We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for family vaction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key to your Saves list
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate the Savings
Ranked #26 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Brescia, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Hotel for family vaction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We found a hotel which offered a good service and environment for families.
Rooms a comfortable and clean.
Restaurant is very good but if you plan to have breakfast every day beware of the prices a bit steep. Fortunately there are plenty of alternatives like the in-house Starbucks and just outside the hotel there are breakfast places and a Dunkin Donuts all conveniently reachable through the boardwalk behind the pool.
The pool is very nice and the bar just next to it is a plus.
Although a very nice place it would benefit from a little renovation of the rooms.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    406
    144
    62
    30
See reviews for
465
280
16
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We are staying till 24th, and have found the place comfortable. The weather has not been great at night but pool open late so father/son bonding time has been ok in late evening. My major grouch is the breakfast $18.95 if you touch anything hot, my son had 3 pancakes(all he had) and got charged full price, meanwhile my wife and I went for the cold buffet where the fruit was covered in flies and the bread was stale. Go to Maggie Maes on the Boardwalk, hugely better value. Dinner very good but again seriously overpriced.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This Marriott, like many is an older hotel and rooms need updating. I would expect better for the price. Atmosphere: the pool area and lobby are beautiful. The pool is large, there are many deck chairs and umbrellas. There is poolside service and an outside casual eating area. The rooms are average and clean but pricey. They all have a balcony that overlooks the pool area and/or the bay. The hotel sits on the bay side of the road and it is a short walk to the beach which you can see from the front entrance to your room but not from the balcony. Several family members stayed at the hotel. Our room had A/C that we could not regulate and was freezing cold with the thermostat set to 80 so we slept with blankets. Better too cold than too hot. Another room that I visited was for handicap access and I had great difficulty opening the door from inside. Not sure that if I were handicapped that I would be able to get out without assistance. They had good service in all areas I experienced ie. lobby, check-in, pool, sundry, concierge, lounge. In all it is a nice place to stay but a bit overpriced compared to other "resort" hotels I have been to.

Room Tip: Upper floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Really good hotel. Lots of space in the room/s, fantastic views from the master bedroom balcony over the gulf and excellent service from the staff. We stayed for 4 nights, 2 of which we had dinner at the hotel restaurant - although very expensive compared to other restaurants in the area, the food (especially the steaks) we're excellent. The only moan I have is that the shower pressure wasn't good so took far too long for us all to get showered on a morning or before going out to dinner.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This Marriott was one of the better hotels in florida i stayed at. the check in was nice quick and easy then there was the valet witch was also great helped us with the bags and put them up to the room. The room was great with a perfect bay view. The photos are a little deceiving though not as big as u would expect. The beds were very comfortable. The location were okay u d to take a free shuttle to the beach or to long of a walk about half a mile. Though they did have a good restaurant on the boardwalk called Columbia's. i think that was the name. It was spanish/cuban they also had waverunner and canoe rentals on the boardwalk. The pool was good and relaxing.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The pictures on the website make it look better than it is. The rooms need updating and the pool furniture has seen better days. The lobby is very nice and the front desk staff is top notch. The server at the pool was rude. Did not eat at the restaurant but it looked decent. The location is nice with a boardwalk and some nice shops and restaurants to walk too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I visited Clearwater beaches in April 2013 and the prices in the hotels in general were outrageous - in Marriott I paid about 300 USD/night. What I got was an outdated room (large I have to admit with nice views over the sea), ridiculously expensive extras and nothing to do in the area (beside the beach). Not worth staying for.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key

Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#8 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#21 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#26 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast at the Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. Offering a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, this Marriott is a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.