We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Location with Wonderful People” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Wave Motel Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clearwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Wave Motel Suites
Save
You added Blue Wave Motel Suites to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   440 East Shore Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Awesome Location with Wonderful People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Just back from our "Phillies & Golf" trip and we can wait to get back to stay at the Blue Wave. It is right in the middle of all the action so besides the game & golf, we walked to great restaurants, shopping and drinks.
Gayle and Rodney could not do enough for us. If you needed it and it wasn't in your room, Rodney gave it to you. Beach towels, hair dryer, fresh towels, bikes, chairs etc. They made you feel right at home.
The bedroom has one comfortable bed with flat screen TV and plenty of space for clothes, nice size shower in the bathroom and the living area with kitchen had nice tv with sofa bed and little kitchen table. There is no room service each day but when we checked into our room - it couldn't have been cleaner. You can get fresh towels every day - twice a day if you wanted them.
Now - this is a small motel - only nine rooms and not the Ritz Carlton so if you are looking for glamorous - pay ALOT more money for a condo in a high rise. But if you want a great mom & pop top motel that is clean and in a fabulous location - stay here.
We are definitely coming back.

Room Tip: Room # 6 is right next to the outside deck which is great if you like going out there but bad becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    11
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
21
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Room was good for a short stay...that was not my priority.. The owners were special people who were very friendly and helpful with suggestions of what to do in the area! Traveling alone and felt very safe.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We have stayed at the Bluewave now for 5 years and always come back. The location is great and there is always something to see from the rooftop deck.The kitchen has everything you need and a gas range is nice for cooking breakfast etc. Rodney Gayle and Al are all extremely nice people and always make us feel at home. I would recommend this motel to anyone who wants a nice clean place that they can relax and enjoy cooking their own food instead of having to eat out all the time. You are right in the middle of all the action to and can walk to the bars and leave your car at the motel! A nice place to stay you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: room 6 is our favourite and right beside the roof deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We discovered Blue Wave Motel a few years back when we lived in Orlando and escaped to Clearwater Beach for the weekend. Gayle and Rodney could not be more helpful and hospitable. We have moved to Boynton Beach, but everytime we go to the Blue Wave Motel, it is like better than going to visit family!

The Lauers'

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
felkera, Manager at Blue Wave Motel Suites, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Bonnie:
Everyone here at Blue Wave Suites thank you for your kind words about our Motel. Thanks again and see you soon.

Capt. Al, Rodney and Gayle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My brother and I had just arrived and needed a place to drop off the bags before going out. Looked up the reviews and the price and gave the place a call. Got directions from Rodney and it was great from there. Rodney greeted us with a nice cold beer and checked us into room 6 (right next to the awesome deck) and really made us feel welcome. The room was great, nicely renovated and clean. The small kitchen area would be perfect if you wanted to bring some food back for grilling or making coffee in the morning. We only could stay for one night, but having a room for the great price on a Friday night at no notice was amazing. Two blocks from the beach, definitely coming back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I recently stayed with my daughter, mother and aunt for our first trip to Clearwater for 2 nights. The motel is clean and well maintained. There is abundant parking. There is access to beautiful beach in just minutes by foot. They have beach chairs, umbrellas, towels, etc available for use.
Rodney was fantastic and clearly committed to providing a nice experience for all of us. He recommended a few places to eat, provided directions, checked in to make sure we were comfortable and even bought a few cookies for my daughters birthday.
There is some construction on the street, which left a bit of dust but wasn't too much of a bother.
A few issues were noted such as pitiful water pressure in the shower, window treatments that provided shade but were a too transparent for changing in the evening, etc.. While clearly placed to add to the room's decor, our room had about 5-6 stuffed toy animals. Others might find them charming but I found them dusty and a bit disgusting.
Overall a very pleasant experience stay at the Blue Wave Motel. We'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We booked our trip based on the excellent reviews. Received a call several days before our arrival from Gayle apoligizing about the road work and said she understood if we decide not to stay but if we do she would give us a substantial discount which she did. When we arrived, the road work was not nearly as bad as we imagined and suprisingly quiet. The highlight of the trip was when Rodney put together a cookout for the guests staying at motel! Very nice people and clean place to stay. Rodney suggested a number of great reasonable places to eat in the area...insider knowledge of local places to eat & drink. Last time we were in Clearwater beach we stayed at the Sandpearl Hotel nice place to stay but expensive and impersonal. The owners at the Blue Wave motel go out of their way to make sure their guests are very confortable...very nice personal touch! Hilda

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Wave Motel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Wave Motel Suites

Address: 440 East Shore Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#19 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#27 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Wave Motel Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are newly remodeled one bedroom suites with very high quality appointments like Granite counter tops in complete kitchen, wood cabinets, full size refrigerator with ice maker, 4 burner gas stove. Tile floor to ceiling in bathroom. Some suites have Intercoastal Waterway view. Guests gather at our Roof Top Terrace for drinks and watch the sunset on the Gulf of Mexico with music. Our favorite gathering spot has view of the Gulf and Intercoastal waterway. Only 10 rooms at this cute Mom and Pop friendly resort all suite motel. Get twice the room, for half the price of the Hilton and Sandpearl Hotels across the street. Friendly service and help with all your vacation needs is why our Guests return, and never a charge for parking, playpens, beach chairs and maid service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Wave Hotel Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Wave Motel Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.