We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was terrible” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shephard's Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Shephard's Beach Resort to your Saves list
Shephard's Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   619 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #47 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Clinton, Iowa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service was terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

1. Our air conditioning went out our first night. When we called, no one ever came to look at it. 2. We needed a wake up call for 4 am since we had an early flight, no one ever called, almost missed our flight.3. They also told us since we booked very early, they would waive our resort fee. I asked them at check-in and they said it looked like they did. Well, at check-out, their computers weren't up yet, and would email our receipt. Well, guess what, the fees were on there. 4. Our remote for the TV never worked.5. Could never get the wifi to work.
On the plus side, the room was nice. The entertainment was great and so was the food. The beach is small and you can rent 2 chair and umbrella for $25 a day.

Room Tip: There is live music every night. We were far enough away, but on Sunday night, we could still hear m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    34
    11
    11
    15
See reviews for
23
47
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We checked in On April 30 at around 1 PM, the room wasn't quite ready but the bell hop took our bags and stored them until we got a call that the room was ready, actually gave us a chance to walk the grounds a bit.
We did get the room I requested, top floor in the middle of the new building with a great view.

Once settled in we went down to pool area sat at the bar ordered a drink (which could of been a bit stronger) and ordered some appitizers which were great.

We did not do the buffet, it was just to much to eat at one siting but it did look great.

The bands they had were great but di play until 3 in the morning so if you don't like music to that late do not get a Gulf-view room, otherwise we had no complaints..would I do it again? Without a doubt!

Room Tip: Gulf View was a bit loud at night but what we expected
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a minor issue which occasionally springs up during our travels or in restaurants, shops or hotels in the US because of our diplomatic status. If You're a diplomat you can guess the story.

Foreign diplomats are exempt from paying taxes in the US. This law usually upholds and applies almost everywhere in the US yet occasionally proprietors of establishments do not know about it.

This in itself is never a problem. Usually we accept it when they don't know and we pay the unnecessary taxes to avoid a long conversation and move on with our fun. In this case we had informed the hotel while booking and it was a piece of cake. 

Upon arrival things were different. We asked the polite lady at the front desk to speak to someone more senior (in the hopes that they may be familiar with our tax exempt card or our reservation for that matter). 

What we got was Kody Peer.  We were greeted without even a "Hello".  A very edgy Kody  began to object to our card before we could speak. My husband told her, "why don't we begin by saying good afternoon?" She then smiled and touched his arm patronizingly in a gesture of fake familiarity of endearment as if speaking to a child. Nice! But then in an agitated manner quickly informed us that she would be happy to cancel our reservation. 

We still did not feel like cancelling our reservation because of one disgruntled  Kody at this point. In fact we could have paid the taxes had Kody just told us, that they do not "Accept this card as per hotel policy". No problem there. 

Next came Greg Matkovic and boy was he even less friendly, he almost made us wish Kody was back to talk to us. He began to throw claims in a very aggressive demeanour about taxes that  we couldn't help find easily refuted by the statements clearly printed at the back of my husband's card. 

Only by then the edgy discussion lead to a point where we felt as if we were defending something. 

It was a done deal for us after he kept repeating that he would be glad to cancel our reservation. :( 

The bright side of this saga was that almost immediately I found an excellent room in the next door Holiday Inn which hosts an excuisite pool, especially by night when it changes colors and plays amazing music . No problems with the card.

In a way I'm glad this happened because we had an amazing time at the Holiday Inn with our friends.

There is a lovely family owned Greek restaurant across the street towards the direction of the public beach and they accepted our cards no questions asked. 

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Went there on a Sunday and purchased a $500+ VIP Couch for a show at their venue. In addition, ALSO purchased a room for the night. Over $700+ was spent in ONE day at Shephard's Resort. This day was quickly cut short - I REMOVED WITHOUT WARNING from my room at 12:30am - ABSURD.

Emailed them with my feedback - I am now BLOCKED from their Facebook page with TWO of my Facebook accounts. Instead of trying to fix the situation, Shephard's decided to try and "make me go away."

WRONG MOVE! Instead of keeping this as an internal issue, you've now made it an EXTERNAL issue. That's what I call BAD BUSINESS!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I heard this was the place to to have a good time in Clearwater. We had a mojito pitcher and pina coladas. As it was lunchtime, we also ordered nachos that took quite a while but were well worth the wait! The live band was excellent too. I would go back again for sure!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed at Shepard's for the second time in April '15 - we were here about 13 years ago. The resort has gone through major renovations since the last time we were. Rooms were good and we had a view of the Gulf and Sand Key. It is a party destination and is well-known for that but we knew that and brought our ear plugs!! They do have live music every night - some great, some not so much, depending on your taste.

We used the hotel as a "base" to travel where we wanted and also be close to Clearwater Beach and amenities in the area. We had an issue checking in as the room we were given was still occupied!!! Aside from that the on-site food is expensive and the "drinks" are watered down. If you want to sit at the bar - order beer. We went one night and I left after my second drink - terrible.

But that is really the only complaint - it is what it is. We like the area, Shepard's has had a major makeover, but for peace and quiet - this isn't the place.

Beach and Pier 60 are close by and there are some good places to eat. Shepard's valet service is really good - very attentive and on-the-spot.

Room Tip: Request a Gulf view room - not street-side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Entertainment_Resort, Manager at Shephard's Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,

It is very disconcerting that you had any trouble at check; humans error of course, but really do our best to avoid any situation remotely like that. We do apologize for any inconvenience it caused and glad to hear that you enjoyed the rest of the beach area and the great service from our devoted valets. We look forward to seeing you again and hope that you do not wait another 13 years.

Best regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I can't wait to go back th Shepard's to enjoy more fun with friends odd and new. My expectations were exceeded when I called & was given a better rate for the room than what was listed online. After that I checked in quickly with Matt who was great and assured me that my stay would be nothing less than stellar. Then outside at the tiki bar I met Todd who took care of me with great drinks & great food. I began having issues with my phone so when I came in to meet a friend Elvis at the front desk helped me with my wifi.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Entertainment_Resort, Manager at Shephard's Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review- Matt, Todd, and Elvis are some of the best and brightest for sure! We look forward to seeing you soon- it doesn't sound like you'll be able to stay away for long.

Best regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shephard's Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shephard's Beach Resort

Address: 619 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shephard's Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hip new luxury rooms with modern amenities and stunning views, amazing new pool with 7,000 square ft. Tropical pool deck featuring SOAK bar and VIP cabanas, SALT Tequila Bar and Tap Room with craft beer and beer and featured tequilas and Ocean Flame; an inspired ocean front interactive dining experience. 11,000 Square ft. Tiki Beach Bar and concert stage with a tranquil stretch of white sand beach on the glimmering Gulf of Mexico. Enjoy everything from relaxing reggae to national acts and concerts while indulging in cool cocktails and Florida favorites. Add the only dual level state of the art Gulf-front in-door/out/door night club and you can say- we truly are Florida's premier entertainment resort! Destination weddings take place on the beach at sunset and we also have parties, meetings, and corporate events! With award-winning dining, personalized service, and over 12,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor venues right on the water, your event of 10 to 2,000 attendees will be handled with style and expertise. So soak up the sun, Jet Ski, parasail, adventure or relax and indulge! It's all at Shephard's! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Shephard's Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shephard`s Beach Hotel Clearwater
Shephards Beach Clearwater
Shephards Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shephard's Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.