We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth the hunt” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bait House

Bait House
45 Causeway Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767
727-446-8134
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 591 Restaurants in Clearwater
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the hunt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I like out of the way, not your usual tourist places...and this was a bit of a search in the marina but well worth it. It's a small dock with simple tables and chairs looking over the causeway and marina. The staff were friendly and food was fresh. Although I would have liked to hear the specials of the day before I ordered but no matter, I enjoyed just sitting quietly and watching the loons and herrings go by.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    58
    20
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Missing value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in on a Saturday afternoon. Outside temp was warm enough to sit outside and enjoy the sunshine. Loved this aspect of the venue.

Very rustic and the name "the Bait House" is a fitting description. This met all expectations for a very casual dockside experience.

The beer was cold and the servers were friendly and efficient.

We ordered blackened wahou that was served with "tavern chips" and cole slaw.

The fish was VERY tasty and seasoned just right - however, there was just so little of it. The slaw was very dry and bland. Additionally, the "tavern chips" bordered on stale and seemed as if they were nothing more than kettle chips from a bag. Based upon the menu billing, I was expecting at least homemade and fresh cut potatoes.

The only way I would return is to simply enjoy a cold beer and a dockside view.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best hidden place in clearwater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Get away from the tourist traps and enjoy real authentic sea food from tampa bay. The Bait house was the highlight of our trip to Clearwater! Fresh caught fish at affordable prices right on the water. Best shrip we ever had!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice surprise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We 'happened upon' this small baithouse and restaurant while walking along the pier in the marina. It does not look like a restaurant but if you walk through the baithouse to the back there is a small bar and tables. The seafood is fresh!! We shared the blackened grouper platter and clam chowder....both excellent. Great service!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxford, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We visited earlier today. What an amazing experience. Don't be fooled by the looks of the place. Food is great, service is awesome and the scenery is great. I would go back in a heartbeat! Don't miss out...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bait House also viewed

 

Been to Bait House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bait House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.