We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service but good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clear Sky Beachside Cafe

Clear Sky Beachside Cafe
490 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33497
(727) 442-3684
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 591 Restaurants in Clearwater
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Breakfast at Clear Sky Beachside Cafe is served with an upscale twist (by the way, you can get great Mimosas and Bloody Marys with your breakfast). Lunch and Dinner menus offer an extensive mix of Tapas Appetizers, Gourmet Pizzas, Signature Paninis, Burgers and Salads. Enjoy the Freshest Seafood on the beach, including "en papillote." Our award winning menu offers a culinary tour of the world's best flavors all in one friendly cafe conveniently located in Clearwater Beach, Florida!
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Slow service but good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had dinner here one evening, seems like a popular place as the restaurant was packed. We were lucky with our timings as we didn't have to wait long for a table but when we left there was a long queue waiting to be seated.

The food wasn't bad but unfortunately the service felt quite slow.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    757
    377
    97
    28
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Friday night lobster dinner - YUM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We just love Clear Sky and go there every time we're in Clearwater Beach. They have daily specials and we were there for Lobster on a Friday night. The lobster was so fresh and delicious and the full dinner was under $20. And their breakfasts are awesome - best pancakes ever. And their bloody mary bar is awesome - best bloody mary ever. You get the picture, we love this place!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Two thumbs up for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Had pancakes, husband had Java French toast with side of home fries. Food was a hit. Pancakes & French Toast were so delicious. Note, they use thick french bread to make the french toast, it is a lot of bread; probably enough for mom and small child to share. I liked the pancakes better than the French toast (which was great, I'm saying a lot about the pancakes). Coffee wasn't the worst but not the greatest either. the prices were very reasonable. our server wasn't overly friendly but we werent under attended to, she did her job with no bells and whistles. We tried Beach Shanty for breakfast the day before, where the food was ok but not great (and not piping hot). If you are deciding between Beach Shanty and Clear Sky, go with the later for sure.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Almost an English...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

British tourists on holiday! We heard this place did a great breakfast and oh boy we had to try it! The bacon was fantastic the eggs were cooked to perfection and the house potatoes were gorgeous! It may not be an English breakfast but this place know how to cook a filling ,lovely ,family friendly breakfast! Highly recommended to all!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just go, it is that good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Went to see 'Winter' at the Clearwater Marine Aquarium and was looking for somewhere to go unique but ok for kids too. Found Clear Sky Cafe on trip advisor. GREAT find. Menu selection large, a few non-traditional selections, and excellent service all in an atmosphere fine for kids. The quality of the food beats any from a higher priced chain restaurant. Portions were roughly twice what I anticipated.

We ordered the Smoked Salmon Bruscietta (sp?) and a dip. Both good. Ordered kids a pizza, adults had Thai pasta, blackened seafood platter and the seared tuna salad. Presentation, taste, portion, and quality of ingredients way surpassed expectations . Items were not over-priced.

Gabriel our waiter was great.

If we are ever back in the area we will definitely be back to sample more items from the menu. This is a fantastic place to try.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clear Sky Beachside Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Clear Sky Beachside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clear Sky Beachside Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.