We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smells like Mildew but very nice view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key

Save Saved
You added Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings - 15% Off
Ranked #26 of 95 hotels in Clearwater
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Smells like Mildew but very nice view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The view is VERY beautiful!! The room has a strong scent of mildew but that is expected in Florida, I was there on business and the entire group had no complaints. There are quaint restaurants that are in back of the hotel that have some real good food!! There is a wonderful Columbian restaurant that has the BEST MOJITIOS!!!!! OMG!!!! I can't express that any better! It was so good. The pool and Jacuzzi is amazing. You will have a wonderful time!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanview room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    385
    339
    120
    53
    28
See reviews for
397
228
12
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here using Marriott reward points for new years eve time frame. As gold elite members you get free continental breakfast daily (upgradable to full buffet for $5). This is an all-suites hotel and essentially every room will have a water view. The site manager, Trinity was extremely helpful upon check in and super friendly. We were offered complimentary champagne upon arrival (nice touch). Free parking with ample spaces. It was quite cold in the clearwater region dec 27-jan 1st, so we didn't use the pool, but we saw many people in there. Apparently, it is kept at 85 degrees constantly.
The rooms were clean and we couldn't really complain (since we got it for free!).

If we were to return to this area, we would definitely pick this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, mn
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I was impressed from the moment we walked in. The staff was very friendly and was willing to check us in earlier than normal check in time. The hotel was very clean and staff was more than happy to chat with us.

The room was very large. It was a bedroom with a separate living room TV and Bar. The balcony was a little small but that was ok. The room had beautiful views of the bay. We watched fish and dolphins every morning under the water.

The pool was a very nice large pool with a pool side bar. Again the service was great down there!

I would go back if I had the chance.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room. you will get amazing views. But I think all floors will have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel! Stayed New Years Eve with family. Easy, helpful check in. Room was ready early so we checked in, changed and got a cart ride to the beach. Called a few hours later to return-picked up in minutes. Cart driver knew about fireworks at the park at midnight. Back to the room and watched the full moon rise over the bay, from our balcony! Later watched boats and fireworks from back balcony over bay. At midnight many guests went to font balcony to watch fantastic, unobstructed view of fireworks from park. Great hotel and night! Beds are comfy, tv's are large, fridge, microwave, couldn't ask for more.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at this property just for one night, the whole stay was amazing. Quick check in, gorgeous view from the room,everything was amazing. Oh, pool is so warm, you literally can stay there for hours:)))There is also little ticki bar,so for the whole relaxation you can grab a drink over there.


The room was clean and cozy.
Bed was incredibly comfortable, i was sleeping like a baby:)))

Overall satisfaction 5+++++

And one more thing, if you like sushi there is a place near by called Tokyo cafe, DO NOT EAT THERE!!!!poor variaty, quality is the same as well,the worst sushi ive ever had:((((

Room Tip: Pool view is actually really nice:)We had bay view our room was 426, and down we saw the back of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYSSandKey, General Manager at Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Galina D,
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate your candid view of your expereine and I was delighted to see you had an amazing stay with us.
PS During the cooler days of Christmas we kept the pool at 86 degrees to combat the cooler weather.
Happy New Year with lots of travels!
Philippe Eversdijk GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolfstetten, Switzerland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We arrived at beginning of December 2012 to meet up with family, all coming from Switzerland, to start our vacations in Florida. My wife, daughter and I got a lovely spaceous room and later on my son and his family of 3 got also a nice room nearby. Having stayed for one night at the Tampa Airport Marriott, which was just a normal one-day-stay-airport hotel, nothing special, we really enjoyed most of all the friendliness of the staff at the reception. The room was clean, comfortable and the beds, as usual with Marriott hotels, very good to sleep on. The view from the room to the sea was spectacular too. The pool outside was quite large and we liked the waterfalls. The beach was just over the road, if you like to be on sand, else it is just as enjoyable to spend hours at the pool. The life parrot at the reception was especially liked by the kids, but also by the adults.
All-in-all we can only recommend this hotel. If you like to be at the beach and near the happenings and culture of a big town like Tampa/St. Petersburg, then the Marriott in Clearwater Beach is certainly one of the not too expensive ways to enjoy a vacation. We would certainly return, if next time in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key just before Christmas 2012. I was on a business trip (meetings in the hotel) and my wife came with me for some winter sun & shopping.

The hotel is situated on Sand Key which a thin strip of sand that runs along Clearwater, about 5 minutes walk from the hotel is a lovely beach looking out to the Gulf of Mexico, the hotel is situated on the other side of the sand key and the room balconies look back across the water to Clearwater.

We were met by very friendly staff on arrival from the door men to the check-in staff everything was friendly and efficient. Our room was a suite (which I think every room is at this hotel) it was spacious enough for 2 people. There are 2 large flat screen TVs, a wet bar area and a lounge sitting area. The room also has a balcony with 2 chairs and a table. The room was clean and in good repair.

Breakfast is normally a sore point for my wife - however here it was one of the best breakfasts she ever had at any hotel, which is saying something! The evening meal in the restaurant has to be the highlight of this hotel. Firstly the waiting staff are very highly trained and provide a very in depth description of the menu choices. The steak is claimed to be the best in Tampa - while we didn't get to eat in every steak house in Tampa I can say that the food at the Restaurant was excellent and a good reason to stay at this hotel.

The hotel has a lovely pool with a waterfall, the pool bar also serves food & again the staff and service here are excellent.

My wife and I would highly recommend staying at this hotel especially at the time of year we visited - it was very quiet and relaxing but just minutes from Clearwater and Tampa.

We would like to thank all of the staff who took care of us & made what could have been another bland business trip that bit more special.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key

Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott
Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#7 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#26 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#27 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast at the Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. Offering a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, this Marriott is a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.