We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget the Marriott, this is MUCH better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 South Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
One Suite Deal
Ranked #10 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
GreenLeadersGold level
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Forget the Marriott, this is MUCH better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This Hyatt exceeded my expectations on every level. The pool, the beach, the service, the food was excellent, and I've stayed all over the world. I left a nearby hotel that was free (with points) because of numerous problems, had to pay for the Hyatt, but I was not disappointed one iota! Breakfast buffet was the best I've ever seen. Coming back in October for stay #2! Loved the free washer/dryer use, and the clean towels you can even take to the beach.

Room Tip: Deluxe Ocean view the best for quiet, and less hall traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our property with us. It’s a delight to read that you had an excellent stay. I’m glad that you enjoyed the service and found the food to be excellent. We have a great property that has a lot to offer our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again in October!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    313
    109
    24
    19
See reviews for
486
378
19
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Although I already reviewed this hotel last year, I have stayed again 5-6 times since then, and this is my place of choice for Tampa/St.Pete.

Great views, great rooms, close to beaches, close to work, I am a returning customer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your review. We're always delighted to hear what keeps our guests coming back. We look forward to your next visit.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I never review a hotel before I check out, but I was too excited to share my experience. My new husband and I decided instead of a traditional honeymoon we would go on a " road trip adventure" so to speak. We drove almost 8 hours in from the panhandle and were so tired we couldn't think straight. Being spontaneous, we decided we would book at this hotel on Clearwater Beach. The immediate, welcoming, first class treatment given at check-in by Nick and Jess was refreshing . I have not had a better greeting from any hotel I have stayed at in the past. It really felt as if they were happy to see us and appreciated our service. Within 20 minutes of check in I had to call to add another night because of these guys. The icing on the cake for us was after searching for our bank card and rental car keys, just losing our minds from tiredness, there was a champagne amenity at our door with a card saying " a little something to help us relax" . Perfect timing, Nick!I haven't even explored the property yet, but already know I will definitely come back for the first class service

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. We're thrilled to hear Nick and Jess were able to help you feel comfortable and relaxed after the long drive. Please feel free to contact us if you need any future assistance.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

They Hyatt is in a perfect place with in walking distance to the beach, shops, restaurants. And if you wish to go further away they can call the trolly that picks you up and all you do is tip! Their rooms were simple yet elegant. Everything was very clean. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at our property. We have a great location that is right across from the beach and within walking distance to several shops and restaurants. We have very spacious guestrooms that come with fully equipped kitchens and balconies. Your recommendation is our greatest compliment. I hope we can welcome you back to our property in the near future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, West Yorshire, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Hyatt

Stayed two nights this weekend in a deluxe 2 bedroom suite.

Check in was efficient

Room is stunning though did expect to be at the back if the hotel over looking the gulf. Evidently those rooms that do aren't as good rooms.

The pool area is excellent. Though on Friday the majority of it was cordoned off for a private function - complaint going in on that one!

Sat by the pool bar called swim. 25 mins for a waitress to come over. Saying that ... Maybe having 4 tables with people on is busy for Kimberley. Throughout the afternoon we had to keep asking for service rather than bring asked!

The guacamole was lovely though!

On Friday night it was noticeable if a guest wasn't part of neon lights group - the staff don't care!

We reported our coffee machine isn't working and was told it would be replaced. Saturday morning ... We're still waiting.

The beds a wonderful. The jacuzzi bath was superb.

Saturday late morning coffee maker was replaced.

The breakfast in the cafe over the road is superb. Better tasting and pricing than Hyatt.

16th floor sky deck is great. Seating and beds are very comfy. Eventually towells were put out at 1130.

Down on the beach the umbrellas are not the hotel's but belong to the city. $25 a day for two chairs and one umbrella. The sand is like power.

Drinks in swim, the pool bar, was a much better experience with Sandy from New York serving us.

Check out this morning was so simple. It's the one thing that Hyatt have got right. It's a self service screen but could be located away from the main reception to avoid big queues

All in all its not as good as other hyatts. The staff just aren't good enough. Although the car Parker valet guys are good.

Good room but the staff aren't good enough to make it a true 5* and I reckon would just struggle to be a 4*

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This trip was our family's first time staying in a hotel while vacationing. This hotel has an excellent location in relation to being only a hop-skip-and-a-jump from the warm and wonderful waters of the Gulf of Mexico as well as to Clearwaters' Peir 60 where you will find live entertainment, trinkets galore and fisherman reeling in flounder. It is a large hotel with lots of activity going on in the afternoon and evening hours. There have been private functions booked here within the hotel every night of our our stay so far (wedding, private party and jewelry show) so the lobby is abuzz with the noise and hustle and bustle of these events. After spending 4 nights prior in the Hilton Orlando, this was our only basis of comparison. The Hyatt is a pricey hotel that looks good but doesn't really provide the equivalent in terms of comfort, service or appeal; especially coming from a hotel that did. The room is very nicely laid out and the view is pretty good too (we are on the 14th floor, right side of the building) and the kitchenette helps keep cost of eating out to a minimum. However, the kitchenette contains one pot and one frying pan; only 1 cup, plate, bowl for each guest. It did contain enough cutlery and a cutting board and 3 storage bowls. The refrigerator and microwave/convection oven is the best part of the kitchenette. The bed is saggy and not very comfortable and our linens were average (even holes in several places on the top cover). They will provide new towels and linen daily IF you request it otherwise they do not. The drawers are few and very small so could not unload our suitcases entirely. Watching TV in the evening was annoying as the hotel still operates on analog and no digital picture. They informed us they will be changing that a year and a half from now. Also there was a high pitched whistle within the room coming from the air pressure between patio door and entry door so we placed a towel at the base of the entry door to stop the travel of air and this stopped the high-pitched whistle. Hardly have seen any staff so can't really rate them other than to say that when we requested instructions on how operate the tv on digital vs. analog they said they would send an "engineer" and 45 minutes plus later, someone still had not showed up. We had to leave for the evening so never did see the "engineer". The decor is pleasant. The pool is unappealing after our experience at Hilton Orlando and there was a party going on around it the evening we went to explore it (very loud music and a hoard of guests). The pictures of this amenity is misleading. Great location but considering the price and reputation, really disappointing in terms of what is lacking. We would not stay at this facility again considering the price to quality comparison.

Room Tip: room NOT overlooking the pool area would be better due to high noise level from activity at the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The basic room was Premium King and was very nice. It stated it had a full kitchen but lacked basic items such as dish towels, washing up liquid, I mention these as there was no dishwasher. There was no kettle, had to boil water in a pan. No paper towels. There were plenty of plates, glasses and cutlery. TV reception was poor. There was a small bin under the sink for garbage with no bin liners. The rest of the room was spacious, clean and modern. The reception staff were friendly and helpful as we're the bell boys.
Be aware of the car park and resort fees that added $88 for 2 days. The Hyatt is a business hotel and reflected this in the many convention rooms.
Recommended.

Room Tip: Don't book direct use Tripadvisor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 301 South Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#2 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#6 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Hotel Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.