We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, fast service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clear Sky Beachside Cafe

Clear Sky Beachside Cafe
490 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33497
(727) 442-3684
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 591 Restaurants in Clearwater
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Breakfast at Clear Sky Beachside Cafe is served with an upscale twist (by the way, you can get great Mimosas and Bloody Marys with your breakfast). Lunch and Dinner menus offer an extensive mix of Tapas Appetizers, Gourmet Pizzas, Signature Paninis, Burgers and Salads. Enjoy the Freshest Seafood on the beach, including "en papillote." Our award winning menu offers a culinary tour of the world's best flavors all in one friendly cafe conveniently located in Clearwater Beach, Florida!
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, fast service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The Cuban panini was great. The service was very fast for a group of 7 on a Friday night. It is a bit noisy inside.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    758
    377
    97
    28
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elkton, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I had dinner and the food was amazing.The menu was very creative and the service was friendly. One of the best restaurants I have every been to in this area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best meal of the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

What a great place! Stopped in for breakfast after a walk on the beach. The lobster Bennie was fantastic. Portions are huge and filling. Very decent prices. Will definitely return!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We enjoyed a late dinner/appetizers and dessert here, while staying at the Sandpearl. It was delicious and great service too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Another visit to Clear Sky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

While in Clearwater with a group of eight people, we decided to have dinner at a less-expensive Restaurant, and Clear Sky was the decision. We had a bit of a wait for a table, as it was raining and a lot of people decided to eat dinner I guess to get out of the rain. My party wanted to eat inside, which is really not the best choice, as it is noisy and more crowded, whereas outside under cover seemed like a better idea to me.

The manager worked to seat our fairly large group, which included several impatient children, and it took us about 20 minutes due to the crowd to get seated. The menu was extensive for a mid-priced restaurant, though, and the food, while certainly not gourmet level, was fine. Service was a bit hectic, as I don't think they were prepared for the sudden crowd, but our waitress did a great job, apologizing for the delays (there really weren't any compared to what service we would anticipate at a restaurant of this type), and our party was well pleased with their meals.

Clear Sky remains as a staple on the north side of the traffic circle - and one of the better, less expensive places for a quick meal or a larger dinner. I noticed that several reviewers recommended the steaks and pricier choices. I would hesitate myself to order something upscale here, as it just is not the type of restaurant that specializes in upscale foods. The Beachcomber, which is a block or two north has great sit-down (but expensive) meals in a more formal setting, and the trendy Frenchy's on the beach is nice too, but also a bit more money.

Clear Sky is just a simple, unassuming, mid-priced restaurant that the locals have liked for years, and which has attracted more and more tourists after they changed ownership, enlarged the sidewalk service area, and even added live bands some nights.

I like the place, but don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed. A good meal at a reasonable price - and that suits my budget just fine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clear Sky Beachside Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Clear Sky Beachside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clear Sky Beachside Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.