We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend Highly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   940 Court Street, Clearwater, FL 33756   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #11 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Recommend Highly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Very clean and well run. Front desk attentive and helpful with every situation. Room was extremely clean. Breakfast area was run efficiently. Went to breakfast at very nice small restaurant 1-1/2 blocks from hotel called Tin Can Restaurant (collection of tin containers on display throughout, hence the name). Parking lot is easily accessible. Hotel is about 3 miles from Clearwater Beach. You have to go over a bridge and then along a causeway to get there. There is a round-about at the end of this approach highway which slows the traffic down. Be aware that this access going into Clearwater Beach was very busy and backed up on the weekend.
Not much else to add other than the hotel is extremely well run, clean and with friendly and helpful staff. We enjoyed our family vacation stay and would not hesitate at all to return for another stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka C, General Manager at Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
I wanted to take a moment and thank you very much for your comments you posted. We always enjoy reading feedback from our guests. You are 100% correct the beach traffic can be a bit backed up especially on the weekends. Our staff takes great pride in serving our guests the true Marriott way. I was pleased to read if you are back in the Clearwater area again you would select our property for your choice of lodging. Again, thank you very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    82
    18
    3
    6
See reviews for
88
89
8
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a reasonably quiet(at least on upper floor) downtown hotel. It is about 5 minutes from the beach. Breakfast was decent. Pool nice but no hot tub. Exercise room ok, though no sport/basketball court. Desk help was friendly & helpful. A three night stay, I would do again- though the rooms were far from inexpensive.

Room Tip: Road noise could be a factor, especially on lower floors- elevator was quick, as e stayed on floor 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka C, General Manager at Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
I just wanted to take a moment and respond to your comments. The feedback from our guests is so important in the growth of this property. Unfortunately due to the size of our parking lot and pool there was no room for a hot tub. We too would have enjoyed an amenity like that for our guests. We hope if you are in the Clearwater area again you select our property for your choice of lodging. Thank you again, have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Loved this hotel it is as advertised on there web site. Very clean and quiet. Close to Clearwater Beach without the crowd. Staff were all very helpful. Only draw back was resturants not close by.....we got groceries and ordered in so wasn't that bad. The breakfast was good and they had a bbq one of the nights we were there. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I'm sure if you don't have a dog the rooms are better. The first room we were in was horrid. By that I mean they had impeded bugs in microwave and the furniture was badly scratched. When I went down and complained they changed the room the next day. If they charge the $100 per animal and I'm sure whoever did the damage of the furniture they paid a damage fee, don't you think it would have been replaced. Since my dog doesn't bark and doesn't shed it was hard for us to listen to the barking at 1:30 am. One lady had two dogs and she told me she doesn't have to stay on the second floor like we had to. They knew her because they were constantly speaking with her. I did complain about the barking. Thought maybe he (the dog) was left alone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka C, General Manager at Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I wanted to take a moment and respond to your comments you posted. First I want to apologize that the rooms were not up to your expectations. This is unacceptable all our guests should enjoy and deserve to relax in a fresh room regardless if you’re traveling with your extended family. We work very hard updating and maintaining the appearance of the property especially with damaged goods. You are correct if we find a room that has endured damages we do indeed charge the registered guest checking out of that room. I remember your dog lovely animal I met him at the elevator very well behaved as you mention. Again I am truly sorry we did not meet your expectations and hope you would give us another chance if you are ever in the Clearwater area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed 5 nights at thins location. As expected from the chain. Pet friendly 3 floors and below. Had no problems from check in to check out. Staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. Internet was degraded when full from FRI - SUN so be aware of that. Other nights of the weekday there was no problem. Free breakfast and managers nights MON - WED. Was only 2.7 miles from Clearwater beach, which was a nice run from the hotel for you runners like me out there. No jacuzzi, but a nice pool and exercise room with good set of free weights 2 treadmills etc... I would stay here again but on a higher floor away from the laundry room. 2 days I worked from room and heard the giant washers spin cycle. But that is only during the days. No problems at night. Thanks for reading and as expected, video on my YouTube channel.

Pros:

- Breakfast
- Staff
- Location from Clearwater beach

Cons:

- No Jacuzzi
- Spin cycles in washing machines

RetiredArmyRANGER

Room Tip: Stay above the 3rd floor for a FLEA FREE Stay! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka C, General Manager at Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
I wanted to take a moment and respond to your nice comments you posted. I was happy to read that you enjoyed the property as well as the location. It is because of our guests like you that share their feedback with us help our case in getting things improved at the hotel. Our company is currently working on getting our internet upgraded so all our guests can enjoy the internet equally on any given night. Again thank you so much and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

For the 2nd time in one year, we spent a week in a beautiful suite (712). 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen, nice furniture, extremely clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka C, General Manager at Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Wow thank you very much for your kind words. Our two bedroom suites are the gem of the hotel they sell very quickly they are ideal for families and long term guests. Thank you so much and we hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown TN
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I've stayed here several times. The young people working the desk are extremely helpful. The rooms are well maintained and very comfortable. The breakfast is one of the best I've had at this type of hotel. They seem to work very hard to make it so, and it shows. We had to check out at 4am and the young lady behind the desk made a pot of coffee to get us on our way. We really appreciate service like that. Thanks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka C, General Manager at Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you so much, I am very proud of the team we have here they truly know what customer service is all about. Thank you again for your comments I will be sharing them with my team. Please consider us if you are ever in the Clearwater area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown

Address: 940 Court Street, Clearwater, FL 33756
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#11 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#13 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Marriott, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown Hotel Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.