We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to Stay.. Awesome Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cavalier Resort Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clearwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cavalier Resort Motel
64 Bay Esplanade, Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 95 hotels in Clearwater
Dunedin, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great place to Stay.. Awesome Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

First of all the location is perfect you are two blocks from the beach, frenchy’s, palm pavilion, brown boxer and there are two stores on each corner. Not to mention you pay a fraction of the price the other hotels are charging. We stayed here for 3 days on a family vacation, rented 2 hotels rooms and a 3 bedroom house, all of which were very clean and stock with everything we needed. The motel and pool are kept up very well. They play music by pool all day long. They have a courtyard with about 5 tables with umbrellas and a BBQ area that we took advantage of! The staff was great, anything you needed they were right there to help you. We felt right at home. The lady who runs the place asked if we need daily maid service, since it was just my husband and I staying in the room we said no, but were told if we need more towels to just put of olds ones outside on the chair and they would replace them, she said she didn’t want to bother us since it we were on vacation. Which I thought was great. We will be staying here again.
Note: Starting in June if you book 2 nights you get one free

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We always stay here when going to Clearwater. It's a short walk from everything! The rooms are nice. Most of them have kitchens (with dishes provided). The staff is very friendly. It has a very nice pool and sitting area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My best friend and I have been staying here for many years! This is a great lil place to stay! Near the beach......not crowded! Love the staff! Ellen and Russel are the best!!!!! It is very clean and comfy! My best friend and I will continue to come back year after year!! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights in March 2013. The room was outdated but that's not an issue for us since we don't spend much time in the hotel when we're vacationing. It was very clean and the bed was comfy, but it was very noisy outside. One of the mornings, we heard a garbage truck emptying dumpsters for a couple of hours. Also, with the hotel being close to the Clearwater Town dept., we heard the trucks starting up and driving by every morning. One of the nights there was some sort of generator or motor running most of the night and it kept making a high pitched noise. The microwave was far away from the outlet, I had to move it off the microwave stand onto the dinette in order to reach the outlet. We couldn't get the t.v. remote to work. The t.v. and room light were both plugged into an outlet that's controlled by the light switch next to the door, so every time we flipped the switch to turn the light off, the satellite receiver switched off, and then took 10 minutes or so to reset itself when we switched the light on. The shower, well, that needs massive improvement. It was maybe 3 feet by 3 feet square. I'm 5 foot 1 inch, 130 lbs and I had trouble fitting in it. The shower head was blasting me in the face and I had to lean forward to wash my hair and had trouble getting the water to rinse the soap off the lower half of my body. There also wasn't any outlet in the bathroom so I could plug in my hair dryer, so it was a challenge styling my hair. It definitely wasn't a great experience trying to get cleaned up. To reiterate some of the older reviews, we weren't able to get any cleaning service or fresh towels either. When we checked in, the manager told us she was very sick and said I shouldn't come too close. I appreciated that, obviously, I didn't want to catch anything. She quickly said the room key was in the room and that they wouldn't be cleaning the room while we stayed because they didn't want to bother us. Then she said that if we needed anything to just stop by the office or call. Well, I tried several times to call and ask for towels & toilet paper. No answer from the manager but I tried to leave a message but the thing cut me off right after I said my name and it said to me "if you like your message, press 1 to save it, to re-record, press 2", so I just hung up thinking there's no point in leaving a message "Hi, this is xxx". So, I rang the office doorbell several times and no answer there either. Finally I saw someone cleaning one of the rooms and I decided to barge in and ask for toilet paper and I mentioned the voice mail issue. She handed me a roll, so I had to go put it back in the room even though I was headed for the beach, and told me they'd been having issues with the voice mail. At least I didn't have to buy toilet paper. The interactions I had with the staff were, well, interesting, at best. They were very friendly, but it was impossible to contact them when we needed something. They weren't even around when it came time for us to check out. We ended up just leaving the key in the room and heading out of town. Since the Cavalier was clean and the bed was comfy, I would stay there again, if there weren't any other options out there. I'd prefer a good night's sleep, a good shower and plentiful toilet paper, so I'll look for another place to try next time.

Room Tip: Considering our room had a 3 ft x 3 ft shower, I'd suggest asking for a larger room since I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Native Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at this motel in September 2011 for 4 days. It is older and in need of some repairs, but it is clean and colorful to say the least. Ellen the manager was very friendly, and helpful. Had soft island type music playing during the day, nice courtyard, BBQ and pool area. Kitchenette provided most things; but not all. Had to share the only steak knife between us two, but we managed to make it work. WiFi signal was hard to get, had to go outside it to work. One complaint for me was the bed was very hard. My hunny liked it, but me not so much. We were able to bring our 2 dogs which was an added bonus. Plenty of area's to walk them, too bad they weren't allowed on this end of clearwater beach however. If your into the nightlife, there is a couple of hopping places a few walks away. Parking is kinda hard, but if need to, can park at lot across the street or by the nearby church.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

We Were In town for a friend's wedding and stayed here a few nights. Cheapest rates on the beach, but I think it's a homeless shelter. Several "guests" (some with kids) made us feel uneasy by their looks and proudly announced that they live there. The manager (Ellen) was friendly but was almost never around during our stay so we could not get fresh towels or other amenities. Cute rooms, great price, but little to no service and creepy guests means we will not return. Next time I'll spend a little more to get a little more. Odd little place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I recently stayed at the Cavalier Motel in Clearwater Florida. My Aunt had told me about the place a while back. From the beautifully landscaped property to the helpful and friendly Manager Ellen this place is a real gem. The relaxed atmosphere and friendly hotel guests made this place a pleasure to stay at. In the morning I was able to walk right across the street to see the sunrise at gorgeous Clearwater Beach. When I had my fill of the amazing local night life and hustle and bustle of the area I came back to my cozy little Mom and Pop motel. The tiki umbrellas and music playing softly on site remined me of being in Key West where the place seems to whispher relax, enjoy. After a leisurely swim I was able to barbeque some freshly caught seafood right on site. I stayed in an efficiency which was clean , spacious and peaceful. This place is so competitively priced that I could swim,eat and relax in the Clearwater Beach for a week or two and still have money left for souveniers. The charm of this place is in its peaceful spirit, terrific staff, comfortable beds and excellant location. Try it you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cavalier Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Resort Motel

Address: 64 Bay Esplanade, Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 95 hotels in Clearwater
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, quaint, tranquil...a family resort. Variety of units (small efficiences to 1 bedroom apartments); large, heated swimming pool; great location: walk to everything; wireless internet; on site management & much more...come see why our guests return time & time again... ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavalier Resort Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cavalier Resort Motel to your Saves list