We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, location and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key to your Saves list
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate the Savings
Ranked #25 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Winchester, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent service, location and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

Stayed twelve days with spouse and disabled daughter, none of us wanted to leave. Service from all the staff was outstanding, in general, nothing was too much trouble they were helpful beyond belief. The retaurant provided award winning standard of food and service, price in accordance. Other less expensive altenatives along the adjoining boardwalk.
Comfortable rooms with balcony and wonderful views. Comfortable beds and linens. Complementary bottled water in the room every day. Park/beach nearby with golf cart transport available for the less able provided by the hotel. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    406
    144
    62
    30
See reviews for
465
280
16
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

It was my birthday and we decided to just get away for the night. The rooms are mini suites and everything looked new. The balcony was on the narrow side but w e had a great view of the bay and pool area. There is a shuttle that takes you to Sand Key Beach or you can walk. The pool/bar area was very nice. The pool was heated from what I could feel. We chose to walk next door that night to eat at Columbia Restuarant which is a great place. It is a sister to the original one in Ybor City. Everyone at the hotel was extremely pleasant and helpful. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We stayed here for a few nights in December. It happened to be unseasonably cold and quite windy in Florida at the time. This hotel is like a motel - the room doors open onto an exterior walkway - we had to wear jackets to go down to breakfast and we were just thankful that it didn't rain or we would have gotten soaked every time we left the room.

PROS: Self-parking was free. Every room had a balcony of the same size and view - small but with a wonderful view of the bay. Our room had a small fridge, coffee maker, microwave, and bar sink which meant we could keep some snacks and beverages handy. The bathroom was clean, relatively new, and restocked daily, but it was a little bit on the small side. Check-in and check-out were fine. Management delivered a hot plate of fresh chocolate chip cookies to us, gratis, due to our Gold Member status, which was very nice and unexpected. We loved that we could walk across the street to Sand Key Park and the beach - it's not far at all and I'm not sure why people complained about it being a long walk. There is a public beach access point directly across the street from the hotel.

CONS: We really didn't like the exterior access to the rooms and being exposed to the elements. The red carpet in the room did look a bit tired. Our room had a very slight smell of mildew, but there was no visable mold as other reviewers have mentioned. The room felt small, even though there was a sitting area by the entry door. We never used the sitting area (it's dark) and would have preferred more room by the bed and sunny end of the room. The hotel was so empty that they had several of the top floors closed "for maintenance" so the 7th floor was considered the top floor at the time and there was no concierge club on this floor.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

I am an elite Marriott Rewards member and I was appalled at the quality of this hotel- this has been the second disappointing Marriott stay I have had this year with the other being at the Mayflower Hotel in DC.

Pros
1) Service at the front desk, spa, poolside and valet was excellent- staff was very friendly and very helpful
2) It is a "convenient" hotel for families- has a washer/dryer onsite, dropin childcare, free continental breakfast, pool, right next door to Columbia Restaurant, spa, microwave and frig in rooms
3) Bed quality and linens were excellent- had several suprisingly good nights of sleep
4) Location is beautiful- who can argue with Sand Key?

Cons
1) Cleanliness- rooms smelled like mildew, cleaning staff did not do an adequate job (the place felt dirty, including the mainfloor bathroom), dishes and silverware at the restaurant were dirty with dried old food and water stains
2) The place is OLD, OLD, OLD- I asked for a room in a newer section of the hotel and there was none- all rooms were the same- worn carpet, cramped space, low ceilings, outdated design, old furniture, mildew in bathroom and ceiling, door knobs that were falling off (revealing an older knob underneath), dated style in oranges and yellows,
3) My husband got a sore throat from the mildew and air quality in the rooms

In general, I felt like the staff was trying to compensate as much as they could with what they have. The place needs a major renovation head to toe and Marriott may even think about tearing down the place. The cleaning staff needs to be replaced- I called them to clean our room the last night and complained to the front desk and they never showed up!! It seems like there is reasonable amount of volume and as such, you would think Marriott would make an effort to keep the place up.

Final recommendation is to go across the street and stay at the Sheraton or rent a condo on VRBO at one of the many highrise condos

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorks
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

spent a week at Marriot Suites after a hectic week on International Drive. apart from the drive to get to the Marriot Suites I cannot say a bad word about the area, the hotel, the staff etc. This is without doubt one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in for a long time. the staff were great, they were great with my daughter, especially when Lisa the parrot was about. The rooms are spacious and cleaned to a high standard. The views were great, sat on the balcony every day and saw dolphins swimming past every day. the weather was spectacular and given the excellent pool area this made for a fantastic and relaxing week. Restaurant I thought was very expensive but we found a great restaurant at extremely reasonable prices about a minutes walk along the wooden broadwalk at the back of the hotel. This is a great place to spend some relaxation time after some hectic parks.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

We had a very bad stay overall. Here is a summary.

Negative points:

- I used the so advertised “to enhance your stay” Virtual Concierge and requested a few things to be delivered upon arrival (a tray of fruits and cheeses, an ice bucket and Champagne glasses). After waiting for 30 minutes in the room I decided to call and remind them about my request. The guy on the phone challenged me saying that I had ordered that for 5 pm (which I did not). You don’t challenge a guest, lie to him and try to embarrass him, especially if you know that you are at fault. You apologize and offer to send the requested things right away.

- Room service was unbelievably poor. They brought the food for 3 people on a tray and piled the dishes on the coffee table. They did not provide a folded dining table with wheels as you usually get at other properties similarly rated.
The food was cold and too salty. It seemed that they had left the food waiting for a long time before delivering to your room. I expect a lot more than cold food on a tray for $210 for 3 people. I certainly get more than that at other brands.

- The room was dated and the sofa really uncomfortable. The hotel claims “recently renovated rooms” but that was not reflected in the room where we stayed.

- The bed was worn out and extremely uncomfortable. I guess that when you get up with pain on your hips it is a bad sign. Instead of feeling rested I woke up very tired and just wanted to check out as soon as possible and leave the hotel to never come back again.

- Some things that make to the overall experience and to the consistency and trustworthy of the Marriott name. Not a single pen or stationary on the desk, no shower cup or sewing kit, no safety box in the room. The hotel claims “in room bottle water” in its website: none. It was as if the room had not being used in a long time and they forgot to replenish the amenities. This, for a category 6 level Marriott property is unacceptable. You expect some things at that property level and this hotel does not provide them. I think that the property is highly overrated. I have always thought of the Marriott brand as trustworthy and consistent but this experience will make me think twice about that and staying with Marriott in the future.

Positive points:

- Beautiful views of the Bay which is hardly enough to make me come back. I can get that at other properties without the cons.

In summary, one problem after another that ruined our stay and did not allow us to relax.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

The resort has a great pool with a waterfall, and it's a beautiful hotel right across the street from the beach. The area is also quite nice and family oriented with many restaurants and activities and also is five minutes away from Clearwater Beach, which is all white sand. The strip at Clearwater Beach is also very active with many restaurants and shops.

I would recommend this hotel for a family vacation, because the food in the restaurant and room service is also very good for kids, because they have a great selection of kids food. But for adults, it's also very nice and upscale.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key

Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#8 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#21 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#26 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast at the Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. Offering a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, this Marriott is a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.