We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms musty and outdated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key to your Saves list
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Credit per Night
Ranked #26 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Franklin, MA
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Rooms musty and outdated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2006

The hotel is great if you have children. Many amenities including pool with toys and floats, play ground area, beach toys provided, and activities. However, our room (#902) smelled old and musty. The couch and chair in the "suite" were very uncomfortable and due to the odor, I couldn't relax at all INSIDE the room. The comforter on the bed constantly slid off the bed as well! (I had a king, with my 3 y.o. daughter sleeping between me and my husband). I don't recommend breakfast. It's over priced and terrible. Go down the board walk from the pool and there is a great little breakfast cafe. The view was terrific and the staff were nice. Definately get the Filet Migone. It was so good we ate it two nights in a row. The baked potato was horrible but the hash brown potato was to die for.
For $215 a night, I would expect that any hotel, but especially a Marriot, would be sure to keep their rooms more updated and comfortable. Definately not worth it for the price.

  • Liked — The pool.
  • Disliked — The room.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    433
    161
    65
    33
See reviews for
506
300
17
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castleford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2006

My husband and me stayed at the Marriott for 1 week from September 28th to October 5th 2006 after a very hectic week in Orlando. This hotel was fantastic - we stayed on the 9th floor in room 919 and the view over the bay was breathtaking. We would awake in the morning to wonderful sunrises and the dolphins playing and fishing in the bay - we were also lucky enough to have a visit from 2 manatees. The breakfast buffet was delicious and the staff very helpful and friendly. The pool area and tiki bar are like paradise and the pina coladas are moreish!
The Jolly Trolley stops at the hotel and takes about 5 minutes to get to Clearwater beach and all the restaurants - we would recommend Jimmy's fish restaurant and Iguana bar - the sunsets are wonderful (as are the Pina Coladas!!) - we would definately recommend the Marriott Suites.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for a high floor
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2006

Top notch. I won't regurgitate everything postive that's already been said but would add a couple of points in regard to some of the negative comments, as these almost put us off going:

- Location in relation to beach. Not a problem unless you really really don't like to walk even a little bit. Beach just a 5 minute walk past the Sheraton across the road. I wouldn't even bother waiting for their shuttle - can't see any advantage in using it. The plus side of the location is that all rooms' balconies face the calmer water - easier too see the Manatees etc. that regularly patrol.

- Musty smell. Yes, there is the usual 'Florida smell' in the background as the rooms open up to the air both sides. From all my Florida trips the only way to avoid this is if you are in one of those sealed-up hotels where you have to walk from your room to the front door before you reach fresh air. Florida is humid, and there is nothing wrong with this hotel. Our room (and all the public spaces we saw) were ultra-clean, dry and mould-free.

- Nearby reastaurants. It's no secret that Mrriott charges a lot for their food and drinks. If this is a concern then this location is great as the small strip-mall directly adjacent has 3 great restaurants (we tried them all) along with an ice-cream/sandwich shop, a deli/convinience/liquor store, a great breakfast place AND a Dunkin Donuts. You really are covered for everything - all within 2 minute's walk from either hotel or beach. Most of them share the same waterfront boardwalk with the Marriott so you can dine outside and watch for dolphins!

We will definately go back.

  • Liked — Views, beach and restaurants really close by
  • Disliked — Nothing!!!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Fort De Soto beach an hour's drive to the south is amazing!!!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2006

Me and my wife spent part of our Honeymoon here in 1999 and for one night in 2003 while under renovations by its new owners marriott.

Can I start by saying that by looking at the candid photos it looks even better than it did then and look forward to returning someday with our daughter.

Back to our original trips and on arrival we were treated well both times. The rooms were clean and well furnished and have great views from both balconies.

We only ate in the resteraunt once for breakfast and this was a very nice expieriance with dolphins swimming in the lagoon next to the hotel.

The pool is fantastic and is great for young and old with the waterfall making it a relaxing area to swim , sunbathe or just sit and have a drink and the whirlpool is fun too.

Around the hotel there is a bar 2/3 resteraunts a mini market and a couple of souvneir shops but to go into Clearwater you can take the trolley for a dollar . Our favorite resteraunt is leverocks which is has the best seafood I have ever tasted and you must try the molassas bread which is tremendous.

For an overall holiday experiance this is my favorite which the hotel has alot to do with.

  • Liked — Great Pool,nice area
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — trolley to clerwater,walk back over the brdge from leverocks
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2006

We stayed here for a week of R and R after a week in Disney. Kids ( 4 yrs and 18 months) love Lisa the Macaw in reception. Pool and play area lovely. Didn't really use kids facilities much, except hermit crab races which were fun. Breakfast great. Rooms good facilites but definitely a musty smell. Busch Gardens fantastic for the kids - make sure you upgrade a one day ticket to a 6 day pass for free simply by asking at customer services.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

Nice hotel, very friendly staff, probably a little overpriced (esp. since it is not on the beach), definately a problem with the air conditioning system, as it does a poor job of removing humidity from the room which remained damp throughout our stay.

  • Liked — Nice views, friendly staff
  • Disliked — damp room, not on beach, overall value
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, ny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

Just stayed 2 nights and in my opinion the hotel is outdated(except for the lobby). The Clearwater Beach area as whole seems to need a major updating. It is about a 10 minute walk to the beach which is not bad but not close enough to go back and forth to your room. This hotel is probably a good choice among what the area offers for hotels. The beach was great but I expecetd more from the Marriott for the price...there was nothing that wowed me. The "suites" were a little bigger than a normal room with a mini fridge and a sink. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. I just don't think that this hotel should be advertised as an luxury hotel. It may have been in 1980 but not in 2006. $150.00 per night would be the most I would pay for this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key

Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#8 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#27 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast at the Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. Offering a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, this Marriott is a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.