We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for Family Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key

Save Saved
You added Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Kids Eat Free +$25 Credit
Ranked #26 of 95 hotels in Clearwater
Wellesley, MA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for Family Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2005

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Marriott. Our kids loved the pool area. There was plenty of room to swim around and the depth (less than 4') of the pool was great for younger swimmers. Poolside service was terrific.

I felt the rooms could be a bit updated although they were very clean. All the entry doors are on the outside of the hotel. The first room we were in had a very large gap between the floor and the bottom of the door. This led to a very cold breeze blowing in all night until we put pillows in front of it. the next room was fine but still a draft coming in. Staff was very friendly and helpful, and the lobby was immaculate.

The breakfast buffet in the hotel was a ripoff at $15 for adults. The food was cold and unappetizing and the fruit selection was marginal. After paying $60 the first morning, we discovered Dunkin Donuts and another diner on the boardwalk right next to the hotel.

We enjoyed two dinners at the Outback Steak House in town, and enjoyed Guppy's up the street. All other food was marginal and very expensive. The worst was the buffet (mentioned in another review) near the rotary.

The mini golf course was a really fun outing for the family one evening. Fun course. Also, at the hotel, the jet ski rental was fun (a little pricey but it's at the hotel)

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    408
    365
    130
    55
    28
See reviews for
424
248
13
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton U.k.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2005

We arrived at the Marriott Suites at around mid-day on May 1st. I did not expect that we would be able to access the roooms for some time. However, the desk clerk gave me keys for two of our rooms immediately and a pager to signal when the others were ready. We soon received a call and all in our party settled in quickly. Very proficient. The rooms were fine with a decent size lounge and a large enough bedroom with a furnished balcony overlooking the bay. The bathroom was'nt large but how large does one need to be? The decor of the suite was typicallyMarriott and the rooms were very clean.
The staff, overall, were very friendly and most helpful. The service in the restaurant, both for breakfast and dinner, was excellent as was the waterside setting. The poolside bar functioned well with service around the pool seemingly efficient. The "cabanas" at the far side of the pool area can be rented for the day at a cost of $50 and include fridge, cable T.V., loungers, table and chairs and internet access. They also offer shelter from the hot sun. There are only around six of these but they looked welcoming and were well used at the time of our visit.
Some comments have been made about the proximity, or otherwise, to the beach. We walked there on our first afternoon as a settling in exercise anda a welcome break from the van driving. It took us about 10 minutes as a leisurely stroll. We could have used the hotel trolley for this and any subsequent visits but chose to utilise the excellent pool area instead. It offered the shelter that the beach may not have done.
The food in the restaurant was excellent. The buffet breakfast was good value as were most items on the menu. The steaks, at both breakfast and dinner, were mouthwateringly tender at a price that was comparable to English prices. The top steak ( Fillet or Porterhouse ) were $29 ( about £15 ) which compares badly, perhaps to Diner prices elsewhere but you have to pay for quality. the fish dishes were, likewise, excellently presented.
TO conclude, our party of 10 including 4 children enjoyed the experience of the Marriott and will return in the not too distant future. It offered a relaxing atmosphere with that touch of being a Marriott.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2005

We stayed at this Hotel for a week as part of a 2 week holiday in Florida. We have stayed in Clearwater before at the Hilton, but preferred this Hotel. Rooms are spotless and quite big, view outstading as were the dolphins and rays in the bay. Our son enjoyed the pull-out bed and his own T.V. in the lounge area. The pool is very nice and the bar food quite reasonable, pizza's(Pizza Hut Type) went down very well. There are some shops and eating places on the boardwalk, but we only used Dukin-Doughnuts. We had breakfast at IHOP, just over the bridge about 1000yds on your left, we ventured out further for meals, to Frenchies Rockaway Grill and The Pub further down the main road at Indian Shores about 15mins drive. If your into shopping, Countryside Mall in Clearwater, not as big as Florida Mall, but good choice of shops and even an ice-rink in the middle.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanzey, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2005

Everyone there was very friendly and helpful. We stayed there for 4 nights and really enjoyed the stay. Everything is a little bit of a drive away and the traffic once you start towards Tampa was terrible...but would stay there again in a heartbeat. Rooms were wonderful with great views from both sides.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INVERNESS, ILLINOIS
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2005

Stayed at the hotel from April 29th-May3rd, 2005. The staff is extremely courteous and professional. The suites were a little small, but enough for 2 people. The rooms were spotless and have been updated, since the building is a little older. We had a room on the 8th floor overlooking the pool which was great on the south side of building. I am a light sleeper and the large ac unit is on the north side of the building. It is not on the beach, but the beach is a short 5 minute walk across the street. I am a pool person mostly and the pool at this hotel was great. I did not eat at the hotel, but there are a number of restaurants on the "boardwalk" next door and in town. We had good and reasonably priced breakfasts at "Maggie Maes" next door and a great dinner at
the "Columbian" restaurant next door. We also ate at "Shephards" in town which is a buffet type meal and it looked good, but I would not do it again. Pay a little more and get a good meal at Columbian. Overall the Marriott has done a good job, the hotel is overpriced, but it goes with the supply, demand, and location. The Sheraton across the street looked nice, but also was not a cheap price. The cheaper hotels are flea bags with undesireables staying in them.
Pay more and get a nicer place.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
state college, pa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2005

we just returned from a vacation at this resort; we had a great time and
felt it was a terrific family hotel. A lot of families enjoying the sun and pool.
The hotel in general was lovely, the lobby, resturants, business center all
were wonderful. The staff was exceptional (exspecially Lindsay at the front desk!) The rooms were very clean and the maid service was fantastic.
We felt very comfortable around the pool just relaxing, the hotel will take you to the public beach on a golf cart; nice perk but we only ventured to the beach one day; water was quite cold! We liked the fact that there are several resturants on the boardwalk(small walk way with shops) we enjoyed the Backwaters resturant and there was a small grocery store there where we stocked up on some staples for our room. We had great dinner advice from the Concierge; ate at Villa Gallace; great italian, Island way grill; great local & seafood, & Guppys, for seafood. We would definetly return to this Marriott with our kids! There is a lot to do if you have a car, but easily enjoyed if you hang around relaxing by the pool and beach! My kids missed having an arcade, we walked across the street to the Sheraton(small pool, too crowded) where there was a very small arcade with 2-3 machines, but they also had a pool table which was fun!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilderland, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2005

(Note: I'll try to list things in this review that I haven't seen in others before mine.)

My wife and I just returned from our first big family vacation with our 2-year old son, staying at the Marriott. We chose this hotel because of the suites, which allowed our son to sleep at night while we hung out, watched TV and read. That worked out well.

Everything about our stay was what you'd expect from a great hotel. The price (~$370 a night for the ninth floor) was a little steep, but given what the lodging competition looked like and the time of the year, that was probably fair.

Staff was very friendly and helpful -- especially the room cleaning staff and the bellmen who would drive us across the street to the beach at our request. The drivers supply you with folding chairs, beach toys and bottled water at no charge (though expecting a tip certainly).

There was no problem getting beach chairs at the pool. We were able to go down each day and grab some seats around 11:00 and around 3:00 pretty easily. Pool side food was expensive, of course (three meals + two drinks = $56 with tip), but not worth the convenience. The sandwiches were cold; the pizza was undercooked and the mojito was medicinal. Room service was also expensive, but of much better quality.

For dining out, the concierge is ready and waiting to recommend Guppy's, which is described in other reviews of this hotel, but we also found it to be crowded -- on a Tuesday night even. Because we couldn't wait the 40 minutes (at 6:00) with our toddler in tow, they recommended another restaurant, TJ's, just a couple of blocks further down (both of these are about 4 miles south of the hotel). TJ's looked at least as good as Guppy's, so we went in and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food (pasta, burgers, pizza) was probably the best meal of the trip. It's worth a visit.

The only other caveat I'll throw out there is to be prepared for bad traffic from the airport to the hotel, depending on the time of your arrival. We got in to Tampa Airport around 3:00 p.m. on a Sunday and drove straight to the hotel after getting our rental car. It took almost an hour and a half through bumper to bumper traffic. This appeared to be due to the weekend timing and that some Spring Breakers were still in town. So hopefully this wouldn't be the case for you, but you never know... (The return back to the aiport on Thursday morning around 9:00 a.m. took only about 30 minutes.)

If you go, have a great time!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key

Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#8 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#25 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast at the Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. Offering a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, this Marriott is a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.