busy. Wednesday night is 2 for 1 Fajita night....super value. The steak fajita is absolutely fantastic! Happy hour at the bar until 7 pm and 2 for 1 Margaritas all night. Servers are friendly and surprisingly fast. All in all a nice experience. We'll be back!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Average Service, Better Than Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011 via mobile

Went here with friends while staying in Clearwater. We have several of these type of steakhouses at home. The service at this particular restaurant was average. The place was busy when we got there, but thinned out as we waited to get our food. It took awhile to get our meals. We ordered a variety of meals. The chicken strips were thick and had a good flavor. The grilled chicken sandwich was large and delicious. The wings, and sweet potato fries were cooked well. The only downside to the salad was that they put the dressing on themselves (was heavy) and dished it out too. I ended up with toppings I didn't really want, and didn't even realize there were tomatoes until I saw them on someone else's plate. The rib/garlic shrimp combo was cooked to perfection. One friend ordered the pork chop meal. It was a real disappointment for her. The chop was underdone, the garlic mashed potatoes didnt have any garlic (also had a strange taste in general - instant maybe?), and the chopped apples turned out to be cold applesauce. The restaurant advertised rolls with cinnamon butter (everyone else got them as soon as they sat down) but we had to ask for them after we got our meal. I would go back, but I would be careful what I ordered, and don't expect great service.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Cody's is my favorite restaurant :D”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I love Cody's on US Hwy 19 in Clearwater. Whenever I visit my daughter, it's the first place I insist on going. Love the atmosphere, good choices on the menu, and great drinks. Laid back and no one rushes you out.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cody's Original Roadhouse also viewed

 

Been to Cody's Original Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cody's Original Roadhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.