We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   940 Court Street, Clearwater, FL 33756   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #11 of 95 hotels in Clearwater
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Hampton, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was our families first time to the Clearwater area, so I was a little hesitant to book a 'downtown' hotel just because I wanted to be by the beach. But after looking a around, the best deal for us was booking here. To start off, we flew right into Clearwater airport and it was easy to find, about 15 mins away. Beautiful hotel and kept up well. Even though we couldn't see the beach- this hotel is super! Even single one of the staff went out of their way to say hello and was super helpful. We stayed here two nights, we booked a suite with a king bed/bathroom and the other bedroom with it's own bathroom is seperated by a full kitchen and living room. We headed to Publix and stocked up the fridge (maybe 5 mins away)The outside pool is medium size, great workout room and they have a good continental, complimentary breakfast every morning! Which if you have kids- you know this saves you a ton of time, money and patience ;) They even had nice laundry, which was right across our room, so we washed all our clothes before we headed to Orlando area. The beach is about 5-7 mins away, you get to cross the bay bridge which the kids loved. We parked in the public area ( remember to bring quarters as most spots are meters). Clearwater Beach is awesome. They clean it daily. It might be the best sand we have been on. We will hopefully be back soon. We truely appreciate good hotels, especially when your on vacation and this was perfect! Thanks!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    58
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
63
64
5
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

If you are doing business downtown, have a relative at Morton Plant hospital, or need to be in the downtown area, this is a convenient hotel to stay at. But it is not the best choice if you are wanting to stay ON clearwater beach.

That being said, I was doing business downtown and for me it was the perfect location. It's close to businesses and surrounded by lots of eateries. It's a bit tricky to get to because Court Street is only one way so keep that in mind when you are navigating, but it's not a big deal.

The staff here is really friendly - April and others at the front desk go out of there way to help you and I felt at home.

The rooms are wonderful! Ample space to relax. Full size fridge, range cooktop, microwave, utensils, dish washer, etc. For the price, you cannot beat this value.

I would definitely stay here again.

The only reason I didnt give 5 stars is because I reserve that rating for flagship hotels in resort locations and/or for hotels which have unique features. While this hotel is not a flagship property, it is a solid 4 star hotel and you will enjoy your stay here if you want to be in downtown clearwater.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We recently had a conference here and everything went very smoothly. The hotel is only about 5 years old, is very clean and had meeting space available for about 25 people. Breakfast and managers receptions were nice and they even had grills that we could use for an evening social event. We were able to get government rates and were only about 5 minutes from Clearwater Beach. Barbara did a great job of helping with our Conference and staying on top of everything with our hotel reservations. The front desk staff was all very nice and helpful during our stay. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone traveling for business or for pleasure. I also recommend checking out the town of Dunnedin, which is close by and a great walking town, with lots of shops, pubs and restaurants.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the park on the 5th floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka C, General Manager at Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
I wanted to take a moment and express my gratitude for the kind comments you posted. Our team takes great strides every day to ensure our guests are comfortable throughout their stay with us. I was especially please to read that Barbara continues to show just how much of an asset she is to our hotel. Our location is great just minutes from the beach as well as surrounding cities. We hope if you are ever in the area again you select our property for your choice of lodging. Again thank you very much we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Good quite hotel in downtown Clearwater. The staff was helpful and friendly, and treated me right, especially wduring the check-in process. The hotel has with hot free breakfast and in room Internet. The staff was friendly and helpful. Would stay here again when in the area. Beaches were close by, and have some great restaurants,

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka C, General Manager at Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
I was please to read that our team treated you the only way we know how The Marriott Way. We are very passionate about our property and guests that stay with us. Our goal each and every day is to make our guests and staff happy. Thank you very much for your comments and was happy to read that you would stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Recently stayed here and enjoyed every bit of it. They were running a special for the weekend for $89 so we decided to book this hotel. Hotel is like 2 miles from the beach and has a great breakfast in the morning. Rooms were clean and very modern looking. I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka C, General Manager at Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I wanted to take a moment and thank you for staying with us and was glad to read that you enjoyed our property. I was pleased to read you were able to take advantage with one of the many times we offer great discounts at our hotel. Our proximity to the Clearwater Beach is definitely a great attraction for us. Again, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effingham, Illinois
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Residence Inn at Clearwater, Florida, was a pleasant place to stay for a visit with family.
We were there for a weekend. The rooms have a full kitchen, nice living room. bedroom,and bath. They were very clean. The hot breakfast with fresh fruit, yogurt, and waffles was good. It was nice not to have to hunt up a restaurant each morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka C, General Manager at Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I was happy to read that you enjoyed our property while in town visiting your family. We take a great deal of pride serving our guest’s the true Marriott way. Our layout of our rooms is exactly what Marriott was thinking in order to provide the comfort and convenience to our guests. Thank you again for staying with us and providing such nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keystone Heights, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The room was great ! Clean with kitchen and nice sheets ! The breakfast was wonderful .Staff was super nice and helpful , Thank you Randall .The beach was 5 minutes .away .The pool was beautiful . I would stay
here again .

Room Tip: The hotel is tricky to get to , but once you figure it out your o.k . 5 minutes from beach and saved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka C, General Manager at Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
I wanted to take a moment and thank you for your kind words describing our property. Our team takes great pride in serving our guest both with customer service and guest amenities. I will let Randall know he knocked another out of the park with his attention to our guests. We hope if you are ever in the area again you select our property for your choice of lodging.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown

Address: 940 Court Street, Clearwater, FL 33756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#10 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#10 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown Hotel Clearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.