We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on the beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clear Sky Beachside Cafe

Clear Sky Beachside Cafe
490 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33497
(727) 442-3684
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 592 Restaurants in Clearwater
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Breakfast at Clear Sky Beachside Cafe is served with an upscale twist (by the way, you can get great Mimosas and Bloody Marys with your breakfast). Lunch and Dinner menus offer an extensive mix of Tapas Appetizers, Gourmet Pizzas, Signature Paninis, Burgers and Salads. Enjoy the Freshest Seafood on the beach, including "en papillote." Our award winning menu offers a culinary tour of the world's best flavors all in one friendly cafe conveniently located in Clearwater Beach, Florida!
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best on the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We followed the other reviews and dined here with the kids tonight. Really impressed with the depth of their menu. Cane dine up or down depending on your mood. Mahi was great, kids had pasta. Good casual vibe.

A good all around spot! Definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    756
    377
    97
    28
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed at the Sandpearl next door so decided to try this restaurant for breakfast on a Saturday morning. My mimosa was excellent (they have multiple flavors) and I overhead many people saying that they really enjoyed the Bloody Mary Bar. The menu includes many gluten free options that are clearly marked. Our breakfasts were both excellent and we enjoyed sitting outside on the patio. This restaurant seems perpetually busy so expect a wait to get a table if you come during peak hours.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“kept me coming back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

When on vacation one of the main things I am concerned with is where do we go to eat ? Usually the resort and vacation spots are very pricey and the food is not worth the price. I dont mind paying for good food but its tough to know where to go. We found a gem in clearwater beach fla. the Clear Sky Beachside Cafe was great. the food is excellent ,the price is a great value and the people were great. We walked there witout a reservation the first nite on vacation and the place was very crowded the hostess asked if we wated to eat inside or out we told her first avail. she told us the wait was 20 min. 20 minutes later we were seated no problem. the menu had alot of choices, some exotic fish and a wide spread of differt foods flatbreads, fish, steaks, lamb chops, pizza ect. we loved the food and ate dinner the the 3 nights we were in clearwater beach. you cant go wrong. I hear they are great for breakfast too!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Really just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I'm not sure why the Clear Sky rates all the rave reviews.

Now, it does have some things very much in it's favor. Number one would be location. It's right on the main drag next to the Sandpearl resort. It's kind of an interesting, funky looking place outside and in the inside/outside bar areas.

But step inside for a meal and it's just a mom and pop diner. Clean enough, but kinda worn down at the same time. The servers here are the kind that might call you "honey" no matter your age or gender. Nothing wrong with a mom 'n pop place where they call you "honey". But that's just not 5 star dining to me.

We stopped in a couple of time. Enjoyed the bar on our first visit. We came back one morning for breakfast. Meh. It was fine, but it was just breakfast. Nothing special. Coffee really wasn't too good. And the food was a few bucks too expensive for the quality. I don't know ... I guess the overhead is pretty high considering the neighborhood. Still, I wouldn't call it a bargain.

I did catch a glimpse of the lunch and dinner menu. The offerings looked a lot more ambitious that what was available at breakfast. So maybe those meals really are special. But why wouldn't breakfast be just as fabulous? Either way, you're still sitting in a vinyl booth at mom 'n pop's diner. Honey.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake in the Hills, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not bad, not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

For the price and being in a tourist hotspot, it's pretty much exactly what you'd expect. Nothing exceptional, but nothing bad, either. Kid friendly but there's a bar :)

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clear Sky Beachside Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Clear Sky Beachside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clear Sky Beachside Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.