We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time guest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 South Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
One Suite Deal
Ranked #10 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
GreenLeadersGold level
NC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“First time guest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We usually rent a house or condo while in the area, but decided to try the Hyatt due to location. The location is excellent. Don't let the road between the beach and the resort influence you as it is not an issue at all. The personnel was excellent, (probably the most accomodating and friendly of all the resorts that I have visited. That will be the reason that I will consider this resort on all future visits. The price was okay, definately not a bargain, especially with added parking and resort fees. We rented the 2br/ 3bath suite which was large and exceptionally furnished. I do not understand designing a hotel that puts the largest and most expensive room with the worst views in the hotel, though. The view was not good at all. The linen service was not good. At the most we got one wash cloth per person, but they were quick to bring more when requested. The trash was emptied in the kitchen occasionally. The worst was getting around in the motel. I could not go across the hotel to the gym without going to another floor and changing elevators, the same for parking. The pool was small and on the 8th floor with the very small hottub on a different floor. Other than the obvious design layout flaws, this is very nice hotel that we will try to return to, but will get a smaller suite with a better view.

Room Tip: If your party will fit into a smaller suite, book the gulffront. The larger suite has a limited vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    312
    108
    24
    19
See reviews for
485
377
19
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longwood, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

It should be a nice hotel, but it's beginning it's not really. We were woken up at 8:30am on a Saturday by housekeeping. She was knocking on all the doors, yelling, "Housekeeping," and got to ours at 8:45am. Yes, the walls are that thin. Obviously, she wants to go home early so she was trying to get the rooms started before any of the guests were up and moving. She was back at 9:45am. I appreciate a room being done before 5pm (which is the growing trend) but before 10am is ridiculous. People are on vacation! Later that weekend, we grabbed a snack at the grill/bar on the way to the beach. Our waiter disappeared much later showed up and said he totally forgot he had a table. My husband is a confirmed coffee snob and had their cappuccino. It's frothy with bubbles instead of crema and he says it is not fresh roasted. I know only real coffee drinkers will notice but I kinda expect better from a fancy resort hotel. Why bother having an expensive cappuccino if you don't know how to work it? Paint peeling on the ceiling of the shower. Dirty children's hand prints on the inside of the bathroom door. Writing on the mirror. And the hotel beach is disgusting! Maybe because it's summer but dirty diapers with feces, broken glass, beach toys, plastic, someone needs to clean up out there.

Room Tip: I'm ready to try another hotel. Perhaps the Hilton is nicer. It's the next hotel down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear InflatableBoat:

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa. We appreciate you taking these pictures, along with giving such detailed feedback about your most recent stay. We take your feedback very seriously, and would like to find out the room number you were in, so these issues may be corrected right away. Our housekeeping department will have the cleaning techniques reviewed, so the mirrors can be cleaned properly & our engineering department can fix the paint chip in the ceiling.

As stated from other guest reviews, the beach is a clean, white-sand beach. We're sorry the area of the beach you were relaxing on, was less than desirable.

Please feel free to contact me, as I would be happy to further discuss these issues with you. We hope to have a second opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

It was a great hotel in a good location. A bit pricey and the pool was not heated and it being on the roof was a bit weird but other amenities were very nice! Hotel breakfast was good. Can walk to a lot of places.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had our best Hotel stay ever. We experienced a friendly staff, a unique experience of several supplemental "cabana" air conditioned rooms available with tv, internet, and bathroom next to the swimming pools that are available to guests for a minimal charge so we didn't have to return to our room, outdoor restaurant with a romantic view of the sunset over the Gulf, pay parking garage shared with the public for a recently multi-million dollar beachfront renovation with free Friday and Saturday entertainment at Pier 60. One of several newer hotels in Clearwater Beach. Frequent bus transporation if you don't want to drive in the expected beach area traffic. Has a small gym with televisions, and hair salon.

Room Tip: We watched the Fourth of July fireworks from our balcony on the south side of the hotel overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Wow! Thank you for your wonderful review. We're pleased you enjoyed the cabanas and the amenities offered by the pool. Please feel free to contact us if you need any future assistance. We hope to hear from you soon.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 10 days from 14th July in a premium one bedroomed suite. Overall we had a great time, our room was extremely spacious, very clean and had a fully equipped kitchen with full size fridge, great for a family. The two bathrooms meant we could have one for the boys and one for the girls, very civilised! The bed was huge and very comfortable and the pull out sofabed was, I am reliably informed, very comfortable too. We used valet parking and found the service extremely reliable and convenient, called down 5 mins before leaving room and the car was always waiting at the front. We only ate in the hotel restaurant once and again found the food and service excellent.

However, even with all the positives there are unfortunately a few negatives too. The hotel's pool, located on the 8th floor, is woefully small for the size of hotel. The sunbeds are very crowded, I personally hate literally lying next to a complete stranger. There are no umbrellas and therefore very little shade. At a weekend it is a complete bunfight even trying to get into the pool to cool off, let alone attempt to swim. There does seem to be a very large contingent of, shall we say, middle aged american sunworshippers who start to gather on a Friday afternoon, sit on the steps of the pool, thereby hindering entry to the pool, and drink til the sun goes down getting louder and louder as time goes by. This doesnt really stop until they leave sometime on a sunday. If this was an adults only hotel then fine but it's not, there were many children around trying to have fun in the pool but having to negotiate drunken adults all the time, not good.

There is no private area on the beach, which is very easily accessed, reserved for hotel guests therefore you have get up at the crack of dawn in order to beat the locals to the beach, which again gets very crowded and resembles something more akin to a costa del sol beach. The current system of getting a ticket from the booth opposite the entrance to the hotel, beach side, and then trying to find an empty umbrella/chairs doesn't really work unless as I said previously you get there as the men are putting them out.

On checkout I found the hotel had added the resort fee to the bill despite the fact that it was included in the package. It was only because I has read a few reviews previously about this that I was on the lookout, however the hotel removed it as soon as it was pointed out to them.

Checkout is 11am though if the hotel is not busy you may get a later time if you ask. The hotel was very busy during July but we were given an hour longer. As our flight home was not until the evening we managed to secure a poolside cabana for the afternoon. Cabana facilities are generally good but there's no shower, very odd indeed. For a hotel of the calibre they want to be they really need to sort these facilities out. I have never been to a hotel where they are no washing facilities for people checking out but not leaving for many hours, quite incomprehensible.

Last one, I promise, poolside games, yuk, gone past all of that now as children are much older.

I always ask myself the same question at the end of a holiday, would I go back? I'm afraid the answer on this one is "no" as although the negatives are relatively few they are important. On holiday if you are not out visiting attractions you are generally at the hotel in/by the pool relaxing and because of the points made above this was not as relaxing as I would have liked.

Finishing on appositive note, the staff were very welcoming, courteous and very helpful, full marks.

These points/comments are purely my opinion and what I want/expect from a holiday costing the best part of £8000 for 10 days, not cheap, and therefore I would appreciate it if you took this particular point onboard. Perhaps I just made the wrong choice of hotel and should stick to minimum of 5 stars in the future.

Room Tip: Higher the floor the quieter it is though we didn't have a problem with noise, we were on 12th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in a deluxe bedroom room on a trip to Clearwater. This is a new Hyatt property right on the Cleawater beach close to the pier. The rooms are beautiful with a kitchen--including a full size refrigerator and dishwasher--and spacious bathroom. My wife loved the roominess to put on her make-up withour feeling cramped. The bed was very comfortable but the ac had trouble getting the room as cool as we would have liked. The ac was not broken but the room temperature was probably 72 degrees at the coolest. Due to its urban location, the property size is small for a resort. Some features are limited. There is only one regular size pool which gets crowded midday. And there is only one restaurant for this resort hotel. We ate one dinner in the restaurant. The food was excellent and the waiter attentive. It did not seem that they had trouble seating guests during the peak dining hours. There are boat excursions available just down the street from the hotel if you're into that form of entertainment. We traveled to nearby Tarpon Springs and took a boat tour while touring that Greek city. That was very relaxing. If you love water, this is a great place to stay at. And Hyatt service is top notch. If you want to explore the greater Tampa area, this is an out of the way hotel. Other hotels are better suited for that purpose.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORIDA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Our stay was July 15th thru 19th. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon around 5:00. Our 2-bedroom gulf front room was not ready but it only took about 30 mins for the room to be ready. We did receive a complimentary appetizer and drinks which was a very nice. The room did not disappoint and was wonderful. The view is fantastic and beaches are sparkling clean. The sunsets are breath taking. The hotel staff is very nice, friendly and helpful. The hotel is huge and with a gulf front room you will do a little bit of walking. I didn't mind at all. We had a corner suite on the 14 th floor. It was very quiet. During the week the crowds thin out but on the weekend it is very crowded so don't expect a secluded beach. The Hyatt is right in the middle of everything. A publix is less than a mile away to stock up on food for the full kitchen. Would like to comend the hotel management and staff for making our stay so enjoyable!! Would highly recommend this hotel and also I booked thru SniqueAway and received an amazing price for the 2-bedroom gulf front suite!!! Will also use them again. Just a few things to keep in mind. Resort fee is charged $25 a day. This is clearly stated when booking also states what it is for so I hate those reviews that complain about that. Valet is $20 a day. We had no issues at all. We called before we left the room and our vehicle was always waiting in front for us. Well worth the money. Also about the pool and beach towels. You will receive a card to check out a towel. When you are done, turn it back in and you get the card back. If not you will get charged. I don't know why people have complained about this. This is an upscale resort! No different from other resorts we have stayed at. I am pretty sure some people just like to complain!! None here!!!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear VILLA7226:

Thank you for going out of your way to share your detailed review about your stay at our Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed watching the beautiful sunsets from your corner suite. Hyatt takes pride with our associates offering great customer service. We will make sure to recognize our employees for the tremendous customer service. Your referral is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 301 South Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#6 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Hotel Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.