We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, great location & best steak in Tampa!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key to your Saves list
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate the Savings
Ranked #25 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great location & best steak in Tampa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key just before Christmas 2012. I was on a business trip (meetings in the hotel) and my wife came with me for some winter sun & shopping.

The hotel is situated on Sand Key which a thin strip of sand that runs along Clearwater, about 5 minutes walk from the hotel is a lovely beach looking out to the Gulf of Mexico, the hotel is situated on the other side of the sand key and the room balconies look back across the water to Clearwater.

We were met by very friendly staff on arrival from the door men to the check-in staff everything was friendly and efficient. Our room was a suite (which I think every room is at this hotel) it was spacious enough for 2 people. There are 2 large flat screen TVs, a wet bar area and a lounge sitting area. The room also has a balcony with 2 chairs and a table. The room was clean and in good repair.

Breakfast is normally a sore point for my wife - however here it was one of the best breakfasts she ever had at any hotel, which is saying something! The evening meal in the restaurant has to be the highlight of this hotel. Firstly the waiting staff are very highly trained and provide a very in depth description of the menu choices. The steak is claimed to be the best in Tampa - while we didn't get to eat in every steak house in Tampa I can say that the food at the Restaurant was excellent and a good reason to stay at this hotel.

The hotel has a lovely pool with a waterfall, the pool bar also serves food & again the staff and service here are excellent.

My wife and I would highly recommend staying at this hotel especially at the time of year we visited - it was very quiet and relaxing but just minutes from Clearwater and Tampa.

We would like to thank all of the staff who took care of us & made what could have been another bland business trip that bit more special.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    393
    142
    61
    28
See reviews for
459
272
13
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

marriot clearwater beach, fla. a must see and visit--upon arriving a mini-tour (not a sales pitch)--just enough information---great service and friendly greeting---all rooms overlook the water (no guessing game here) early checkin not a problem--rooms clean large--pool was fantastic with tiki-bar (kokomo's) they could not do enough for you--pleasent people everyware---hotel breakfast ---everyday with a small charge for upgrade---hotel dinning was right on---great steaks and a large menu---outside a small boradwalk with variety stores along the route---trolley cars for shopping and golf in other areas (no car necessary) maid service was good and timely---of course the weather was fantastic---cannot say enough you must see it for yourself

Room Tip: no guessing game all rooms face the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valley village, ca
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

WOW. Im blown away that Tripadvisor led me to this hotel with its 4/5 rating. The lobby and employees are extremely nice, however thats where it ends. The minute we opened the door to our room, we were overwhelmed by the severly strong room spray/deodorizer/scent that was sprayed. It was burning both of our noses. We ended up leaving the sliding door open the entire day to air it out, but it still was just WAY too much. The red rug and furniture looked super old and outdated. You couldn't pay me to walk around barefoot or sit on that couch. I wish I would have just paid an extra $100 more for a real luxury resort and not had to worry. Eeeek will not be back! $200 is too much for this room.

Room Tip: Maids need to take it easy on the room spray!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYSSandKey, General Manager at Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Rachellebrandon,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.
We appreciate your positive remarks about the staff.
As far as the furniture we last renovated four years ago.
We updated our guest room furniture and added two large flat screen TV's per suite as well.
We adhere to high cleanliness standards and have addressed your concerns with our housekeeping TEAM.
Again, thank you for bringing your concerns to my attention.
Happy Holidays from all of us.

Philippe Eversdijk GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We have recently returned from an eleven night stay at Marriott Suites after having spent ten days in Orlando.We were totally blown away by the way we were treated by all of the staff. They really couldn't do enough for you and made us feel as if we were part of their family and not just guests. It started when we were met at the hotel entrance by Bob one of the valets, continued by Trinity the duty manager on the first day that we arrived and just got better each day. As far as we are concerned the staff at Marriott Suites have set a bench mark in customer care that it is difficult to see how it could be bettered. In particular we have to say a huge THANK YOU to Kimi, Alex, Savanngh, Jay at Kokomos, Bob, Hendra and Ed the valets, Trinity, Taylor, Stephen on the front desk. The cleaning supervisors Chris, Adrienne and all their brilliant staff, Rodney from the kitchens and all the staff in the hotel cafe and Phillippe the general manager. A hotel is only a building it's the people who work there that truly make it somewhere you want to stay. We would have no hesitation in going back again. If you're looking for somewhere to stay in Clearwater don't think of anywhere else you really can't get any better than this.
Thank you everyone for a truly memorable holiday and sorry to anyone we forgot to mention but we lost our list of people we wanted to mention during the trip home.
Adrian, Alison and Becky Wroe who stayed 15th to 26th November 2012. Happy holiday to you all.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Just got back from Clearwater and the Mariott with my friend Nancy, and we were blown away at this Hotels Staff, Cleanliness and especially the Bartender Rick Williams. The Hotel was clean, the food was amazing, the front desk staff was friendly, made great suggestions, offered Mimosa's upon check-in, the Concierge, Paul was extremely knowledgeable and congenial, gave us some fantastic places to go see and they were exactly as he said they were. Thegreatest part of our stay was going down to the hotel bar to have a drink the first night we were there. I have never met a bartender that with all his being LOVED what he did, because the love of his job was spilling out of him !! He prepared exactly the kinds of drinks I loved but I didn't know I loved them until he made them and we tasted them. He had a great sense of humor, friendly always with a smile on his face and the patrons in the bar were feeling what we felt because we were chatting with them all. We are convinced that Rick is the "Shining Star" of the Marriot Suites Clearwater Beach and when I come back to visit, there is no hesitation in my mind to where I would stay AGAIN and AGAIN !!!! Marriot hit the gold mine with Rick coming on board. AMAZING, FANTASTIC and the BEST we've experienced !!! Hope to see him again late winter!!

Vicki and Nancy from "BOSTON"

Room Tip: All rooms appear to have a great view. Some of the bay, others overlooking the pool because of its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYSSandKey, General Manager at Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Vicki K,
Thank you so much for taking the time and share your review.
I was delighted to see you enjoyed your stay and truly appreciate you highlighting Rick for making such a positive impression. I'll be sure to share the review with Rick and the rest of our TEAM. Thanks again and Happy Holidays!

Philippe Eversdijk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingswood, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I chose this hotel after comparing rates and noting that we could get a suite at Marriott for the same price as a regular room across the street at the Sheraton (which is Beachfront). After a long day of travel which included flying and driving, we were greeted on arrival with a glass of chilled champagne. In fact, every time we went down to the lobby for something, the staff asked me if I'd like another glass of champagne. I felt very pampered. Although across the street from the Gulf of Mexico, this hotel was built so that all rooms have a beautiful view of the gulf as well as the intercoastal waterway. My daughter and I spent a lot of time looking at the beautiful birds circling the intercoastal waterway from our balcony. We had a microwave and small fridge in the room and a spacious balcony overlooking the pool/intercoastal. We were given free continental breakfast but for mere $5 dollars more, got the full breakfast which was very nice. We went over Thanksgiving and although the air temp was a bit chilly, the pool was nicely heated. There was a little bit of a walk to the beach, and we had to walk through the Sheraton parking lot, but I noted that the Sheraton did not have as nice a pool as Marriott and was really not as nice a hotel from the looks of the exterior. We enjoyed this hotel and its marvelous staff and did not want to leave!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with this hotel, all rooms have a good view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYSSandKey, General Manager at Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Zamorna621,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
It was a pleasure to read that you and your daughter enjoyed yourselves at our hotel.
Thank you for your compliments regarding our Staff. I am blessed working with such a great group of talented individuals! I'll be sure to share your feedback with them.
Happy Holidays from all of us.

Sincerely,

Philippe Eversdijk - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is my favorite Marriott. I have stayed here several times and have never been disapointed. There are water views on both sides of the rooms. The ocean is a golf cart ride away, but it is great fun for the little ones. Also, they have an excellent pool area and activties for the kids.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key

Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#24 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#25 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast at the Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. Offering a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, this Marriott is a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.