We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best caring service in town.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   940 Court Street, Clearwater, FL 33756   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #10 of 95 hotels in Clearwater
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tampa fl
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best caring service in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Hotel is well managed and well staffed. Crew is well trained. Front desk handles visitors really well. They truly care about their guests. Rooms are very clean and well-kept. House-keeping is on their A-Game. Property is centrally located to do business in downtown Clearwater and only a handful of blocks to newly renovated "Capital Theater" where recently Eddie Money played and also Jay Leno performed. Definitely good bang for the buck.

Room Tip: Several local companies deliver a variety of food...but have to ask for menus at front desk...which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka C, General Manager at Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. I was glad to read you liked our property and services; we take great pride in serving our guests the true Marriott way. I was also glad to read you enjoyed your entertainment. We heard it was a great turn out. Thank you again, please make sure to come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    54
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
59
57
5
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We have only been here one night out of 5, and looking forward to the remainder of our stay!

First, I have to fully agree with previous reviews; the ladies and gentlemen who work here are absolutely amazing. Period.

We arrived on a very busy day, check in was fast as we were quite early. As explained in other reviews, we are in a spacious studio, separate sink from bathroom….awesome, couch may be a bit uncomfy...well pretty umcomfy but the rest is perfect! Full fridge, dishwasher, microwave and 2 burner stovetop. I am a bit of a princess and needed a softer bed. Very quickly Belinda at the front desk was awesome and a solution was delivered to our room right away. (The gentleman who brought the insert for our bed was so stealth like, I did not get his name). THANK YOU!

We were informed that there was a complimentary Evening Social last evening (beer, wine and bbq was todays menu). We enjoyed yummy chicken salad and wine…..have I mentioned this was complimentary??! There were more options of burgers, hotdogs, chips, cookies, juices and 'pop' for us Canadians (sodas). hehe The friendly server Nikki, was so sweet and clearly working very hard to make sure everyone was happy:)

I forgot we needed bottled water for our early day today. I went downstairs and the little shop last night to grab some. I had to charge to the room and there was a check in line at the desk. Randall recognized me and said he would take care of the charge to our room rather that waiting! After a few short hours, we feel like we were home:) Can't say enough!

Besides the complimentary Social (it looks like it is offered 3 days a week); wifi, parking and breakfast is included as well. How can you go wrong? Breakfast was very busy, I felt bad for the gentleman working hard to fill the rapidly cleaned out buffet while dodging people. We opted to bring breakfast to our room. It was quite nice:)

The property is not directly on the beach but across a bridge. We did not find it a hassle to get there as traffic was breezy (other reviews comment on traffic so I can't give accurate info from 1 day but I can see how this may be an issue during busy times). Staying on the beach is really nice but considering the difference in rates and amenities offered, driving isn't an issue for us. Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown ROCKS:) We are excited for the remainder of our stay:)

Happy travels!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka C, General Manager at Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Wow thank you so much for your kind comments they made our day. Our goal each and every day is to make sure our guests feel like home. We appreciate all comments we receive in order to deliver the best customer service we can. Thank you again your descriptions were so thoughtful. Let's us know if we can be of any service during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We recently stayed at this property for several nights (with a toddler) and had a great experience. The one bedroom suite was clean and well equipped, complimentary breakfast was great, and the staff was all very accommodating & gracious. Special thanks to Kathy for our VIP access to the Clearwater Aquarium! We would definitely recommend this property and hope to return.....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Only a quick ten-minute drive from the beach! In the summer months we recommend leaving for the beach between 8am and 10am because after 10am the road leading to the beach is jammed pack with traffic. Also if you area traveling with your pet – they are pet friendly which is always a plus! Always a fun and friendly staff!

Room Tip: The higher you go - the better the view. You can't see the beach or anything but if your room fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catonsville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We attended a family wedding nearby so this was affordable and conveniently located for us. Otherwise I am sure there are better locations nearer to the beaches if that is your desire. That being said our stay was great. The 2 bedroom suite was very quiet and worked out great for us. Breakfast was nothing special but it was free! Although the hotel is on a main street it was easy to access. The front desk personnel were awesome at all times.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was searching for an affordable hotel in the clearwater area and while looking at the horrendous prices the front beach hotels at clearwater beach were charging I got really frustrated, by accident I came across this hotel. Let me tell you this hotel was the perfect choice!
We arrived by car and they have lots of parking space for no extra charge, which is always a plus.
Our room was fairly big (bigger as the standard hotel/motel rooms) with a kitchenette including a microwave, fridge and dishwasher plus a little kitchen table with chairs (so could really cook some simple dinner). There was also a little living room area with a couch and a table and a flat screen. Our big king size bed was very comfortable, we also enjoyed the separated sink/shower area, and that there were lots of storage space for our clothes. Wifi (for free) and air conditioning worked well, too. Room service was excellent, everything was clean, towels were changed daily (if you wanted them to)
Here is what impressed me most about that hotel: The friendly people working there, always greeting you with a smile, chatting with you about your day/giving you tips for the beaches, and answering your questions! The elderly man working at the reception (sadly forgot his name) was so nice, attentive and helpful, that I can´t say enough good words about him!
Breakfast is included … a REAL breakfast, they offer coffee, juice, milk, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, eggs, bread, jam, honey, bacon, waffles etc. Sadly the breakfast room is not that big, so sometimes people were waiting for a free table or taking their breakfast up to their room.
About the beach: First of all they even offer umbrellas, beach chairs and coolers at the hotel for free, so you don´t have to bring your own stuff or buy those things! Just ask at the reception! On weekdays the clearwater/ sand key beaches are just a 5 minute drive, and we always got a parking space directly at the beach (parking costs $1.0 or $1.25 per hour). At weekends there is more traffic, which means that it might take you a little bit longer to drive to the beaches (like 15-20minutes) but that´s not a big deal. Even during labor day weekend it took us only 15 minutes to get to the beach. Clearwater beach, sand key park, indian rocks beach … they are so stunning.
Grocery stores, restaurants (both fast food like domino´s, taco bell, dunlin donuts and real restaurants) are just a short 5 minute drive.
If you are looking for a decent hotel near to the beaches, but you don´t want to pay the high beachfront hotels prices … the Residence Inn should be your choice!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown

Address: 940 Court Street, Clearwater, FL 33756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#8 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#15 Business Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown Hotel Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.