We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Return!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Backwaters on Sand Key

Backwaters on Sand Key
1261 Gulf Blvd, Ste 130, Clearwater, FL 33767
+1 727-517-7383
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 26 Dessert in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Hamburgers, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Backwaters on Sand Key serves exceptional steaks, fresh local seafood and sandwiches on the waterfront. Beautiful views and friendly service. Full bar and lounge. Lunch or Dinner. Happy Hour 2 to 7 PM
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Will Return!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Usually go to The Columbia on Sand Key, but tried Blackwater's for a change. Service was terrific & the Seafood Mangotini was one of the best entree salads ever - tasted as delish as the presentation. The so-so grouper sandwich kept me from giving the highest food rating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    148
    43
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I've been here several times and it never disappoints. Great seafood, nothing terribly fancy but good ambiance on the bayside. Reasonable prices. I recommend the crabcakes and the seafood steam mix, on the deck if possible. Enjoy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Face, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food, Great drinks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The food was good and the bartender makes great drinks. Our group had buffalo grouper bites, lobster dip and onion straw appetizers which were all good (especially the dip). As a group we had grilled shrimp, fried shrimp, crab cakes and all the dinners were great. The drink special was red sangria for $3.50 and it was one of the best sangrias I've had. It is a local spot with obvious regulars which to me makes for a good environment. There is indoor and outdoor seating. Definitely would go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Would recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great food and service. Relaxed atmosphere. Dining inside and out. It was nice to walk from our hotel to enjoy the lovely views. Would recommend.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elma New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had great meals here every time! A hidden gem in this area. The seafood chowder was delicious with chunks of seafood. We had the grouper different ways & loved it blackened. You can sit outside(always did) or inside but will need reservations. If you eat breakfast at Maggie Mae's(same plaza) save your receipt & you get a 10% discount. This is only a 5 minute drive from the hubbub of Clearwater Beach.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backwaters on Sand Key also viewed

 

Been to Backwaters on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backwaters on Sand Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.