We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Resort but no beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key to your Saves list
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate the Savings
Ranked #24 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Northport, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good Resort but no beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I enjoyed staying here and I would go back. The one unfortunate thing is the fact there is no beach there although there is one a short drive away. Pool was pretty nice and the rooms are definitely big enough. I would say its more of a family place than anything. Definitely would need a rental car if you stayed in this area of Florida. oct06

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    396
    142
    61
    28
See reviews for
460
272
14
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I attend a conference every June on SandKey and usually stay at the Marriott for the entire weekend (except for last year - as I had been slightly disappointed in the past) - HOWEVER - this year I returned and I can tell that they have made big improvements and are quickly moving to the expected Marriott Resort standards. The biggest change - CUSTOMER SERVICE - there were smiles and prompt assistance from everyone I met along the way - and that does make a difference. Miel took care of us on our floor and she made sure we had everything we needed before we knew we needed it. Physically - The Lobby has been recedorated and looks modern and clean. The two-room Suites are big, clean and all have a beautiful view of Clearwater Harbor. The beds are comfortable, there is a mini-fridge and microwave and a big closet. The couch pulls out and a door can be closed to separate the 2 rooms. The pool is big and has plenty chairs. Fresh towels are available at the Tiki Hut and servers are available to quench your thirst every time your glass empties. There are rentals available for jet-ski, mini boats (great for parent and child), kayaks, and paddle boards. There is a Kids Center and I saw quite alot of children enjoying the cool comforts of crayons, tie-dying and other crafts while I was visiting. The Boardwalk behind the Hotel leads to many restaurants for every taste and budget, as well as shopping and picking up snacks! For the weekend - we park the car and don't get back in until we're ready to head home. **I had only one issue and I am sure it will be addressed after speaking to Carole, the Concierge - we rented a pool cabana on Saturday and I found it to be musty smelling and it had mildew on the tables and canvas walls. We were moved to another but it also smelled musty (but no mildew) - they need to be opened so they have time to air out and dry before use. Bottomline - I will go back and enjoy my weekend again next year (conference or not!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a short walking distance to the beach but also has a great shuttle service available . Perfect view from the room over the ocean. It has a nice bar and breakfast area which is right on the water.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great pool and relaxed atmosphere. The only downside was the lack of a concierge lounge. A beach buggy was available for trips to the beach at Sand Key State Park. Parasailing available with on site pickups. Nice views of the bay and gulf from our room. Appreciated the small fridge and microwave in the room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The good: staff, restaurant, and common areas. Nice bed.
The bad: dated and worn room that smelled of cat pee?
The indifferent: the ocean is a bit of a hike for little kids or people who cannot walk 300 yards...or have a bunch of junk with them.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYSSandKey, Manager at Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Pistolfin,

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am glad to see you enjoyed our restaurant, common areas, the bed, and our staff. Thank you for brining up your concerns about your room. We will take the appropriate steps to address these opportunities. For your next stay please try out our complimentary Beach Buggy service to transport your family and any items you may need to te beach and back. Again, thank you for taking the time to fill out a reveiw here. If I can be of any further assistance please feel free to contact me directly.

Glenn McGinnis
Assistant General Manager
727-596-1100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingate, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I'm sure some readers are put off a bit by the exterior room entrances and the distance from the beach. But we had a very pleasant experience here and will definitely return. Staff is top notch.
We loved the separate living area & sofa bed, the waterfalls in the pool that provided good back therapy, golf cart ride to the beach, and wonderful view of the Gulf. There are a few odd things, like the door frame rod to step over when going out to the balcony, that that wasn't a big deal for us. Walks at Sand Key Park have lots of shade! There was a little issue with the sound on our television and the technician came to our room literally within 2 minutes of our call. Great service. We have stayed at the Sheraton as well but prefer the Marriott.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FLorida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel with its proximity to the beach, the delicious breakfast buffet (only $5 for kids), the pool area with games for the kids, balloon person and face painter on site--the rooms were spacious and we had a great view of the pool area and bay. Great service. We recommend this hotel if you can get a good rate on it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key

Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#9 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#27 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast at the Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. Offering a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, this Marriott is a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.