We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key to your Saves list
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate the Savings
Ranked #26 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Really Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here from 12/31 - 1/3 and while the rooms could definitely use some updating, what really makes this a great place to stay is the people -

The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful with regards to everything from finding us a bag to use on our way home to upgrading our breakfasts and giving us complimentary drink tickets!

Thank you for a wonderful stay -

Room Tip: higher up the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    405
    144
    62
    30
See reviews for
465
280
16
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were here in mid-December 2012 for a long weekend. We loved how it felt very isolated yet was close to so many things and places. The setting on the water was great - every suite has water views. The suite was a living room area with some kitchen amenities - refrigerator, microwave, sink, etc., and a lovely bedroom with the typically wonderful Marriott beds. The pool area is nice with what feels like separate sections so you don't feel crowded, and a great bar with very friendly staff. If you want the beach, though, you need to go across the street - the Marriott provides a little shuttle that is on call for this. I had a FANTASTIC massage, but the spa was disjointed so not as comfortable as others where you can really enjoy a quiet room, etc. The fitness facility was adequate with cardio and basic weight equipment, but nothing special. The restaurant features a wonderful buffet for breakfast and a very nice dinner menu (albeit a bit pricey) - we had teh featured steaks and they were excellent. There are a couple of additional restaurants and shops walking distance - we loved Columbia Restaurant.

It is an easy 20 minute drive from Tampa (of course this was not peak summer so don't know how the traffic is then). It is a quick 10 minute drive to Dunedin which is a great little town with good food, great little bars, lovely parks, and the place where we spent most of our non-hotel time. Clearwater Beach activities are just a hop across the bridge, including the famous dolphin, Winter, which we recommend for young and old.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The view is VERY beautiful!! The room has a strong scent of mildew but that is expected in Florida, I was there on business and the entire group had no complaints. There are quaint restaurants that are in back of the hotel that have some real good food!! There is a wonderful Columbian restaurant that has the BEST MOJITIOS!!!!! OMG!!!! I can't express that any better! It was so good. The pool and Jacuzzi is amazing. You will have a wonderful time!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanview room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here using Marriott reward points for new years eve time frame. As gold elite members you get free continental breakfast daily (upgradable to full buffet for $5). This is an all-suites hotel and essentially every room will have a water view. The site manager, Trinity was extremely helpful upon check in and super friendly. We were offered complimentary champagne upon arrival (nice touch). Free parking with ample spaces. It was quite cold in the clearwater region dec 27-jan 1st, so we didn't use the pool, but we saw many people in there. Apparently, it is kept at 85 degrees constantly.
The rooms were clean and we couldn't really complain (since we got it for free!).

If we were to return to this area, we would definitely pick this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, mn
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I was impressed from the moment we walked in. The staff was very friendly and was willing to check us in earlier than normal check in time. The hotel was very clean and staff was more than happy to chat with us.

The room was very large. It was a bedroom with a separate living room TV and Bar. The balcony was a little small but that was ok. The room had beautiful views of the bay. We watched fish and dolphins every morning under the water.

The pool was a very nice large pool with a pool side bar. Again the service was great down there!

I would go back if I had the chance.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room. you will get amazing views. But I think all floors will have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel! Stayed New Years Eve with family. Easy, helpful check in. Room was ready early so we checked in, changed and got a cart ride to the beach. Called a few hours later to return-picked up in minutes. Cart driver knew about fireworks at the park at midnight. Back to the room and watched the full moon rise over the bay, from our balcony! Later watched boats and fireworks from back balcony over bay. At midnight many guests went to font balcony to watch fantastic, unobstructed view of fireworks from park. Great hotel and night! Beds are comfy, tv's are large, fridge, microwave, couldn't ask for more.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at this property just for one night, the whole stay was amazing. Quick check in, gorgeous view from the room,everything was amazing. Oh, pool is so warm, you literally can stay there for hours:)))There is also little ticki bar,so for the whole relaxation you can grab a drink over there.


The room was clean and cozy.
Bed was incredibly comfortable, i was sleeping like a baby:)))

Overall satisfaction 5+++++

And one more thing, if you like sushi there is a place near by called Tokyo cafe, DO NOT EAT THERE!!!!poor variaty, quality is the same as well,the worst sushi ive ever had:((((

Room Tip: Pool view is actually really nice:)We had bay view our room was 426, and down we saw the back of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYSSandKey, General Manager at Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Galina D,
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate your candid view of your expereine and I was delighted to see you had an amazing stay with us.
PS During the cooler days of Christmas we kept the pool at 86 degrees to combat the cooler weather.
Happy New Year with lots of travels!
Philippe Eversdijk GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key

Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#8 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#22 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#26 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast at the Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. Offering a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, this Marriott is a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.