We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Family Reunion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key

Save Saved
You added Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 95 hotels in Clearwater
Winchester, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Memorable Family Reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Having stayed at this hotel previously and had wonderful service it was not too difficult to put this hotel on our short list of locations for a family reunion on the occasion of my daughter's fortieth birthday. We were not dissapointed with our choice. The management and front desk team did a great job of coordinating all the suites close together on the same level for arrivals over a three day period. Over the next twelve days, our group had a wonderful time. The service was outstanding, the Watercolors restuarant was wonderful even going the "extra mile" to provide a birthday cake appropriate for the occasion. Maybe the Hotel is not the most modern or the rooms not the largest, but the cleanliness, the bed comfort and the staff and the service I consider to be more important. From arrival to departuree the experience was first class, wonderful location and views, jet ski or parasail from the poolside deck, restaurant alternatives and small stores along the board walk from the hotel pool/cabanas, walk or buggy ride to the sugar sand beach across the street at Sand Key Park. The price is, in my opinion, excellent value for the quality, service and safe location. I have stayed in other Florida hotels in poor locations with inferior service and been charged outrageously, not so here. I am having difficulty in finding aything negative to say about this hotel and it's employees. Everyone in our party enjoyed themselves, even the other guests appeared to be having a good time also, when this happens it is almost infectious. the Marriott Suites on Sand Key found a way of proving that life really does begin at forty. We have something to look forward to; returning here whenever possible!

Room Tip: Floor 5 and above, lower floors on the south side can be boisier from the activity in and around the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Front Office Manager at Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for writing a warm review about our property! We always enjoy hosting you and your wonderful family! Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Julia Brensel
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    415
    369
    132
    56
    28
See reviews for
430
252
13
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We had booked for 5 nights in April after 9 nights in Orlando to escape the hustle and bustle of the Orlando area and theme parks! We found the location to be quite good - we knew that we were not going to be directly on the beach but after reading other reviews before we arrived we knew we only had a short walk across the road through the Sheraton Hotel. Free parking was great and plenty of room. Views from our 4th floor room across the inland waterway were great (would have been better higher up but we saw no reason to ask to be moved as all rooms are generally the same apart from the slightly higher view!).
Our biggest disappointment was with the rooms themselves. We did expect bigger to be honest, particularly the beds. With 2 adults and 2 teenagers we found the beds too small. Bathroom is quite small to be honest too. Bit dated as well and my wife did complain about the moldy smell but generally very clean if a little old now. We did ask whether the bed situation could be sorted but were told that all rooms were generally the same if we wanted two beds in the main bedroom so we put up with this for the 5 nights.
Lobby area and staff were very good and friendly. Pool area was great and we all loved it. Nice location next to the boardwalk with a few shops and eating places. We didn't eat at the Hotel as too expensive and also skipped the Columbia restaraunt (although this looked very nice!). We ate at Maggie Maes twice (breakfast and lunch) which was great although got very busy for breakfast so we had to sign ourselves onto a list to be seated and this took about 15-20 mins before we ate. After walking through the Sheraton I can say the lack of beach location isn't a problem and the pool at the Mariott is better than the Sheraton! Wasn't that impressed with Sand Key beach to be honest and we preferred to drive up to Clearwater beach or further down towards Indian Rock or St Pete Beach (which we loved). If we go back to the Gulf Coast I think we'll try staying in the St Pete area as we found there to be a lot more places to shop and eat and closer to the beach than the Sand Key (and Clearwater Beach) area. We didn't have a bad experience at the Mariott by any means and 5 days in this area is just not long enough but we probably wouldn't return to this Hotel unfortunately.

Room Tip: Most rooms are the same in terms of layout but choose a higher room if you want better views! All vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Front Office Manager at Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for writing a review about our property. I apologize that your stay was not as exciting as you wished. Your comments will be shared with the members of our Executive Committee. I hope you will come back and see us again.

Thank you,

Julia Brensel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Very glad we didn't pay for this one, used our bonus points. Great location, very nice pool and the rest of the place has potential but is really quite run down.
Our room had a great view and the size and layout were terrific but we could not escape the moldy smell. House keeping was prompt to come and address it. Unfortunately the "this will take care of it" spray only made the room sell like fruit loops AND mold.

Sand Key is beautiful, but next time we will look for a condo to rent

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Front Office Manager at Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about our property! I am very sorry that you had a disappointing experience with our rooms. Your comments will be passed to our Executive Housekeeper in order to rectify the problem. I hope you will come back to stay with us, and your next trip will be more enjoyable.

Best Regards,

Julia Brensel
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Although we had a few minor problems during our stay these were quickly resolved. The suite was nicely located with lovely views over the water but I would not regard it as large enough for four adults, great for two though.
Although this hotel is a trolley ride away from Clearwater Beach itself, it is just a few minutes walk from the lovely Sand Key beach and a free buggy service is provided for those who want a ride.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Front Office Manager at Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing your review about our property! We are glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Your comments will be shared with the members of our team. We hope to see you come back soon.

Thank you,

Julia Brensel
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Overall we enjoyed the hotel after a busy week in Orlando. The rooms are clean and big enough for a family of 4. Nice views overlooking the inland waterways. Lack of any towel rails was annoying. The hotel staff were great, especially at Kokomos bar. Free parking was an added bonus. The biggest downside was the distance to Clearwater and Pier 60. A bus does run however. We were expecting more restaurants within walking distance. Would definately come back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

My husband is a platinum member through work, so we always try to stay at Marriott hotels for vacations. We had reservations for four nights at this particular resort. We were greeted by very polite staff, but it went down hill from there. The rooms are all entered from the outside instead of a hallway, which my husband and I don't care for. Then, upon entering the room, there was a musty smell and the room appeared neat but dated. Within minutes my sinuses started acting up from something in the room. When we decided to check out and move onto another hotel, the staff was once again very polite and seemed in agreement that the hotel was dated. The staff was very helpful in finding another resort for us, weather it was in the Marriott family or not.

Room Tip: Don't stay if you have bad allergies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new bedford, ma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

I don't know where to begin - but having worked at Five Star / Five Diamond resorts, (Ritz Carlton) I am somewhat surprised that Bill Marriott put his stamp on this place....I get the location - nice - on Sand Key (no beach!! - when I am in FL, I want SAND) - but really not up to the Marriott standards - I'd pass...I would NEVER stay here again. While the problems presented to the Front Desk were somewhat rectified, it really should have stayed a Radisson - it just isn't Marriott quality. That's all I can say -

Room Tip: There are no good rooms - they are ALL exterior corridors - spend some $$ on a refurb if you plan on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key

Address: 1201 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#7 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#15 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#22 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the beautiful Gulf Coast at the Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key Florida's only all-suite Marriott hotel. Offering a special resort experience with suite accommodations overlooking Clearwater Bay, this Marriott is a casually elegant destination for a family trip or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach On Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Marriott Clearwater
Clearwater Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Suites Clearwater Beach on Sand Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.