We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Recommend it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key to your Saves list
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate the Savings
Ranked #25 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Wingate, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We Recommend it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I'm sure some readers are put off a bit by the exterior room entrances and the distance from the beach. But we had a very pleasant experience here and will definitely return. Staff is top notch.
We loved the separate living area & sofa bed, the waterfalls in the pool that provided good back therapy, golf cart ride to the beach, and wonderful view of the Gulf. There are a few odd things, like the door frame rod to step over when going out to the balcony, that that wasn't a big deal for us. Walks at Sand Key Park have lots of shade! There was a little issue with the sound on our television and the technician came to our room literally within 2 minutes of our call. Great service. We have stayed at the Sheraton as well but prefer the Marriott.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    406
    144
    62
    30
See reviews for
465
280
16
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FLorida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel with its proximity to the beach, the delicious breakfast buffet (only $5 for kids), the pool area with games for the kids, balloon person and face painter on site--the rooms were spacious and we had a great view of the pool area and bay. Great service. We recommend this hotel if you can get a good rate on it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Each year some friends of mine & I all meet down in Clearwater for a “girls getaway” vacation. This year we decided to try the Sand Key Marriot. Overall, we enjoyed the stay and the hotel was very nice. The staff was wonderful and very friendly. The rooms are a bit dated and could use a little revitalizing, however the beds were very comfy. The pool area is very nice and has a nice bar. The hotel also provides a little shuttle over to Sand Key Beach if you want to go to the beach instead of the pool. Sand Key beach is nice, but I would say that Clearwater beach with its powdery white sand and location to restaurants & bars is far superior. The Sand Key Marriot is on Sand Key & not directly on the Clearwater beach strip so you will want to have access to a car, or there is a little shuttle that can take you over to Clearwater beach. A Good Tip: there is a boardwalk that runs behind the Hotel (you can find it out by the pool) and that boardwalk will take you to a Dunkin Donuts, a liquor /convenience store & couple great places to eat. There great place for Happy Hour back there called BackWaters, happy hour beers were $1.50. Excellent breakfast place, Maggie May’s, we ate there almost every morning. Overall the stay at the Sand Key Marriot was wonderful and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you can get a room facing over the Bay, we saw Dolphins every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I have been visiting this property since it was built twenty-something years ago as a young child. When it changed hands and became a Marriott, they renovated the entire hotel (the lobby, every suite, the pool area, etc) and have been keeping up with renovations - every year there seems to be more positive changes. The best thing about the hotel is that every room is a two-room/one-bath suite and every room has a view of the pool and/or the bay. It the first hotel over the bridge from Clearwater Beach, so it is a beautiful walk to beaches and restaurants there. The hotel restaurant, Watercolor Steakhouse, is amazing...terrific food, a bit pricey, but definitely great for a special occasion. The property is connected to a boardwalk that is great for morning or evening strolls and has great restaurants and some shops. The pool area is exciting - two waterfalls and a large outdoor bar on the water. The burgers at the pool are great and the staff, especially Kimi, always go out of their way to make the guests happy. I will definitely be going back for the next 20+ years!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We travel around the country to many hotels for training with our clients and this hotel is one of the best! I love the Marriott brand - it stands for something! The staff are very friendly and helpful. Being able to go sit out on the patio by the water, with music, good food. And this is work? The banquet service for our meetings was excellent - good food and service. The hotel is well kept up! Comfortable rooms. The only two points I would remark on are noisy fan in room bath and the restaurant is a bit on pricy side for our corporate budgets!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
Top Contributor
511 reviews 511 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I needed to plan an event for 45 people for 2.5 days. This Marriott was outstanding. The front desk was very gracious handling requests from my out of town guests while juggling all the families on summer vacation. I needed some last minute help with audio visual and they had us wired and up in 5 minutes. My equipment broke, they fixed me up. Catering changes were not a problem, whatever we needed, they just took care of everything. Fran set my meeting up and helped plan everything. Tom and Pedro were seemingly always close by for extra seats, water or coffee. This wasn't my first event but I don't do enough to have total confidence or remember everything. Fran made me look good in front of my clients. They all had a great time. Our group will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My family and I stayed here during a week long vacation in Clearwater. We couldn't have been happier. Yes, the hotel is a bit older and could use some updating, but everything else about the place earns 5 stars. The location is great. It is a bit off teh main Clearwater beach drag, but you are short walk (or the hotel will shuttle you) over to Sand Key beach. We spent a fair amount of time there. It was less crowded than Clearwater and my kids (ages 3, 5, and 8) loved finding shells along the beach. Teh rooms are set up with a clear view of the bay (we could kind of see the ocean side). The bay view was enough. Every morning around 8 a pod of dolphins would swim by the hotel. My kids loved it. The pool is heated and set up very well. We spent some afternoons lounging around it. The pool is a bit deep (for kids) throughout, but there were enough shallow areas to keep them entertained. There is a "kiddie"pool as well, but this only about 1 foot deep and made for smaller children. My kids got bored pretty quickly with that. The best part of the hotel has to be the staff. I have been a Marriott Gold member for the past 10 years and am hard pressed to remember another Marriott where I was this impressed with the staff. They were incredibly friendly and helpful. This includes the front desk, concierge, restaurant, bell hops, and pool bar staff. All of them made you feel very welcome. It was all smiles. It really made a great trip that much more enjoyable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key

Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#8 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#21 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#26 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast at the Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. Offering a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, this Marriott is a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.