We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a little Gem!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Wave Motel Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blue Wave Motel Suites to your Saves list
Blue Wave Motel Suites
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   440 East Shore Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
2014 Best Remodel
Ranked #12 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“What a little Gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed in the Tommy Bahama suite, and loved it! A large suite, with separate living/dining area, well-appointed kitchen, good size bedroom and shower room. More than adequate for a relaxing week. As others have said, one of the most endearing things about the place is the attitude of Gayle and Rodney -lovely people! Also a great deck area to sit around, shooting the breeze with new found friends, and enjoy a few sundowners. We thought it was a little gem! The memory of the night we had an impromptu B-B-Q with a group of Canadian guests will stay with us for a long time, it probably will with Gayle too!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan f, Manager at Blue Wave Motel Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate being called a Gem. hope to see you soon.
Gayle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    13
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
26
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Gayle will bend over backwards to be sure you have a great time. She helped us out with parking a trailer and getting a cookie sheet, finding housing for a friend, etc. Location is awesome. Walk to beach, restaurants, Pier 60. With a bike you can get all over the island and more. We had the Tommy Bahama suite. I love having a kitchen and separate bedroom. Saves on eating out, hubby can watch tv, while I go in bedroom to read. Best price I could find for the quality. Doesn't have a pool - but that didn't matter to us. Enjoyed the deck tremendously.

Room Tip: I would recommend being upstairs and seeing if the Tommy Bahama suite is available - a nice upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan f, Manager at Blue Wave Motel Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We are so thrilled you had a great time at Blue Wave Motel Suites. Most of our Guest do have a great time. and thanks for letting us know. Hope to see you soon.
Gayle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I recently came back from a little Florida escapade I took with my three year old little girl. We stayed at Blue Wave for 5 nights and thouroughly enjoyed our stay! The place was reasonably spacious, nicely appointed and very clean! Had I not come with my little girl, I probably would've preferred to stay on the second floor so that I couldve gotten more sunlight (I left the blinds closed most of the time so people walking by couldnt see in our place) and would've prevented the couple of nights where the neighbours stomped around bit during the night, but being with her, it was useful as I could just go out the door with the stroller without having to do any stairs. There are many great things about this place by the best are location and the staff. You can walk everywhere! It is 1.5 blocks away from the beach (a 5 minute walk at most), close to the Marina, the Pier, the store sand restaurants. We even walked to the Aquarium without a problem. The only time we took our car was to do groceries (though even that is walkable, we just didnt want to lug around the grocery bags). The two people who manage the place and the front desk, Gayle and Rodney are just awesome! Always smiling, always ready to help. They were both so sweet to my little girl, made us feel right at home. I would not hesitate to suggest to this place to anyone, especially considering the prices around there, I don't think it gets better than that :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan f, Manager at Blue Wave Motel Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks for you kind review and we really appreciate the nice things you say about the staff. Hope to see you soon,
Gayle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Visiting parents in Florida and decided to drive an hour to Clearwater Beach for a little get-away. Planned to stay at a chain hotel, but figured for one night we could try a "mom & pop". The Blue Wave was referred to us by the local visitor bureau. Would have liked to have stayed another night! Was a cute suite - immaculate - and great location to walk to restaurants, beach, shopping and entertainment. Would have liked a more comfortable mattress and a hairdryer, but the staff was amazing and the price was right! We will be back! The manager was a hoot and the bookkeeper was a lot of fun to talk to. She had just acquired a rescue dog, named "Dexter", and Dexter added to the charm of our stay! Would love to go out with these people on our next trip if they are not working!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan f, Manager at Blue Wave Motel Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Everyone loves a nice suprise. Hope to see you soon
Gayle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely stay here. The location is perfect for the beach, restaurants and shops. Gayle and Rodney such lovely, helpful people. They are full of knowledge on Clearwater, places to visit and things to do. The terrace is a lovely area to relax and chill in the evening. Would certainly return to this motel next time I'm in Clearwater. Added bonus is the reasonable cost.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan f, Manager at Blue Wave Motel Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We appreciate positive review and it we glad you fee we have an excellent location, clean and helpful staff. We are here to make sure all our guest feel like you do about our cute little motel.
Gayle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

After reading the reviews I was in total shock after walking into the Dolphin Cabin! It was disgusting. I felt dirty just walking in! I look first at the bathroom and it was beyond dirty! The toilet had urine all over it, the sink had hair hair in it from someone shaving. I then looked at the livingroom. The chair was stained and dirty. It looked like it had been dug out from a dumpster and put in there. I had decided at that point I was not staying there. As I was leaving I had to pass the bed on the front porch. I pulled the sheets back and found it full of hair! That was the end for me! The cabin and it contents are wore out and dirty. I went back to the office and talked with Gayle. I told her I understand that the cabin is old but there is a difference between old and just plain dirty. She was very nice let me look at two rooms at the actual motel. Those two rooms were better than that cabin! We stayed in the Tommy Suite. There was still a few things that could have been cleaner but it was acceptable. The kitchen sink faucet handle was broke and would fall off everytime we tried to use it. The shower tile had white soap marks all over. The air conditioner filters had not been cleaned forever! Gayle was what made the whole stay. When it comes to customer service I give her 5 stars. She went out of her way to help and she is what makes the place. We didn't really get to talk to Rodney. As far as the motel/cabins go I would not ever stay there again. If you decide to stay here make sure you stay at the hotel and not the cabins. Ask to look at the room before you pay because they do not refund your money!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NurseGayle, Manager at Blue Wave Motel Suites, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
After reading the great reviews on the Blue Wave, this family, at the last minute, chose to stay in a cottage instead. They were mistakenly given keys to the wrong cottage as the Dolphin was yet to be cleaned by housekeeping.

After their disappointment, they were not interested in another cottage so they were offered a choice of suites at the Blue Wave or a FULL refund. They were winding down from a hectic time spent in Orlando and wanted a lazy beach day with the children before driving home.They chose to stay at the Blue Wave and It appeared as though they enjoyed themselves and were comfortable and content.

Our sole intention was to give them a positive last impression of the hospitality on Clearwater Beach.

While I apologize, once again, for any & all inconveniences, I am so sad that this guest felt it necessary to attack the Blue Wave and it's unblemished reputation.

Gayle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Birthday by the beach with fun for all ages only a few steps away. Close to everything! ...yet very reasonable priced. Rodney greets you with genuine enthusiasm and is friendly and helpful. We got a full weekend with late check out due to low season. My 3 & 1/2 y/o and husband had a blast! This is the place my family, which includes a native from St Pete., will come back to when staying at Clearwater Beach.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Wave Motel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Wave Motel Suites

Address: 440 East Shore Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#10 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#30 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Wave Motel Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms were newly remodeled in 2015 with King Koil Mattresses and Sofabeds. All units are one bedroom suites with very high quality appointments like Granite counter tops in complete kitchen, wood cabinets, full size refrigerator with ice maker, 4 burner gas stove. Tile floor to ceiling in bathroom. Some suites have Intercoastal Waterway view. Tommy Bahama Suite features all Tommy Bahama Furniture, Murphy Bed and can sleep 6 guests. The Jungle Room features bunk beds, and Jungle Theme, great for famiies with kids and sleeps 6. Guests gather at our Roof Top Terrace for drinks and watch the sunset on the Gulf of Mexico with music. Our favorite gathering spot has view of the Gulf and Intercoastal waterway. Only 10 rooms at this cute Mom and Pop friendly resort all suite motel. Get twice the room, for half the price of the Hilton and Sandpearl Hotels across the street. Friendly service and help with all your vacation needs is why our Guests return, and never a charge for parking, playpens, beach chairs and maid service. Important information for Reservations: We do NOT partner with Travelocity, Expedia or any other booking agents. Please call Motel direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Blue Wave Motel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Wave Hotel Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Wave Motel Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.