We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Wave Motel Suites

Save Saved
You added Blue Wave Motel Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Blue Wave Motel Suites
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   440 East Shore Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 95 hotels in Clearwater
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We have been asking around for a Nice and affordable Motel and discovered the "Blue Wave" near the Hilton Hotel. The Blue Wave is One Minute Walk away from the beautiful Clear Water beach and 2 min away from Pier 60. the Hotel owner is One of the nicest and Most relaxed guys ever, and directly showed us the Hotel room (or better Appartement, as it has 2 rooms, a Kitchen with fridge, microwave and Gas oven. All rooms are clean, and for a Motel Quite stylsih with State of the Art Furniture and flat tv (Most Motels in Florida Feature the Furniture of their buildtime). Definatly One of the better Motel around, i would Reccomend it and come back any Time !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan f, Manager at Blue Wave Motel Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about Bluewave Motel. Our cozy motel appreciates honest and kind review. Hope to see you soon.
Gayle and Rodney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    10
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We travelled around Florida doing some of the tourist things in June 2012 when we came across this motel near Clearwater Beach. This is a beautiful beach and we decided to go back and stay, using this motel as an overnight stop.

It's not a palace. It's convenient for a great beach with parking at the front for the hire car. The rooms are basic, the air-conditioning a bit noisy but it was clean and comfortable with great hosts. There were a few shops (including groceries if you want to do self catering), nice bars or restaurants nearby and a pleasant view of the sunset from the roof-top balcony after a great day on the beach. We had a good sleep here and then back to the villa in Orlando the following morning.

If you need anything, they'll point you in the right direction or some things like hairdrier, beach chairs, toys might be available to borrow.

If you need a bed for the night near Clearwater, this is perfectly fine. We'd have stayed longer but there was a hurricane on its way! Time to get gone...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was our first trip to Clearwater and first stay at the Blue Wave Motel. I was looking for a place that was near the beach, did not cost a fortune, could accommodate our family of 6, had a kitchen, and provided beach supplies (since we were flying to FL). Blue Wave met our needs perfectly. You cannot beat the location...a very easy walk to the beach, Pier 60, and restaurants. Also the section of beach was ideal, not in front of one of the big hotels...we often had the beach to ourselves in the morning. As far as our room, we had the corner suite, which was nice, clean, and tastefully decorated. Rodney and Gayle had set us up with a futon bunk bed, in addition to the pull-out couch, and the kids (ages 2-10) were excited to take turns sleeping in the top bunk. (I will say, the kids all crashed every night...they slept great!) Rodney and Gayle really went above and beyond making sure we had everything we needed (extra towels, chairs, etc). The kitchen was well equipped, and there was a Publix just 1/2 mile away, which saved us a good deal on meal expenses. If there was anything we needed, all we had to do was ask. Which brings me to the beach supplies...I wasn't really expecting much, but it far exceeded my expectations. The beach towels were very nice, there were tons of beach chairs to choose from, several umbrellas and tents, a float that my boys played on for hours, some sand toys...they even gave us sunscreen. (I'll try to upload a photo of us on the beach that shows some of the nice 'stuff'.)

A few other details...the shower is a large stand-up, not a tub combo, which was fine for us, but might be an issue for some families. My only complaint is that the water pressure was not great. There is an outdoor shower for rinsing sand off, and laundry facilities available. The AC in the unit is in the bedroom, with an opening in the shared bedroom/living room wall for the cool air to blow thru. The ceiling fan blades in the LR had had to be removed due to the bunkbed, so the LR was a bit warmer than the bedroom...again, not a big deal to us. The TVs in the bedroom and living rooms were very nice/big/modern. There is no pool, but if you did want a pool, there was a big, nice, city pool with slides a short walk away...visitor admission was $3/adults and $2/kids.

We had a great time and I've already recommended Blue Wave to friends considering a beach vacation to Florida.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our suite was very clean and spacious, with a nice kitchen and a comfortable sleeping room. The motel has no pool and is located in a quiet street 3 minutes walk from the beach und 5 minutes walk from the pier. Nice restaurants within walking distance.
Beach towels and chairs are provided. I did like a lot the beach towels which (to me) seemed to be from the '70s! Something different from all the other hotels in Florida!
The pullout sofa in the kitchen is not that comfortable, I would say it is ok for children to sleep but adults could have problems. Only the bed sheets were a little bit too used, I would suggest to buy new ones! Towels in the bathroom were good.
Very nice owner and staff.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is the second year we stayed at the Blue Wave and I am already missing it and can't wait to go back again. This is a great place to stay not only for location but the rooms are perfect. Rodney and Gayle are the best! It is like visiting family! I would highly recommend staying here..you can't get such great customer service along with a great place to stay for this price and location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I am not one to EVER write reviews but I had to say something about my stay at the Blue Wave Motel. I have never experienced such great service and friendly people anywhere else! Gayle was so accommodating and made sure all our needs were met and we had everything we needed and our stay was pleasant. This was the first time we traveled with my youngest son Sebastian (who turned 1 year old the day we arrived) and I was very impressed that the motel had a pack and play we could use for him during our stay. I can not tell you enough how great these people are and we plan on returning every year as a family tradition. I would definitely recommend them to anyone wanting a stress free vacation at the beach. We can't wait to go back and enjoy another family vacation with the Blue Wave Motel staff!

Room Tip: All their rooms are great so you can choose any of them! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had such a great time staying at the Blue Wave motel. Gayle is wonderful and so friendly! Rodney is there to hlep with anything you need, including suggestions of great things to do in Clearwater Beach! The Tommy Bahama room is beautiful! I want to decorate my bathroom at home just like the one there! Prices are great for being a block from the beach! You can't beat the value!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Wave Motel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Wave Motel Suites

Also Known As:
Blue Wave Hotel
Blue Wave Hotel Clearwater
Address: 440 East Shore Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#8 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#37 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Wave Motel Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are newly remodeled one bedroom suites with very high quality appointments like Granite counter tops in complete kitchen, wood cabinets, full size refrigerator with ice maker, 4 burner gas stove. Tile floor to ceiling in bathroom. Some suites have Intercoastal Waterway view. Guests gather at our Roof Top Terrace for drinks and watch the sunset on the Gulf of Mexico with music. Our favorite gathering spot has view of the Gulf and Intercoastal waterway. Only 10 rooms at this cute Mom and Pop friendly resort all suite motel. Get twice the room, for half the price of the Hilton and Sandpearl Hotels across the street. Friendly service and help with all your vacation needs is why our Guests return, and never a charge for parking, playpens, beach chairs and maid service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Wave Motel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Wave Motel Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.