We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dolphins” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Encounter

Dolphin Encounter
PO Box 3563, Clearwater, FL 33767
727-442-7433
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 100 Activities in Clearwater
Type: Water sports, Adventure
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“dolphins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

we didnt get to see any dolphins but enjoyed the boat trip to shell island. it was worth not seeing dolphins just to go there. we were offered a free trip to see dolphins but we were going home the next day.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We did not see dolphins but the boat ride was worth it. We heard about the surrounding properties and the captain was very pleasant. The deck hands were pleasant and friendly.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“SeaScreamer to avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We booked to go on this boat today at 2pm,as it was our last day in Clearwater.we paid our money at 12.30pm and was told to return at 10 minutes to 2.
We went and sat on the beach until the time we were told to return.

We were sat outside the hut from 1.50pm until 2.15 pm watching all the other 2pm boat cruises leave. At this time the man came out of the hut and told us that there were only 9 people and that he was cancelling the trip as his boss had told him that unless the were 10 people it could not go.

We were offed our money back or told that we could return at 4pm for the next sailing,it was then one of the other expectant trippers told us that had already happened to them as they had originally booked for the 12 o'clock trip and they told them to return at 2pm.

We got our money refunded but what was supposed to have been a beautiful end to our trip was ruined.

No apology was offered even though we had been waiting for 25 minutes and could of been told earlier that wasn't enough people.

Please try one of the other operators and avoid this one, save you been left high and dry and very disappointed

Steven and Sarah.England

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Special Privilege”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

See review under Clearwater Aquarium. Wonderful opportunity to learn and touch dolphins. Signing up needs to take place online. Grandson spent 20 minutes at poolside and then received a tour behind the scene.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Encounters with dolphins "WOW"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We had planned to use another tour company, but we got lost & and arrived late, according to the other company, they were leaving, which wasn't true, they were still there when we arrived. We choose Encounters With Dolphins instead and we were glad that we did. What a great experience we had. We saw lots of dolphins, took tons of video's and photo's. The captain was fantastic!!! We stopped off at a island, and found some beautiful seashells. We took our daughter & fourteen month old grand baby, they had a great time!!!. When we got back, the cashier had photo's of us. We purchased the photo & the keychain, both were priced extremely reasonable. We would highly recommend this company.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Encounter also viewed

 

Been to Dolphin Encounter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Encounter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.