We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key to your Saves list
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate the Savings
Ranked #26 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Armagh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is very nice with a great pool and bar beside the pool. Rooms were small for 3 people but were exceptionally clean and room service was great.
Good location and staff very helpful. Fantastic beaches

Room Tip: Rooms apparently are all the same - but are exceptionally clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    405
    144
    62
    30
See reviews for
465
280
16
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Hotels across the road have beachfront access and interior entrances. This hotel has exterior entrances. Not a plus in my book for safety and I'd have booked elsewhere based on that alone, had I known. The rooms are all alike with water views and very small balconies. Nice pool area, but no beach. Booked spa appointments weeks in advance by phone only to have them call and reschedule. After we changed our plans to accommodate them, we ended up waiting a half hour and only getting half the time for services. A complimentary service was advertised and specifically booked, but not provided and staff said they got no information about what we'd booked and were not prepared. They called us the day before to tell us to leave early and plan for delays due to an event in town, but their own staff was late. They were set to charge us for a full hour of service when we were in for only 30 minutes. No apologies. Only a so so massage. Very unprofessional from the first impression to end. Don't bother with the spa.

Room Tip: Rooms are the same, but higher floor is quieter and away from the central elevators means less foot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, FL
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at this Marriott while at a conference and found it to be a very nice stay. The service was very nice, almost over the top - someone walked me and my one bag to the elevator upon check in. That wasn't necessary but was the first indication that they really value the customer experience. When I asked where the fitness center was, again I was escorted to it instead of being given directions.

The building itself is nice, looks to have been updated with the exception of the room bathroom. That could have used some sprucing up. The fact that the suite's balcony overlooked the bay and you could see the ocean across the street from the front door was very nice. Turn down service in the room was appreciated. I used the fitness center twice and have to say it was one of the nicest I've been in for quite a while. More than one treadmill and it overlooked the pool area and the equipment was all in working order. Never used the pool as it was too cool but it was lovely.

I ate at the in-hotel restaurant and it was fine - it's a steakhouse and they had to accommodate a vegetarian so it was a little bit of a stretch for them. But they did a good job. The food in general throughout the conference was more than adequate.

The only downside was that the door to our room refused to open after check in and it required maintenance to fix it. The housekeeper who discovered me trying to get in the room promptly said she'd call maintenance and was good on her promise. The front desk provided extra Marriott points for the inconvenience. The issue was fixed very quickly.

Overall, a very nice stay at this Marriott and would recommend to business or pleasure travelers who want a nice, relaxing hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room on a high floor so the view of the ocean was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deephaven, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

It was the first time it went to Clear water and I was pleasantly suprised how nice it was. Lots of things to do, from running. renting bikes, to fishing. I would highly recommend visiting Clear Water Beach!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I traveled with friends and my husband a 1 yr old. Hotel was super accomodating to everyone, all the rooms are suites w/beautiful views of the gulf, and VERY kid friendly (there's a fun parrot named Lisa at the entrance, the manager gave the kids each a small stuffed turtle- sweet small gestures). Will help you w/anything, free ride to the beach.
The ONLY downside is that the nicer beach is clearwater, compared to sand key state park. the state park is much quieter and calmer, but you can't easily just grab food and walk back onto the beach. However, it's 2.5 miles from the pier area and free transportation, and we felt the hotel was awesome (esp for the price) and thus really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: I heard higher floors are better, but we stayed on the 4th floor (422/423) and our rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our stay st this hotel was amazing. The rooms were great, clean with separate bedroom, living area with mini kitchenette, coffe maker, fridge, microwave etc. The view from our balcony was awesome. The hotel staff was friendly, Lisa - the parrot was a little mean but she won't hurt you if you come to close. They have a Kids Club - for a fee you can leave your child with the staff and let them do crafts, watch a movie or play games while us parents can enjoy the water sports or a speed boat. Nice restaurant...cost a bit much but wait till you taste their food - I had the Sea Bass and it just melted in my mouth, good wine with it, steak was amazing also with veggies and potatos..wow...I can go on and on, but you have to try it. The pool side bar is great, cabbanas are to be booked for a day rental, they have also hula dancer, activities etc. You are going to like it:)
The Spa at the hotel is to Die For - it's called Antonio's Spa offers a full service!
To get to the beach you have to leave the hotel and go across the road to the other side...5 minutes walk or you can take the hotel transportation and be there in 2 minutes:) Hope you going to have a great time...I know we did it.

Room Tip: Top florr and corner unit to avoid extra noise from your neighbors:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The headline says it all - very nice staff at every turn, but a very tired property that needs major refreshing. Marriott places this hotel in a higher tier (for rewards points) than the Tampa Marriott Waterside and the St. Petersburg Renaissance Vinoy -- and there is no way that's accurate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key

Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#8 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#22 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#26 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast at the Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. Offering a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, this Marriott is a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.