We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Wave Motel Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clearwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Wave Motel Suites
Save Saved
You added Blue Wave Motel Suites to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   440 East Shore Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Friendly and clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our suite was very clean and spacious, with a nice kitchen and a comfortable sleeping room. The motel has no pool and is located in a quiet street 3 minutes walk from the beach und 5 minutes walk from the pier. Nice restaurants within walking distance.
Beach towels and chairs are provided. I did like a lot the beach towels which (to me) seemed to be from the '70s! Something different from all the other hotels in Florida!
The pullout sofa in the kitchen is not that comfortable, I would say it is ok for children to sleep but adults could have problems. Only the bed sheets were a little bit too used, I would suggest to buy new ones! Towels in the bathroom were good.
Very nice owner and staff.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    11
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is the second year we stayed at the Blue Wave and I am already missing it and can't wait to go back again. This is a great place to stay not only for location but the rooms are perfect. Rodney and Gayle are the best! It is like visiting family! I would highly recommend staying here..you can't get such great customer service along with a great place to stay for this price and location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I am not one to EVER write reviews but I had to say something about my stay at the Blue Wave Motel. I have never experienced such great service and friendly people anywhere else! Gayle was so accommodating and made sure all our needs were met and we had everything we needed and our stay was pleasant. This was the first time we traveled with my youngest son Sebastian (who turned 1 year old the day we arrived) and I was very impressed that the motel had a pack and play we could use for him during our stay. I can not tell you enough how great these people are and we plan on returning every year as a family tradition. I would definitely recommend them to anyone wanting a stress free vacation at the beach. We can't wait to go back and enjoy another family vacation with the Blue Wave Motel staff!

Room Tip: All their rooms are great so you can choose any of them! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had such a great time staying at the Blue Wave motel. Gayle is wonderful and so friendly! Rodney is there to hlep with anything you need, including suggestions of great things to do in Clearwater Beach! The Tommy Bahama room is beautiful! I want to decorate my bathroom at home just like the one there! Prices are great for being a block from the beach! You can't beat the value!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Great place. Very clean... looks like everything has been revamped. Very convenient and close to great restaurants. A three minute walk to the ocean... doesn't get any better unless you want to pay top dollar at the beachfront hotels. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard, WI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in the corner suite. It was nice to be on the end and have extra window. As the other reviews Gayle and Rodney are very friendly and helpful. It was a short walk to the beautiful beach, shops and dining. The suite was clean except for the floors...after walking around in socks for an hour...the bottoms were black (yuck). The bathroom did not have an outlet so you are not able to plug dryers etc in in the bathroom. Not the worst but nice to be able to get ready in the bathroom. Overall, its a nice place to stay if you don't want to be on the beach and have a kitchen to save some money on meals.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan f, Manager at Blue Wave Motel Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Most guest feel like you, a nice place and nice price. Hope to see you soon.
Gayle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Unit 1 was a sweet place, very clean & staff are very accommodating! I wanted a vintage feel motel & I got it! Not crowded or noisy! Very quiet. My only suggestion is to redo rooftop w new plants & clean. Great place for a couple or small family of 3-4. Kitchen is great, furniture is updated & new!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan f, Manager at Blue Wave Motel Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
The Staff at Blue Wave Motel thanks you for your great review. Most guests agree that the hotel has a great location. We hope to see you soon
Gayle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Wave Motel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Wave Motel Suites

Address: 440 East Shore Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#24 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#26 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Wave Motel Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are newly remodeled one bedroom suites with very high quality appointments like Granite counter tops in complete kitchen, wood cabinets, full size refrigerator with ice maker, 4 burner gas stove. Tile floor to ceiling in bathroom. Some suites have Intercoastal Waterway view. Guests gather at our Roof Top Terrace for drinks and watch the sunset on the Gulf of Mexico with music. Our favorite gathering spot has view of the Gulf and Intercoastal waterway. Only 10 rooms at this cute Mom and Pop friendly resort all suite motel. Get twice the room, for half the price of the Hilton and Sandpearl Hotels across the street. Friendly service and help with all your vacation needs is why our Guests return, and never a charge for parking, playpens, beach chairs and maid service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Wave Hotel Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Wave Motel Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.