We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Grove

Coconut Grove
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clearwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coconut Grove
Save
You added Coconut Grove to your Saves list
606 Bay Esplanade, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel amenities
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden treasure!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

You would NEVER guess it from driving by, but this place is quite a find! On a quiet street along older, small motels, Coconut Grove is completely hidden from the world behind bamboo fencing and lush landscaping. Indoor, the units are clean and well-kept with casual "Tommy Bahama"-style furnishings. VERY comfortable bed! But the best part is the very private large, island-themed courtyard! Nice pool, fantastic large Tiki bar with flat screen TV, stainless outdoor kitchen with grill and smoker, plenty of lounge chairs/umbrellas in white sand areas, waterfall, and covered outdoor dining for friends and family to enjoy. Unusual but nice that there is no "front office" on-site, which really makes it a tropical home away from home. Short walk away from one of the most beautiful sugar sand beaches you will find on Florida's Gulf coast. Highly recommend if you want a QUIET, relaxing vacation. Only 8 units, so no crowds to deal with. Close to plenty of beach restaurants and bars with live music. No resort or parking fees and free laundry on site. Only negatives: (1) Small bathrooms which need updating, especially the bathtub/shower. (2) Very limited counters with no cabinets in the kitchenette of the 1-bedroom unit we were in. The other 1-BR had cabinets though. Not an issue if you aren't staying for long or don't plan to cook much. (3) Sofa bed mattress is awful! (4) Noisy A/C. Note: The large 3-Bedroom unit upstairs is really nice.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, choose the 3-BR unit upstairs. "S-1" unit's kitchen/bath aren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Have been coming to Cocout Grove Villas for 4 years now and can only say it is paradise! The condos are clean and updated. The owners are wonderful people and very attentive to any requests we make. The view is just beautiful. We walk right outside the unit to see beautiful water and many days dolphins. Would highly recommend it to anyone. Bev and Frank

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, GA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We rented this place for Spring Break 2012, with 2 other families. Based on some of the reviews, we were a little nervous to pull up to the place and see what it was all about. Wow, we could not ask for more! Turns out, all the bad reviews are from 2010 or earlier . . . the place is under new management and has been completely redone. We had an awesome week here. Our favorite place was the bar, which we were able to stock ourselves and keep everything refrigerated and at arms reach all week . . . and the big screen TV right there at the bar! We watched all the NCAA games right there, with the tiki torches lit and all. Also love the 2 outdoor grills, with everything we needed to grill our meals and serve buffet style right outside at the bar. This place was a great surprise and we'd definitely go back . . . I only gave it 4 stars because I think the bathrooms were the only thing left out in the "redo/update". They are not awful, just not brand new . . .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

Hi,
I stayed in the Coconut Grove Hotel in January 2010 for a company conference. The Hotel is OK but not great. The rooms and furnishings seemed a bit dated, the bathroom too. Breakfast was very limited and food was not great.
The Gym and Spa facilities however are very good something to enjoy after long meetings.
The location of the hotel is nice at the seafront, so make sure you get a room facing that side and stay away from the lifts as they are noisy.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

Our family and another family with young children stayed here over Labor Day weekend. We were very pleasantly surprised. We chose this rental for many reasons, but weren't sure until we arrived that we had made the best choice. When we walked in the door we found that it was so much nicer than the pictures on the website showed. We cooked all of our meals and had plenty of space. We ate several meals at the very pleasant outside tables. We enjoyed the pool thoroughly and appreciated the short, three-block walk to the beach. It is a quiet location and the unit was well-stocked. The management was extremely accomodating. They even went out and purchased a DVD-player for our use. The rental company was very good to work with as well. Overall, it was a wonderful experience and the group unanimously agreed to return for a future vacation!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove

Address: 606 Bay Esplanade, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coconut Grove Vacation Condominiums are located in the Quiet North Clearwater Beach Area. Just three short blocks to the beach or stay and enjoy yourself pool side at the on-site pool. In addition there is a large open sand pit area, gas grill and tables. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Hotel Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.