We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a 4star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key to your Saves list
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate the Savings
Ranked #23 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Neath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“not a 4star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

stayed here for 4 nights,5th-8th july,we checked in and went up to our room...oh dear not what we were expecting,we have stayed at a few marriot hotels and im afraid this didnt live up to the standard of a 4* hotel.the room was disappointing,there was no safe,(they were situated down in the lobby)the bedroom was fine but the kitchen had no cooker,it did have a microwave to warm food,but there were no plates and no cutlery supplied,there were 2 plastic cups supplied plus a plastic stirrer!! there was a coffee maker which you could boil the water but no pot, and a fridge,dont know why we had a micro as we had no plates to put food on.!! the room needed a facelift as it looked very tired,not a very nice room at all,the pool area tho was great as was the pool bar area,if you wanted to go down to pier 60 area you can catch the trolley bus ,i think it was $2.its probably to far to walk to the beach if you got kids and bags and stuff,would i stay here again,probably not. truckerdave.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAMS, Manager at Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Truckerdave55,

Thank you for the time taken to review your stay.

I am sincerely sorry you were disappointed with your stay at our hotel. You are correct, we provide plates and cutlery on request only. The area is not considered a full kitchen and it does not have a dishwasher, thus we provide all the items needed on request. I apologize we have not communicated this properly to you to make your stay more comfortable.

Once again thank you for the time taken to review your stay and please let me know if you have any additional comments or questions.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    399
    144
    61
    28
See reviews for
462
276
15
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My family of 4 just returned from a 2-night stay at the Marriott Suites. Our experience started off a little disappointing with a yucky room on the 2nd floor. Things were ALL uphill after a change in room the next day plus a wonderful breakfast buffet experience. The 2nd room was all that and more with beautiful views of the bay from our balcony plus the beach/Gulf view from the other side. It's why we came to Clearwater and made our visit complete and memorable. The Starbuck's in the lobby was awesome and made for a nice treat after a visit to the beach. Although the beach was a nice shuttle ride away (versus direct access) it was so worth it! There were also some great food options as suggested nearby the hotel. In conclusion, the hotel staff was phenomenal, especially the restaurant hostess. She made us feel EXTRA special and we were most appreciative of the hospitality. Looking forward to a return visit!!!

Room Tip: Request higher floor for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAMS, Manager at Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear ATL_aug082011,

Thank you so much for your review.

We appreciate your time to review your stay. I am very pleased that we were able to to resolve your initial issue and that you thoroughly enjoyed the rest of your stay. We all sincerely hope you will return to our Marriott Suites soon and I will be sure to pass on your comments to our associates.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The price and the level rating for this hotel is not commiserate with our experience. The entrance to the hotel is nice and the lobby is appropriate for a 4 star hotel. After this point though, things start to deteriorate. The rooms are dated and are in need of a serious overhaul. The carpet was frayed, the tub was in disrepair, and the sliding door had trouble opening beyond 1/3 of what it should. The staff was friendly and accommodating. All in all the experience was "meh". We would not recommend this for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAMS, Manager at Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Matthew V.,

Thank you for the time taken to review your stay.

I sincerely apologize that you were not completely satisfied with your stay in our hotel. We are currently in process of replacing all sliding doors in all our rooms and room updates will be following soon in 2015. It is feedback like yours that allows us to improve our product and services and for that we are very thankful.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

On the official Marriott website, the beach is advertised as 200 yards from the hotel. This couldn't be farther from the truth. If you decide to walk (which is a bad idea simply because of the blistering heat) be prepared to walk for about 15-20 minutes each way. On the other hand, if you decide to take the shuttle (which is also a bad idea), there is sand all over the seats, the seats are wet, and the shuttle is always packed. Once you arrive to the actual beach after taking the shuttle you still have a bit of a walk to make. Neither of the options are "good" by any stretch of the imagination. On a more positive note, the pool is incredible and the pool staff and bartenders are very helpful. The rooms actually overlook the Bay which is cool because you WILL see marine life while sitting on your balcony. The rooms are always kept cool and housekeeping does a great job at keeping them clean.Overall I would recommend this hotel to someone who does not care for the beach, if you are more of a beach person than a pool person, consider the Sheraton or one of the other hotels actually on the beach.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAMS, Manager at Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Methorne03,

Thank you for the time taken to review your stay with us.

You are 100% correct in the fact that we are not directly on the beach. Considering the different paths to the beach, I am sorry we were not able to point you in a direction that would grant you access to the beach in less than 10 minutes. We appreciate your review of our other amenities and hope that we will get to welcome you back at Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach again soon.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Please to enough staff and hotel location very good all rooms have a bay View from the small balcony don't push the bars to hard a bit shacky we were on the tenth / top floor good view the wifi is a bit of a rip off $7 a day very slow beach is a ten minute walk or you can take the hotel shuttle bus it will drop you off you need to phone to get picked back up or ten minute walk,not a lot of things to do close by although the pier is about 10 minute drive for all the action club bars restaurants over priced for what you get.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPAMS, Manager at Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Willy G,

Thank you for the time taken to review your stay at our hotel.

I apologize that we have fallen short of your expectations in some of the areas you mentioned and we appreciate your constructive comments so we can improve our product and services in the future.

At Your Service,

Jan Vanco
Assistant General Manager
jan.vanco@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed here with my family for two nights. Important to note that this hotel is right over the bridge from Clearwater Beach on Sand Key which I feel is a plus. Clearwater Beach, while fun, is a little too crazy for me. This hotel has the best of both worlds - you can easily get to Clearwater Beach Activities, but stay on Sand Key which I believe is more relaxing.

However, important to note that the hotel is not directly on the beach - across the street from the beach.

Rooms are suite style and, due to layout, you have a view of the intra coastal on one side and when you go out the front door you have a view of the Gulf.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Love this hotel! Great views, awesome pool. Very clean hotel. Friendly staff who are very welcoming. Love the kids activities daily and on site water craft rentals. Really don't need to leave. Appreciate the value added services such as free simple spa treatments.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key

Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#8 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#17 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#28 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast at the Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. Offering a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, this Marriott is a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.